2002 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America




I have owned this car for 11 months and the engine went out. I was driving to pick up my son, and it started making this loud clanking sound, and when I got home, oil was all over the driveway. It will cost 8000 to fix it. I don't even owe that on the car. If the extended warranty that I bought will not fix it, I will call them to come get it. I can't afford the 8000.00. Does anyone know of a class action law suit or anything that I can do?


General Comments:

Don't buy one unless you have 8000.00 to spare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2006

20th Dec 2006, 18:02

Umm, extended warranty DOES cover that last time I checked...

2002 Dodge Intrepid RT 3.5 from North America


Great auto, with the exception of the failing sensors


The cam and crank sensors have been replaced three times so far.

...I'd love in on a suit reginarabuck@aol.com...

Please E-mail information on just that, anyone.

Passenger front window has hesitation at times.

Keeps wearing outside of right front tires, even though it has been aligned.

I was covered by warranty for the first 2 fixes and had purchased an extended warranty. This last time the car was brought in for sensor change, I was asked to pay. I told the service manager I would not pay for a faulty part supplied three different times. He agreed and said any repairs to this from here on out I was to pay for, and wanted me to sign a statement saying just that. I refused to sign it. If it was replaced with a competent part the first time, I wouldn't have gone back!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th July, 2006

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America


I really love the car and only wish Daimler Chrysler hadn't expired the model


The only defect so far has been the appearance of a fault solenoid sensor switch in the transmission - was covered under warranty.

General Comments:

The cabin of this car afford luxurious space. There is no competition even from SUV's in this regard.

The gas mileage has been average 27.9 mpg for me as stated by the trip computer.

The ride is always comfortable even on 16 hour trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2006

2002 Dodge Intrepid LH 3.5L HO from North America


I had a computer glitch at 23,000 miles, which was replaced under manufacturers warranty on the first trip to the dealer.

General Comments:

The Intrepid is VERY roomy. It easily accommodates my 6'3", 280 pound frame. The tilt steering and powered driver's seat allows everybody to feel comfortable behind the wheel.

While the trunk is huge the optional fold-down back seat also allows easy transport of longer items such as pipes, boards, and skis.

All Intrepids handle very well, better than most cars in the next class/size smaller. The R/T has the same suspension as a 300M w/Performance Handling Package - superb handling for it's size.

The R/T has plenty of power for passing and maintaining freeway speeds. It's also ideal for short and/or uphill ramps, even with five adults and the A/C running.

Trucks and high winds have little effect on the Intrepid because of it's aerodynamics. Of course, this also helps with gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

2002 Dodge Intrepid R/T 3.5L HO from North America


Underrated, underrated, underrated, awesome value for the money!


Power Locks

Weather Stripping

Engine Tick.

General Comments:

Underrated performance sedan

Handles like it's on rails

Accelerates very well, and has a huge top speed because it's not governed and is the 2nd most aerodynamic car ever made.

Very rare, only 1917 built of this model in '02.

Gets lots of looks. This is a car that stands out in a crowd.

Lots of car for the money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE not sure from North America


I will probably never own another Dodge or Chrysler


The thermostat wasn't working properly, it was at normal all the time. It leaked as well.

There was a leak in the water pump casing.

Now the dealer is claiming that there is a crack in the engine block.

General Comments:

I don't think that the engine block in a 2002 should have any cracks in it unless it was faulty in the first place.

I don't understand how the thermostat would always read normal.

I had no indication that something was wrong, I serviced the car according to the recommendations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2005

11th Sep 2005, 06:29

If the engine block is cracked you will see oil deposits in the coolant, steam from the exhaust even when hot, white gunge in the oil filler cap, and the coolant will need topping up all the time.

You can check all these yourself quite easily.

23rd Feb 2006, 13:41

Contact the Center for Auto Safety in Washington DC. This is a KNOWN problem in the 2.7L V-6 found in the Intrepid/Concorde/as well as other models. There may be a Class Action Lawsuit in the very near future.

16th Oct 2006, 17:16

I too had a problem with the thermostat and had to replace it because it was leaking.

Now I have to replace the pump casing as well. Overall the car has been good until this.