2002 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2002 Dodge Neon SE 2.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance9700 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

Economy performer

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Wonderful vehicle. I recently had an accident with it, front end collision at 60 mph. The vehicle held up well. The vehicle is safe, quick, looks good and runs excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

2002 Dodge Neon SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A great economy car with a sporty look

Faults:

So far, I have had nothing go wrong with this car.

The only complaint I have about this car is the noise.

General Comments:

So far the 2002 Dodge Neon has been a great buy.

I traded my 1996 Neon for the 2002, and I was amazed at the improvements Dodge has made on this car.

It is sporty and great looking on the outside and inside.

The interior is the best thing about the 2002 Neon. I test drove both a Focus and a Cavalier and the interior of the Neon was by far the best out of all these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

1st Jun 2004, 11:12

I got a 2002 dodge neon SE in October and I recently got into an accident with it. I rear ended someone and my air bags did not go off. The only problem I had with it was the radio. It wasn't connected properly so it made crackling noises when I turned on the car.

2002 Dodge Neon from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6700 miles
Most recent distance7700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Corrado

Summary:

Decent for the price, nothing special

Faults:

The horn stopped working, the radio gets no reception whatsoever and the speakers are noticeably cheap sounding. Otherwise - no problems.

General Comments:

Overall the car is OK. I bought the Neon because of the price (I paid only $5,000 for it). I use the car during the winter and drive my VW Corrado in the summer. There is really no comparison between these two cars, the VW is far superior even though it is 10 years old now.

Dodge claims that the manual transmission Neon gets 27 to 30 mpg, but I am getting 23 to 24 mpg. This translates to only about 230 miles on a tank. My six cylinder Corrado does better than this!

Overall it is a good second car and handles the road excellent in all conditions - and we have had some snowy/icy conditions here in New England this year to give it a good test.

Interior: The seats are not very comfortable. My back was aching at the end of a one hour drive! It has a spacious interior and accommodates child seats nicely. The ergonomics are about average. I wish that more car manufacturers moved the radio controls above the temperature controls. After all, most drivers fiddle with the radio much more while driving than with the temp controls.

If you can afford a better car - buy it! But if not, then the Neon will do. Just don't expect spectacular performance, comfort or styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2002 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Newer Model Does Not Always Indicate Better Quality

Faults:

After 100 miles the car began to idle very rough.

After 100 miles transmission does not engage or disengage properly.

After 3000 miles dashboard began to make cracking/popping noises while driving.

General Comments:

When idling the car almost dies and then the whole car vibrates. So much so that when I am at a stoplight, I must shift the car from Drive to Neutral to keep the car started.

The car also has delayed reaction acceleration. When I place my foot on the accelerator to begin moving, the car will remain for one to three seconds prior to clunking into gear. Often when this happens, the car will clunk into a too low of gear and when the car does take off, it is much too quickly and is very jarring. I no longer drive my child in this car because of the jarring that occurs.

While driving, the dashboard pops. It makes this cracking sound. The first few times it happened it sounded like a rock had hit my windshield.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

28th Jul 2002, 01:19

The jarring at take off is because of power it's the vipers little brother!

1st Aug 2002, 18:35

We just decided to replace our spark plugs on the Neon. It is running better now. Apparently they were gapped incorrectly. I do not know how much this has to do with a jarring take off, but it is running a little better now.

Don't get me wrong, I never said it did not have power. It does not have as much as our Dakota R/T, but it does have more than a Metro.

19th Dec 2004, 13:06

I have tried to replace the spark plugs in my 2002 dodge neon, the trouble is I cannot locate them.

I don't have the money to take it to a dealership for something I thought would be simple. I don't want to mess around in the engine and cause any other problems.

Any help would be greatly valued.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews