2002 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

An owners nightmare at this point

Faults:

About a month ago, I discovered when stopping at a red light after coming back from a 90 mile round trip drive at an average speed of abot 75, my oil light started to flicker. I did what most who have posted at this site done, is to stop and check the oil level. All was fine, so I proceeded to get under way. It would take me about 20 minutes to reach my destination and doing so, I didn't see the light flicker any more. But from that point until now it has gotten worst, but only at idle at complete stops. I've very recently had the oil sending unit replaced, but it didn't cure the problem. The mechanic said it was probably the oil pump. Now that I have read all of the complaints, I've very worried about my situation. I have a 2.7 liter V6 in this 2002 Intrepid, and it appears that this engine size is a manufacturers defect. So if there is a class action suit going on, please add me to the list.

Al

General Comments:

I also have discovered that my thermostat housing gasket is leaking on this engine also.

Just prior to the 36000 mile warranty expired, I had the motor in the passenger front door window replaced.

About that same time I was told that the reason my engine warning light came on was due to a fouled fuel injector, so it was replaced.

I've alway been a Mo-par fan, but I never knew that the Intrepid had so many problems until I read these complaints. Good luck Intrepid owners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

11th May 2005, 15:20

I also have a 2002 Dodge Intrepid SE and have started experiencing some problems with it such as the oil light, transmission problems and now the water pump. My mechanic is suppose to get back with me tomorrow about a new water pump. To the person before me, can you tell me how much it cost you to replace your water pump? Thanks.

DP.

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

I wish it performed as good as it looks

Faults:

The car has a strut problem. goes into garage this week.

General Comments:

It is hard to see when pulling into traffic due to the window shape. The radio and speakers are terrible (cheap system)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

2002 Dodge Intrepid SE 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

On of the best values on the road

Faults:

The driver's side power window came loose.

General Comments:

My wife and I have owned 3 Intrepids

(in Canada they are Chrysler Intrepids). Our first was a 1998 that we put 223,000 kms on, our second is a 2000 that we still have which has 165,000 kms and a 2002 that has 75,000 kms. As you can see we have put over 400,000 kms on these cars and have never had any major engine or transmission problems just normal maintenance items like brakes and tires. The cars are highway driven and have performed well under all conditions. These cars sit outside in winter when temperatures dip to -35 C and have never failed to start. They have also performed flawlessly in summer temperatures up to + 35 C. The 2.7 engine is one of the most impressive features of the car, 37 mpg and 200 hp from 165 cu. in. All three cars were low mileage lease buy backs at time of purchase (which saves a lot of money) and have given excellent value for our money, which is why we have bought three of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

3rd Sep 2004, 12:17

You must be pretty easy to convince. Talk to any - any auto machine shop. Intrepid motors are stacked to the ceiling. I deal with customers daily. I feel deep sympathy for them. These motors are built to fail. Please do yourself a favor, and get out while you can. Please...

2002 Dodge Intrepid ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

An underrated car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the Dodge Intrepid.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful car that handles very well.

The only negative comment I have is that the high seat backs impede the view from behind when backing up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

18th May 2005, 12:44

I'm sure you'll change your attitude in a year or two if your lucky. I was very happy about my '99 2.7 dodge. That was till I had to put it in the shop last week for an engine replacement. My mechanic though he could do it for around $2000, WRONG... with labor, it'll cost about $3500, just about what I see them sell for on the used lots. I have replaced several speed sensors, window regulators, the entire fan assembly. I was happy like you till it was too late!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 46 reviews