2002 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 9 of 11

2002 Dodge Neon SXT from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A nice sporty piece of carbage

Faults:

I purchased my 2002 Dodge Neon SXT in May of 2002. This has been the worst car I have ever purchased.

After 2000 miles my power windows began to stick and wouldn't roll down. I took it to the dealer to get serviced and was told something was spilled, such as a soda, which was the cause of the problem. I was told I needed to be more careful. After three days, they decided to correct the problem.

Like so many other reviews, the Neon began to idle really rough at about 3,000 miles. The car idled more rough in the winter months than warm weather. The car would knock off every morning when the temperature was around 40 degrees. At this point, the car was a little over 6 months old. I feel like I am driving a four wheel drive with this car.

I have tried to sell this car and I can't give it away! I wouldn't wish this nightmare on anyone.

I purchased the care because the price of the car was in my budget. If I had only did more research before I bought the car, I wouldn't be in the position I am in now.

Please, do not buy this car!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2003

26th Sep 2005, 21:56

I own a 2002 dodge neon... I have not had a single problem even close to the ones you're experiencing... It appears that you take very poor care of yours and know very little about cars in general... Thanks...

28th Mar 2010, 20:01

Cars don't just fall apart.

2002 Dodge Neon sxt from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Too young to have this many problems!

Faults:

Well, my engine light came on after 2,000 miles. The dealer said it had something to do with my evac system and said they had fixed it, but the light still wouldn't turn off. They shut it off manually and in 500 miles it came back on. They have no solution for this or explanation for that matter.

The car has always idled very hard and has sounded like it may cut out at anytime.

Just a few days ago my battery light came on, and when I turned my windshield wipers on~my radio cut off. I had to turn the wipers off then turn the radio back on only to have it keep cutting off.

Now the engine is making this wind up toy noise. It's going back to the dealer tomorrow needless to say.

It has always performed pretty poor from the first day I've had it.

It was never properly aligned, but I have had a small fender bender since I've purchased the car so they believe me to be the reason for the misalignment.

The pick up was always delayed.

General Comments:

Overall, I am pretty unhappy with my purchase of the 2002 Neon. With all of the mechanical things going wrong with the car, I started looking online to see if any other neon owners were having similar problems~and stumbled on this site. There is no reason for the faults in a car that is 15 months old.

If anyone would like to email me on this situation please do: indica45@hotmail.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

17th Feb 2004, 10:22

My 2002 (sxt) is just as bad, if not worse I purchased it with only 22 miles on it. It has been to the dealer 3 times, they are telling me, there is nothing they can or will do. I't is under full warranty and sounds like a full size diesel truck, and always has. No help from dodge Daimler Chrysler.

Do not buy a neon...

2002 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Sporty looking and fun to drive

General Comments:

The horsepower is not very high, but there is always the R/T model. A great teen car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

2002 Dodge Neon ES 1.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

It's a great value

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car.

General Comments:

I really love this car. It held up well in accidents, (we had three)

I do think it needs a little longer on the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

19th Jun 2003, 12:11

Not to discount your information, but you have a 1.4L engine? I didn't know Dodge made them that little. I thought 2.0 was what was put in the Neons.

7th Aug 2004, 19:50

Did anyone have a battery light come on in the 2002?

30th Aug 2004, 20:04

Has anyone had their horn just quit working?

29th Oct 2004, 18:29

Yes, I had my horn just quit working. the reason I traded my 1995 chevy cavalier in was because of the horn not working, and then my 2 year old dodge neon's horn quit... and now tonight, 3 times it felt like someone hit the brakes real quick and hard, and the seatbelt light came on... anyone have this happen to them?

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews