2000 Dodge Neon LX 2.0 SOHC from North America


It's a beautiful car and I have modified it to make it even more fun to drive with speed.


So far nothing has gone wrong with this car. My exhaust needs to be realigned, but that's probably because it's an after-market exhaust. Small leak around the transmission, will get fixed for under $150.

General Comments:

It's a reliable car for the amount of money it costs. For a small compact car, the neon offers comfort and power. With 132 HP, it pretty much beats the Civic and Cavalere. The ride is smooth, with an occasional noise from road conditions. It's a quick car and can accelerate on the highway pretty smoothly. The back seats are big enough to fit three grown people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

2000 Dodge Neon LX 2.0 from North America


Maintainence trap


Radio Buttons have Broke.

Speedotomer has broken - (Dealer refused to fix under warranty). Very dangerous as speedometer will go to 240km/hour and turn off gas on the highway when I am only doing 80km/hour.

Child Safety anchor pin missing from new car.

General Comments:

Good pickup.

Good on Turns.

Maintence nightmare.

Loud Cabin Noise.

Horrible warranty service from dealers. They want to service better cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2002

2000 Dodge Neon Base 2.0L from North America


Money well invested



General Comments:

I drive my Neon 75 miles each way to work every day, 5 days a week. When taken care of properly, the Neon is one of the most reliable cars available. I change the oil every 3000 miles. Others who say that they have had problems with the Neon probably never maintained their vehicle. One time when I took the car in to have an oil change, the mechanic thanked me for making his job easy. He told me that the only reason he changed the oil was because I asked him to, not because the car actually needed it.

I feel comfortable driving around the fast-paced California highways in my Neon, confident that it won't let me down.

This is a reliable car that I would recommend to anybody.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

2000 Dodge Neon ES from North America


A nice looking comfortable car with a problems.


I had a water leak on to the passenger floor under dashboard when it would rain.

At 39000 miles I have a oil leak said to be (by a service station) headgasket Failure or a bad cam seal.

After researching head gaskets are a problem on Neons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

14th Jan 2002, 06:11

Head gasket shouldn't be a problem on the 2nd generation model.

15th Jan 2002, 12:58

Took the car back to Dodge and it was a head gasket!!

3rd Oct 2002, 11:52

I have a 2000 ES Neon and have a problem with the radio. It seems at times when I close the door, hit a bump this terrible noise comes from the back speakers. The only way to stop it is to turn the radio off and push it back on. The dealership said they could not find the problem, as the car did not do it for them. Any one else have this problem?

2000 Dodge Neon Sport Sedan from North America




The A/C doesn't work correctly. It takes up to 3 to 5 minutes to cool down even in 70 degree weather. Even had the pleasure (NOT) to drive the 2001 Neon.. same thing with the A/C.

The power steering belt went out while driving at 26,000.

Been in the shop 6 times and counting for the transmission. Still not fixed. Dealer says it's OK. It's not!

The battery just up and died at 33190.

General Comments:

This is the worst example of what America produces for their cars. I will definitely be going back to foreign cars. I have had now 4 American cars and they are nothing but trouble.

This car is very unreliable. I am pregnant at this time with a toddler and I'm scared to drive it, but have no choice. Not sure what part next is going to go out. Praying that God keeps the car together since the dealership can't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1st Aug 2001, 08:13

I have had my 2000 Neon since October of 1999. I am currently working a part-time job to pay it off so I can get rid of it.

The Transmission went out at 33,000 and I found out last night that it is bad again (44,500). The head gasket is bad and it has a recall on the vacuum hose on the breaks, but Chrysler didn't make enough parts so they can't fix that.

This car is not worth the insurance I pay on it let alone the payments.

Next car will definitely be a Ford or a Pontiac.

2000 Dodge Neon from North America


In an accident, the driver's side seat broke.

Other than that, don't know.

General Comments:

Very cute car.

Dependable, good gas mileage.

In a rear-end accident, the car is very good. It saved two people when a dump truck rear-ended them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

13th Jul 2001, 23:23

I was in an accident the first month I got this car (used). I was rear-ended on a mountain highway. I am impressed with this car. I had a child in the back seat, but luckily no one got hurt. The other car was totalled, and I got to drive away. I am thankful.

2000 Dodge Neon Highline 2.0 from North America


Not worth the money!


An unusual and loud sound comes from under the hood. Sounds like a tug boat horn! When it makes the sound the car will smoke underneath. Then the air conditioner will stop cooling. Took it to Dodge and they can't figure it out. So they don't fix it. I'm trading my car for another make of car, not Dodge.

Also it has lost power after 4 weeks of owning it.

General Comments:


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2000

10th Apr 2001, 20:09

I LOVE my Dodge Neon High-line Sedan. I have been in a Chrysler/Plymouth/Dodge since I got my driver's license 5 years ago. My Neon has been the most dependable, safe, and cost efficient car I ever could have hoped for! It looks great, it runs FANTASTICALLY, and it gets about 30+ miles to the gallon. I've had her for almost a year, and no complaints yet.