2002 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 11 of 11

2002 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0L Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Magnum Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance1414 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Great, great car for the money!

General Comments:

This is my 3rd factory ordered Dodge Neon. I traded my '96 Sport Coupe in for a 2000 ES (for the newer features and 4 doors) and loved it. When that car was totaled by a hit from the rear, I ended up getting this 2002 R/T fully loaded. I love everything about it. For the money, no other car can provide comfort, features, performance and handling like the Dodge Neon can. Highly recommended!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2002

2002 Dodge Neon ES SOHC 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission SOHC 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance20500 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A gamble!

Faults:

I trade in my 1998 Neon for a 2002--what a mistake. The engine light came after 17,000 miles. Upon quick acceleration, the engine beginnings to misfire. Performances and gas mileage drop severely. I brought it to the dealer for an 18,000-mile service, upon which the engine came off--only for a week. I'm due back at the dealer. I have heard rumors about the engine coil harness being the culprit? Have anyone experience this? E-mail: dcgreene@hotmail.com.

General Comments:

Wait for the 2003 Neon. In my opinion, the 2000,2001 and 2002 Neons are the same except for a few minor changes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

29th Jul 2005, 14:07

I just recently purchased a 2002 Neon SE with 34,000 miles.

Ihad it weeks when I tjought I heard my first missfire in the engine, but have heard it a few more times. I would very much like to know if what you said is true.

2002 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

Tight looks with great performance

Faults:

Well I have only had the car for a little over a month so nothing has really gone wrong. I had a very minor technical problem with the seat belt light flashing while I have my seat-belt on but that is it.

General Comments:

I took a giant step from a 1995 Ford Aspire to the Neon. I hated the Aspire and finally got a new Neon SE for $14, 800. I was decided on a Toyota Corolla or a Dodge Neon and definitely went with the Neon. The Neon has nice acceleration, great looks, and a very good 6-speaker stereo system and I am looking forward to keeping it for many years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2001

20th Dec 2001, 07:17

You are the 1st happy client =)

15th Jan 2002, 19:57

I think the car is great... though it does have some unreliabilities...

I advise you all to go manual... they do seem to be more reliable...

-liquid oxygen.

20th Jan 2002, 00:00

Yes Chrysler to this day STILL puts a 3 speed automatic in it, are they MAD?

Oh and you will have problems mate, trust me, you WILL : (

3rd Mar 2002, 07:35

I thought for 2002 they put in a 4 speed auto finally??

3rd Jun 2003, 16:11

They did go to 4 speed auto in 2002. Perhaps mid year?

They should have stayed with the very reliable and well behaved 3 speed, in my not so humble opinion.

10th Jul 2004, 18:41

My wife ownes one the motor is junk.

22nd Dec 2005, 23:27

I own a neon, and agree, you will have problems.

25th Aug 2007, 08:41

I had 2002 Neon SE with manual trans. Car was extremely reliable, fast and fun to drive. Traded it in on a larger vechicle with well over 100,000 miles on it. I would love to have it back.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews