2002 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 2 of 11

2002 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  

Summary:

Waste!

Faults:

My parents JUST bought me a 2002 Neon. After two days, the tranny started slipping. My dad replaced an O ring and everything was better.

A few days later the stereo went out.

We are currently looking for another car. Getting a Dodge is a huge waste of time and money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2010

28th Jul 2010, 21:57

I can understand your frustration with the tranny issue (it's fixed at least now, right?) But the radio? I mean come on.. the STOCK stereo is usually junk even when new, let alone in an 8-year-old car. Put an aftermarket CD player in it, and your problem will be solved. That's not a reason I'd use to dump a car.

29th Jul 2010, 20:07

Definitely keep looking for another car. My son's first car was a '95 Neon that was completely dead at 90,000 miles, and it cost me thousands to keep it running. I've since bought him a Toyota, which has been great, and it has over 180,000.

2002 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Good economical reliable little car

Faults:

Brakes needed to be replaced, that's about it.

General Comments:

The car is VERY reliable. Has never needed a thing except brakes, tires and a tune up. Runs great. Great fuel mileage and power. Handles amazing.

It seems these Neons were very random about build quality, some are junk and some are quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2009

2002 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

Car needs to be recalled in total

Faults:

First off about a month of having it, the transmission went out and I had to have it rebuilt.

Then recently the front tire blew out, and blew the entire front wheel well off, and dented the passengers door.

This morning the brakes locked up due to the pad falling off.

Then while changing the brakes, I noticed a leak, and the antifreeze was leaking entirely out underneath the car.

Also while giving it a tune up, one of the tubes that holds the spark plugs came loose and oil leaked into the heater core.

The rear wheel bearings came out.

Added a new radiator.

And have in total cost me approx $4,000 so far.

Lastly, when it feels the need, the dash lights and the radio light will blink for about 15 minutes at a time, then stop.

General Comments:

The car gets great gas mileage.

However it doesn't stay running long enough to enjoy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2009

9th Sep 2009, 11:24

That's a ton of things to replace after only 5,000 miles of ownership. Possibly your purchase was severely neglected. Sorry to hear about that.

28th Mar 2010, 19:59

You probably should have done a little more research on the vehicle, before purchasing it. It was obviously severely neglected if you've had so many problems in such a short amount of time after purchasing it.

Not to mention, there's no "oil" lines around the spark plugs. Even if there were, there's no way for oil to get into the radiator from where the spark plugs are located.

I assume you had a bad head gasket. That would explain the oil in the coolant.

2002 Dodge Neon SXT 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

It's a Dodge, it will always start

Faults:

When I first got the car I replaced the timing belt and water pump, and got 4 brand new tires.. as standard maintenance. Also needed the wheel bearings replaced when I bought the car, but didn't do it till later.

Around 125,000 I replaced the whole brake system due to brake fluid leaking with a costly repair of $900.

128,000; fixed wheel bearings and fixed alignment for $500. But it just shows you how well the bearings held up after grinding for almost 6,000 miles, so that was great.

Other that that, it's fine except for a rough idle, but seems to be better after using Seafoam.

General Comments:

I love this car despite the problems. It handles very well and I love the way it cuts around corners. It's pretty peppy too. And has a great sound to it, after adding a cold air intake.

It's my first car, and yes even with the repairs (what do you expect with that many miles) it's a great car. It gets noticed a lot too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2008

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews