1999 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 4 of 12

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Work Special 3.9L V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.9L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance51560 miles
Previous carDodge Van

Summary:

Best truck I ever owned

Faults:

Idler Pulley froze at 30,000

Seat cushion not staying in place.

General Comments:

I bought this truck knowing it was not a performance vehicle and have been surprised by the power of the V6. It has been a very reliable truck and only needed fan belt pulley replaced and seat cushion refastened. Otherwise all normal maintenance performed with no problems to speak of.

Only complaint is the stock bench seat has no support and the seat cushion keeps unfastening from the bottom frame.

Overall design of cabin is excellent and the fuel mileage has been around 16 consistently since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 SLT Reg Cab 5.9L 360 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.9L 360 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVolvo 780

Summary:

Consistent TLC inside and out goes a long way

Faults:

Front brakes, Wear and Tear, 100000.

Front bearings, replaced, 110000.

Rear end brake noise (think the pads are sliding back and forth across the drum)

Front seal leak minimal.

Transmission thump on acceleration (if I accelerate easy no problem)

Little rust rear corner panel.

General Comments:

I love my truck. Most of the credit should go to the previous owner. They maintained it well.

The interior is very comfortable. Large seats for a large guy.

Starts every time.

Gets about 13-15 MPG, but I knew that going in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 5.6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles

Faults:

Intake Manifold Plenum Gasket blew at 40,000 miles.

Intake Manifold Plenum Gasket blew again at 84k miles.

General Comments:

I'm not sure if I would buy a Dodge Ram again. The company will not acknowledge the intake manifold gasket problem (TSB 09-05-00), even though it is commonly known, and there are after-market kits by 3rd party companies to solve the problem. The problem is due to the design which uses dissimilar metals, causing different heat contract/expansion rates, which ultimately comprimise the gasket. This is costing me $700+ to fix, and Dodge simply doesn't give a you know what. This is so unethical. Should be a recall on this brilliant design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

18th Dec 2006, 14:53

I Had the same problem with intake gasket the dealer replaced it twice and I think I am due for another one. I should have blown the engine completely when it was on warranty.

22nd Apr 2007, 20:45

I had the same problem with my 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 series truck. It has the 5.2 engine in it. It had around 36,000 miles on it. I lucked out because it was still under warranty. I've had other problems with the truck and it has only 63,000 on it now. I baby this truck and never tow with it. The truck is garage kept and spotless. I am not a Dodge hater I've owned many older Dodge muscle cars and older trucks and loved them. Dodge better start getting there act together they are losing a lot of business.

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 5.9L 360 V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9L 360 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance85500 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Overall a great truck

Faults:

75500mi - Intake Plenum Gasket failed - Design Flaw. Replaced dealer redesigned Plenum gasket.

85000mi - AC Evaporator Failed (Replaced the following Spring)

85500 - Automatic Transmission Completely Failed - Again; another design flaw (took 2 hours to remove Torque Converter from Input Shaft. Had No gears at all when it failed). Totally Rebuilt.

98500 - Transmission Failed Again! 1 year and 10 months later after the 1st rebuild. This time it lost 2nd gear only. Rebuilt with parts for a Diesel automatic transmission this time, and added an external transmission cooler for extra cooling in the hopes I won't have to do this again anytime soon!

General Comments:

Overall great performance. Would be Excellent if Chrysler engineers would put more thought in their mechanical quality, especially in re-thinking why their automatic transmission design fails so easily and often?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

12th Oct 2004, 19:55

Chrysler is not willing to acknowledge ANY responsibility on their part, nor reimburse me Any money that I had to pay out-of-pocket to fix their design flaws, because of the high mileage: Even though these problems are well documented on the internet. Not only did I file complaints with Chrysler Customer Service (800) 992-1997; I also filed complaints for Each problem with the DOT Auto Safety Hotline (888) DASH-2-DOT. They can enforce a recall by the auto maker if enough of these same problems occur on other similar vehicles (Safety Related) ; so Report Everything! Complaining about them is not enough - Get Them DOCUMENTED!

Richard T. Van Remmen II (owner)

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 42 reviews