2000 Dodge Neon Standard from North America


A great car for college


There was a small coolant leak in the thermostat housing. It only cost $100 to repair. Other than that, I have had no problems with the car.

General Comments:

I have to say that I love my Dodge Neon. I bought it from a dealer used, it was a rental car. I have taken very good care of it (I don't overdrive, I change oil/air filter, tuneups etc) and it has taken very good care of me.

It handles and drives very well at all speeds. Being a 3-speed automatic, though, it does get loud at highway speeds.

So far (I've had the car 2.5 years) it still is pretty quiet; the dash does not rattle like many other cars I know. I still get good gas mileage (33MPG highway at 60MPH) and the engine still feels quick and responds well.

All in all, I think this is a good car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2003

2000 Dodge Neon LX 2.0 from North America


Nice looking cheap car with lots of problems


Bought 2 Neons at same time.

My car:

Head gasket at 31000 miles.

Posterior seal at 34000 miles $500.00

My wifes car:

Head gasket at 39000 miles at $600

Air conditioning worked only for first summer after purchase

Leaking oil - told its probably posterior seal.

General Comments:

Nice looking car with great performance and power however riddled with problems and remains unreliable. Very expensive to maintain. Look forward to getting rid of both of my Neons. Would not recommend now with the large market of similarly priced cars (Corolla, Elantra, etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

2000 Dodge Neon ES 2.0L SOHC from North America


Great car for your money


The only two things wrong with this car was a recall on a PCV valve, and the AC was not working when I first bought it. Both problems were fixed easily.

General Comments:

This car is one of the best deals you are going to get for your money. It handles excellent with the exception of a little noise when traveling over 75 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

2000 Dodge Neon LE 2.0 DOHC from North America


Lots of fun, and cheap to run!


The vinyl covering on the center arm-rest bubbled up, replaced by dealer.

Noisy clutch pedal at 40,000 kilometers, I thought a pivot might need lubrication. Dealer said clutch cable was binding, ordered a new one and installed it within a few days. Returned car to me washed, vacuumed and all fluids topped up, the car was in the shop only 3 hours! 5-Star dealer service excellent so far.

Original Goodyear tires wear out too quickly, as do the original floor mats.

General Comments:

This is a terrific little car. It looks great (mine is Salsa Red), it's a blast to drive and it uses very little gas. The optional Infinity CD stereo rocks!

I've only had a couple of minor problems, both quickly and courteously fixed by the dealer.

The car's held up very well, the interior still looks like new and the paint still gleams. There are no rattles or other nasty noises, even on rough roads. Amazing!

This is a very good driver's car for the money, far better than the Chevy Cavalier or base Ford Focus. The car feels very sporty on twisty roads and can easily give drivers of much more expensive cars a run for their money. A fun little car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

15th May 2005, 02:05

I still have my 2000 Neon, and it's as reliable as ever. I've had no mechanical problems other than a noisy steering rack, which was quickly replaced by my dealer just before the warranty expired. It still looks and runs like new, probably due in part to the fact that I tend to over-maintain it. After almost 6 years and 75000 Kilometers, I have to say that I'm very impressed - this has easily been the most reliable car I've ever owned, and that includes a fair number of Japanese cars.

5th Nov 2005, 10:39

Had to sell it in Midland, Dad died in the car.

27th Jul 2007, 22:24

My sister owns a 2000 neon and loves it. The only problem she ever had with it was the transmission cooler line broke at the radiator which is made in Mexico and she fried the transmission. Other than that great little car. Looks like crap because it is lady driven so all the bumpers are scuffed up on all corners, but still a great car.

18th Sep 2007, 09:26

I bought my 200 Neon used, a year old. I've been driving it ever since. It's a great little car. I plan to drive it until it dies. I have over 105,000 miles on it and plan to get many more. It was my first car and I couldn't be more pleased. Mopar Or No Car!

17th Jul 2011, 12:30

I got my Neon 2000 LE used with 110000 km on it. I drive it every day, and now it has well over 200000 km and it still runs great. The A/C still works perfectly, and I only had to replace brakes, tires, 1 oxygen sensor and the spark plug cables. I am very happy with the car, parts are cheap, and it keeps running well.