1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 DOHC from North America


Comfortable and roomy, but costly repairs


July 25, 2003 we purchased a 1999 Dodge Intrepid 4 dr Sedan from one of our local dealers.

The very same day, upon driving home with my husband driving close behind me, he signaled for me to pull over on the shoulder of the interstate. The problem he noticed was that a bluish colored smoke was puffing from the tailpipe, and the oil light kept flashing on and off. We took the car back to the dealership the same day, only to find out that the used car manager was already aware of this problem. He told us to bring the car in on July 26th for an oil change, which we did. This did not solve the problem.

On July 28, 2003 I contacted the Internet Sales Manager about the problems, and also the problem with the power door locks making loud annoying noises, and the passenger side back door panel that comes off every time you open the door. Everything else about this car was fine. After really getting on the internet manager's nerves, she decided to try to get the car in for servicing, but said the service department was booked for that week. She tried several other automotive repair shops that the dealership does business with, and they were also booked.

On July 29, 2003 she took the car to a company that had done some repair work on her car. These people claimed that there wasn't any visible smoke, and asked us how did we got the car to smoke. How dumb, why would we want our car to smoke, and at the same time try to get someone to repair the problem. This company kept my car for two days, and the dealership picked it up and called us. We went in to pick up our car on July 31, 2003 and was told that the auto repairman couldn't find a problem, although the problem existed and was known to the used car manager.

After picking the car up from the dealership on July 31, 2003, we went shopping. My husband stepped out of the car while I found a parking area, and he noticed a large puff of blue smoke coming from the tailpipe. Very aggravated at this point, I went to a pay phone and called the dealership. I was told by the internet manager that she had thrown her hands up with the problem and would talk to the used car manager about it. I didn't receive a response to my complaints.

On August 1, 2003 I decided that I was fed up with getting the runaround, so we got in the car and drove it back to the dealership. The internet manager gave us a 3 month/3,000 mile warranty on the car as a just in case measure. I'm still not satisfied. She offered to place us in another vehicle, we were given the choice of a Malibu that was too small for a family of four expecting number 5. So, I told her that I wasn't interested in her choice of vehicle and I wanted the car repaired or replaced with a car of my choice. She stated that the dealer wouldn't pay for any repairs or order me another Intrepid, but would put me in another car.

Upon leaving the lot, I was approached by a salesman and told that he followed me from the dealership on July 31, 2003 and he noticed a lot of smoke coming from the tailpipe. He stated that he informed the internet sales manager and the used car sales manager that the problem existed and needed to be taken care of. Now, I'm really furious with the way business was being conducted. We left the car lot and went to the automotive repair shop that stated there wasn't visibly an existing problem to prove that there was an existing problem. Upon arriving at the front gate, I was approached by a gentleman who stated that yes, he can see the car smoking and yes, he can see the oil light was on, but he claimed that it didn't happen when the car was driven by them. He told me to bring the car in on August 5th so he could look into the problems further. I took the car in, and left it with the service man and contacted the dealership. I was then told by the internet manager that everything would be taken care of, since the service man saw the smoke and the oil light flashing.

On August 6th I again contacted the dealership for an update, and didn't receive a response. So, I sent them an email stating my frustration, and that I had been advised by two certified mechanics and a Dodge Service technician that the problem needed to be taken seriously, because blue smoke indicated several problems with the engine, and the flashing oil light meant that the fuel level was low. The response I got was to wait for some repair estimates from the auto repair man inspecting the car. I telephoned him for estimates, and he said that he contacted the dealership and was awaiting a response from them before starting making in repairs.

I contacted the dealership on July 7th to hear, I'm still awaiting some estimates, and I asked about the warranty that she had placed on the car and was told that the engine would have to go completely out before the warranty would take effect. I again contacted the auto service man to hear that the motor was bad, and the reason he couldn't determine this before was because the car had just received an oil change, and the engine had to first burn the fresh oil.

I contacted the dealership again that same day and was told that I needed a new engine, but the dealer would not pay for the repairs because the repairs exceeded the purchase price of the vehicle. The vehicle was sold to us for $6500 and the repairs were estimated at $4000. They tried to put us in a Chevrolet Malibu, which I had already stated I was not interested in buying, and a Pontiac Grand Prix, another vehicle that I have no interest in, because they were offering a 2 door and I had already stated that a 2 door vehicle was very inconvenient for our family.

Now I've filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, the Louisiana Justice Department, contacted the manufacturer and we're seeking legal counseling on this particular problem. I'm going to the auto repair shop on Monday morning and bringing my car to park it in my driveway until this matter has been resolved.

I thank God for these complaint sites, and I'm relieved to know that I'm not alone. Thank you all, and God bless you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

6th Sep 2003, 23:15

Why don't you just get your money back and look elsewhere? If you really like the intrepids, I'm sure you can find a 3.2 or 3.5 somewhere. I wouldn't think you would be able to trust this dealer even after getting a good car. You should be able to do this considering all you've been through.

22nd May 2008, 09:55

Blue smoke is your motor head that is cracked or finished and the preston enters the motor which makes the blue smoke.

1999 Dodge Intrepid from North America


My car, my baby, just a little TLC needed


Oil pan plug was stripped at a mechanic shop and the oil pan had to be replaced-the mechanic shop offered to put a certain type of plug in it, but wouldn't put the plug under warranty so I had the oil pan replaced.

Going to work one am, the car seemed to lose power, had it towed to the dealer and a computer chip was replaced.

Cooling leak, I believe it was the over flow valve- it was in the shop for 1 week due to lack of availability of the part- the dealer paid for rental car.

Radiator cooling fan went out in August in Arizona on a trip to Las Vegas- in the middle of nowhere, ended up in Kingman on a Friday afternoon looking for a reliable mechanic sine the Dodge dealer didn't take my extended warranty that I bought from my insurance company.

There was a technical notice sent out- the a/c on one side of the car was cooler than the other side, it needed to be reset (a/c) and charged- I paid $100.00 so not that bad- and had a/c in AZ in June.

Was in car wreck- front drivers side and was in body shop for 1 month due to unavailability of suspension parts from Detroit- ended up getting the parts fed ex overnight from Detroit.

General Comments:

I bought an extended warranty thru my insurance and used it, but I do like my car.

Roomy back seat (call it the moving couch)

Handles great- easy for a female to drive - actually hubby doesn't like to drive it - too big for him.

I am real big on preventive maintenance- oil changed every 3,000 miles- brakes serviced, tranny serviced, all the necessities that I need to do. I don't rev it or mis handle the car and we get along just fine.

Reading about problems on this site reminds me that my windows need to be looked at before the extended warranty goes out (91,000) they work, but every now and then they get a little fussy- luckily my dealer knows me from taking out other car (jeep) to the same place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2003

10th Oct 2003, 05:36

Watch for the oil sludge build-up. We changed oil every 3,000 too. BEWARE!