2001 Dodge Intrepid ES 2.4 from North America


This car has broken down more than any other car I've ever owned.


Water pump failure caused engine to suddenly stop.

Car makes moaning sound when idling.

Wires shorted out behind fuse box.

General Comments:

When water pump failed it caused water to leak into the engine oil and metal shavings and roller bearings to fall into the oil pan. Timing chain jumped a tooth and the tensioner broke.

Strangest sound I've heard coming from a car.

Short caused wires to melt and created smoke to come out of the engine compartment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2004

2001 Dodge Intrepid SE from North America


I'm very disopointed


The motor locked up after 56.000 miles, when I took the car in for service I was advised that one of the senors was broken.

General Comments:

The car rides very smooth. The seating is confortable, a lot of room, and it feels like it has a lot of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

1st Jun 2006, 12:30

What size motor is in your car.

2001 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2 from North America


Looked good at first, but now stuck with it


First problems at only 13000 miles.

Water in oil.

Rocker\lifter broken in left head.

Broken lifter opened a hole in the head.

Over heating problems.

Cracked head gaskets.

Leaking radiator.

General Comments:

Oil changed every 3000 miles.

Preventative maintenance always done.

Dealer stated hasn't been "repaired"enough to qualify as lemon.

Warranty now expired all repair costs my own. imagine that..

Outside mechanic now states that probably half of what the dealer said was repaired never was.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

2001 Dodge Intrepid LX 2.7 liter from North America


This car is a good-looking nightmare!


I started to have problems with the heat not working properly around two months ago. Not a big deal. It just seemed to take a while to warm up. Apparently that was a sign of a larger problem.

While my husband was driving home the other day, the oil light came on. While he was pulling over, the engine seized. We had the vehicle towed to a mechanic who informed us that the engine was full of sludge and beyond repair. A new engine will cost us around $6,000 with labor.

General Comments:

I'm disappointed that this has happened because I love everything else about the car. It looks great, handles nicely, and is reasonably priced. However, under the hood is a silent nightmare. It seems this problem is a common one and usually happens to people before the car is even paid off--leaving them with an expensive piece of fully-insured driveway decor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

16th Apr 2004, 12:51

Usually, engine sludge happens to cars that have not been properly taken care of. If you have records of oil changes (especially if they're done at the dealer you purchased the car from) and other services dealing with the engine, you might be able to get the dealer to give you a new engine. If they refuse, you can claim they did not change the oil properly and caused the sludge. If they then refuse, you possibly have a law suit.

19th Apr 2004, 16:23

I failed to mention in my post that the car has had regular oil changes (at a local business) and I do have paperwork. I've spoken with Dodge and they don't care if I have paperwork or not. They're pretty much completely denying there's a problem.

9th May 2004, 14:04

The Mitsubishi 2.7L v6 found in late model dodge Intrepid is the butt of many jokes in automotive salvage yards across the country. The engine is, quite possibly, the least durable and most unreliable engine made in recent memory. It is not uncommon for the engine to fail within 20,000 miles. One with over 100,000 miles on it is unheard of. From a performance perspective, looking at figures on paper, the engine looks great. However, if has problems with the oil pickup, resulting in the engine oil being unable to cycle through the engine properly. The crank shaft is also weak and prone to failure. Simply put, these engines fail and there is nothing that you can do about it. This is why the later model base model Intrepid has an increasingly poor resale value. I wouldn't drive a late model Intrepid with a 2.7L engine, and depend upon it to get me where I needed to go, if you paid me to drive it.

21st Jan 2005, 11:03

To the person that said that an engine with over 100k miles on it was unheard of, I bought mine with 132,000 miles. I had two mechanics check it and they say that it was like its new. It's an unbelievable car, and it only cost me $4,000. They only problem I've experienced was the weather stripping becoming unattached from the frame. Not a big deal.