1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Quad Cab 5.9 Liter Gas from North America


A hard working truck that works best when not babied!


The front brake calipers would not float as they are suppose to. 12,000 miles the pads were gone on the inside, but not hardly touched on the outside. Dealer said this was normal!! I figured out that this was a common problem. The spindles were not surface ground from the factory and would not let the calipers float. Used a small grinder and file and works great since.

At 40,000 miles, I installed a K&N filter, Mopar Performance Computer and Accel Coil. This was a big improvement in power when towing.

At 140,000 miles had to replace the battery, thermostat, water pump and idler for serpentine belt.

Some of the small interior plastic pieces have started to break from wear and age.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable and powerful truck. I have kept it well maintained and it has been almost flawless. I would buy another if they were not so expensive. I plan to keep this one for a long while.

This truck has towed a 31 foot camper (approximately 8000 lbs loaded) for over 20000 miles since I have owned it. It is also used to tow cars on a trailer, as well as haul wood, stone, and anything else. I have worked this truck hard, but did do regular service on it.

I would recommend this truck to anyone looking for a hard working truck. I have not babied this truck at all and it has still been there every time I need it.

No the transmission has never been touched except for fluid changes (Mopar brand) and still works as it did when it was new!

A story to show how strong this truck is: I towed my camper with the bed 3/4 full of firewood to Gatlinburg from Indiana in 2002 when the weather was well over 90 degrees and very humid. I went all the way with the air running. On some of the steep inclines, I slowed to 55 MPH going up. The truck was in second gear pulling almost 5000 RPM's for about 5 miles (3.73 gear ratio). The water temperature never went over 210 degrees and the air conditioning stayed cold. I have pulled these RPM's several times since I have owned it with never a glitch!!! This is why I still have it and use it today!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup from North America


Have been very well pleased with this vehicle


The power steering quit working today.

General Comments:

Nothing has gone wrong until now. Today I pulled a boat and trailer back to my home today, which is about 90 miles. When I got home I got out of the vehicle to open the gate so I could pull the boat in the back yard. I left it running. I immediately got back in it and pulled it up about 25 feet and all of a sudden the power steering acted as if it had went completely out. It didn't make any noise of any kind and it is full on power steering fluid. The belt is still on and working. What do you think could have happened? No problems at all with it before now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

18th Oct 2005, 15:25

I just had the same thing happen and it turns out the shaft on the power steering pump had twisted off inside the pump so that the impeller wasn't turning. Had a rebuilt pump installed.

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup Quad Cab 1500 V8 from North America


A life threatening liability


In August 2002, while driving on I85, when trying to disengage cruise, the truck began to speed to 80-100 mph with my inability to brake and stop the vehicle. Called 911. Highway patrol talked me through turning off ignition key on shoulder of highway. Luckily, during the middle of the day there was little traffic and therefore didn't wreck the truck with my daughters and me. Dealer diagnosed throttle cable sticking. Replaced it and shot brakes (due to riding them while during acceleration) -- at my expense. Dealer stated "once in a lifetime problem", no recall on vehicle, it is safe to drive.

On 5/17/04, during morning traffic, it happened again. The truck began to speed up with no ability to stop. Called 911 again. Once again, we were lucky to not have an accident. This time my husband was driving with my two children. Dealer towed truck to shop and witnessed throttle cable engaged again. Involved DiamlerChrysler District Service Manager to troubleshoot odd situation they can't explain. Chrysler's resolution to the problem is to fix it (at their cost) and send it back on the road again.

Even though the dealer and their parent company (Chrysler) can't figure out why this problem happens, they feel it is appropriate to allow the vehicle to go back to the owner to drive. This vehicle is unsafe to me and my family and others on the road.

General Comments:

Chrysler's customer service system is not geared to the customer. They are not looking out for the best interest of the public.

The service manager at the dealer as well as a sales manager state they both would never put their families in this truck -- even if repaired.

My 1999 Dodge Ram Quad Cab has serious mechanical problems that the manufacturer needs to take responsibility for to prevent an accident or death in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2004

12th Apr 2005, 13:52

Just a little side note to your story. It is full of holes.

A sticky throttle cable would only make vehicle speed up if you were under acceleration already. Cruise wouldn't have much to do with this situation. And for the record you should have learned the first time to just shut the key off to the first position.

Wouldn't take 2 calls to 911 for me to figure this one out.

The fix to your problem is a ground strap issue. Poorly grounded engine to chassis will cause feedback through the cable. Have your mechanic add numerous ground straps. Engine to frame, body to frame, body to engine. Should never do it again. Dealership should have recognized this.

5th Jun 2006, 08:09

I was thinking the same thing. Years later, the same situation occurs, and this person has an inability to function as any normal driver, instead calling 911? I don't buy it.

5th Jan 2011, 13:52

Anyone whom has to call 911 to figure out how to stop their "runaway" car needs to turn over the keys! Really?!? I wouldn't advise you to turn off the key doing 110, which sounds sketchy to begin with. My Dodge wouldn't do 110 if I dropped it off a cliff. They're underpowered. Put it in neutral and sacrifice the engine to save your life. If you turn off the ignition on many cars, the steering will lock, and you could crash.