2002 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2002 Dodge Neon R/T 2.0 DOHC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Not as bad as advertised

Faults:

The engine has to be replaced every 20,000 miles.

There are numerous squeaks and rattles that appear and disappear around the car.

General Comments:

I now have 50,000 very hard miles on my Neon (used it for road rallying for the first 35,000) and its held up surprisingly well.

The car takes some time to get warm on the coldest of days.

I sell cars at a Dodge dealership, that's why I bought the car, so I cannot rate the service.

The resale value is the poorest part of the deal. My car, with 50,000 miles and in rough condition, is worth nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

7th Dec 2004, 15:25

It's "not as bad as advertised" but you have to replace the engine every 20K miles?

How much worse could it be than that?

19th Sep 2005, 21:36

I really don't get that "it needs a new engine every 20,000 miles". Could this actually be true on ANY car... that it's actually a somewhat known fact? I've never heard anything like that at all and was just wondering if you meant something other that what you said. I'm looking to maybe get one of these, and if legitimate, then that would weigh greatly on my purchase.

23rd Oct 2006, 08:30

He used it for road rallying, speak: racing. That means there is no comparison to everyday driving. The review is pretty useless actually.

2002 Dodge Neon SXT from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36500 miles
Most recent distance39800 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Recommend 24-hour test drive before purchase!!!

Faults:

I purchased the 2002 Dodge Neon SXT on June 26, 2004. The vehicle had 37,000 miles on it at the time of purchase. With-in 24 hours after purchase I noticed several factors that were not right with the vehicle. I called the dealer the very next day and they agreed to look at the vehicle on the diagnostic test machine. The vehicle was shuttering very badly and running extremely rough. They had to re-boot the computer system which "runs" the vehicle. No explanation for the continuing cut-out at 46-64 miles per hour. Vehicle is now at almost 40,000 and today, August 25 2004 - the vehicle is running even worse and is going back to the dealership. It is taking the dealership an extremely long time to find another Dodge Neon SXT in the color and transmission that I would like. Car now cuts out between 10mph all the way up to 64 mph.

General Comments:

Car has an excellent body style and is sporty. A lot of room inside the vehicle as well as in the trunk.

However, car is easy to show dents (previous hail damage) - very visible when cleaned and detailed.

Not very quick at acceleration for an automatic; prefer manual!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

27th Aug 2004, 02:25

You stated it had 37000 miles when you bought it. I suppose the previous owner abused it at such a very early stage or you simply got a lemon. And you also state your previous car was another neon. Did you have as much trouble with it?

18th Dec 2005, 10:21

My 2002 dodge neon es is experiencing some of the same problems. I bought it with 16,000 miles on it. At 35,000 the electrical system malfunctioned the car completely died and the battery needed replaced. Ever since the car stutters really hard when accelerating and braking. We've done all the required maintnance on the car and I don't drive the car hard at all. The car now has 45,000 miles on it and sits out of commission because it died on the interstate the day before yesterday due to transmission failure, its to young to be having these kinds of problems! This car doesn't have to be a lemon or driven rough its just plain cheap and not reliable!

26th Jun 2006, 23:24

I have just now purchased a 2002 Neon with 60,000 miles on it, and I have had it for about a week now, and it does not seem to be having any problems right now. BUT... The car really does not have any pick up or acceleration! It's hard to get it going. But so far so good... Someone told me later that Neon's are not reliable and that if the car makes it to 80,000 miles, it's done its job as a car and is not longer worth ANY value, or money!!! But... So far so good!!

2nd May 2011, 21:21

I had a Neon with 200k on it and it ran killer. It was a 2001 and now I have a 2002 SXT with 150k.

The only problem I have is a little stutter about twice a week and the engine light comes on when it happens, so I'm going to tune it up easiest first.

As long as you take care of your car it will last, but the 2002 SXT came with the 4 speed transmission and they are junk and have no power. I wish I could change it out with the 3 speed.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 37 reviews