2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Summary:

Best ever owned/ cannot trade

Faults:

A/C repair in Florida

Seat fabric sew.

General Comments:

Best car I have ever owned- broke it in the old fashioned way- use it 95% on the highway- run it hard- do regular service- get 30 plus mpg- inflate to 33 lbs on tires- have gone 60K miles- done regular trans and fuel injector service- driven motorcycles, tanks etc and heard horror stories this engine but have had absolutely no problems- in fact am in love with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Summary:

The 2.7 engine is a nightmare

Faults:

After only one month of buying the vehicle, the torque converter needed to be replaced. This was the first of 3 incidents that required the transmission to be worked on. The whole engine was just replaced a year age; it is not shot again. The mechanic says that the 2.7 engine is just not strong enough for such a large car. It will not stay running for an extended period of time. Out of the two years I have owned the car, It has been in the shop for over six months. Every 2-3 months something int he transmission, or the whole engine would go. With that engine, if the oil gets the slightest bit dirty, it causes the timing belt to malfunction- then the car is done.

General Comments:

The 2.7 engine was tragically ill-designed. It cannot sustain the car.

It is a money trap.

Dodge should do something to address these serious grievances with that model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2007

12th Mar 2010, 07:08

I had just bought an 02 Intrepid yesterday. It seems to run fine, and it looks great. Absolutely no sludge buildup.

1st May 2010, 18:59

I have had the 2.7 "02" Intrepid for 6 years, and in that time the battery and cables have had to be replaced, the transmission, the fans that keep the motor cool, and tons of other smaller things, not to mention that now the motor is shot... I would not suggest this car to anyone; it has cost me more to fix it than it did to buy it. :(

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Summary:

Do not buy this car!!!

Faults:

My head gasket blew, my O2 censer went out, I replaced the thermometer, some hoses.

General Comments:

This car is not worth the money I spent on it. I don't know why dodge isn't doing something to help the people it messed over by selling this car. people are more likely to recommend dodge to other people or buy again if dodge would show concern for it's buyer. This car has been nothing, but a hassle since I got it only 2 months ago. DON'T BUY THIS CAR!!1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2007

2002 Dodge Intrepid from North America

Summary:

Iffy

Faults:

Just this year I have had water pump, thermostat & housing unit replaced.

Oil change because of the leakage of overheating.

Also now the oil light comes on when at a red light.

I have also had brakes and tires put on. The car needs calipers..

My main concern is the oil light; the oil is full. I am being told either oil sending unit going bad or oil pump.

Sometimes the car starts by itself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2007

25th Aug 2007, 11:53

About the oil light.

Have your oil system flushed TWICE using a chemical cleaner then use only 5w50 synthetic oil after that. This is critical or engine seizure will occur!!!

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Summary:

Over-all this vehicle rates well

Faults:

The cooling system for the manuel transmission rotted out @ 135k and needed replacement at a reasonable cost.

Minor problem recent was brake lights staying on after the car was shut-off and alarm activated. Problem was a sticky brake pedal. 69 cents of WD40 solved the problem.

General Comments:

My wife uses our Intrepid, and due the the 100 miles per day traveling, follows the maintenance formula to the letter. She uses non-synthetic oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2007

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Summary:

Terrible, untrustworthy

Faults:

Engine blew up (failure). Had to have the car repossessed or pay an additional $5,000.00 for a new *used* motor! Do not buy a Dodge!!

General Comments:

Terrible. Never again a Chrysler product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

2nd Jul 2007, 18:21

The engine in a Dodge Intrepid 2.7 is not a Chrysler product, it is a Mitsubishi engine.

1st Aug 2007, 10:07

I was in the same boat. My engine blew and I had to let them repossess our vehicle cause I had to purchase a new one and couldn't pay for both or afford the $7500.00 for a new motor. This sucks!

7th Mar 2008, 10:19

The 2.7 is a Chrysler design, not a Mitsubishi one. It was touted as the first all-computer-designed engine by Chrysler when they premiered it.

And even if it was a "Mitsubishi engine," it's Chrysler that put it in the car and Chrysler who refuses to back up the engine when it dies prematurely due to sludge. So yes, it's very much Chrysler's fault.