1999 Dodge Ram Pickup Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup Ram 1500 Sport 502 L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 502 L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Needs to be thoroughly redesigned

Faults:

Complete brake system failure at 7,000 miles, required replacement of all components.

Thermostat seal leaked at 29,000 miles.

Idle control computer module went out.

Fog light switch never worked from day one.

Serpentine belt squeaks at cold startup, has been replaced five times (it still squeaks occasionally to this day).

Front rotors discovered to have 'rust pits' in them. These cannot be machined and require replacement (37,000 miles after the first new set was installed).

Rust is already forming on door window trim.

Brakes will still occasionally go out, pedal will drop to the floor during hard braking. I've been back to the dealership three times, problem cannot been identified or corrected by them. Last incident resulted in a car crash.

General Comments:

I am currently pursuing 'Lemon Law' litigation against Dodge based on the dealerships inability to correct the brakes. Brake failure resulted in a car crash. After inspection, second and third party opinions believe there is a faulty master cylinder and/or problem with the power brake assist (similar to the recall Dodge had on their 2000-01 Neons). Dodge is claiming ignorance to these symptoms in order to avoid a liability.

Otherwise, I was very happy with the interior and styling of this truck.

Dealership service and reliability was the worst I have ever encountered, so much for 'five star service' as they claim.

I will never purchase another Chrysler product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

12th Nov 2002, 07:32

I also have a serpentine belt that sqeeks for 10 minutes until everything warms up.

Randy.

10th Feb 2003, 15:42

The squeak that I see everyone commenting on is not the serpentine belt. I have replaced two tensioner pulleys and have fixed the problem both times... but the length of the fix is undetermined. First tensioner solved problem for 1 yr. 2nd tensioner solved for 1-1/2 yrs... still working good.. but could go at any time.!!! Also to comment on the rear end problems I've had. 98 ram 1500 is in for its second set of differential bearings... First fix was 3 9/01/02 months ago...we'll have to see how long the second set lasts... have friends that have had the same problem... Chrysler service manual even states that the "whining" in the rear end is usually the bearings... well if they knew this when they printed the book... then why don't you fix it in the trucks before they make it to the consumers???

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 4x4 360 Magnum from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 360 Magnum Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47950 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

An Excellent 4x4 Truck

Faults:

When I first got the truck in August of 2001, I was so happy and I am still a very proud owner. Only a few minor problems have occured. After I first got it in August, that December 2001 then heated power passenger mirror fell of while I was traveling down the road. It was hanging by the wire at 70. A few days later the Rear Wheel Speed Sensor went out. About a month ago, the secondary hood latch release fell off when I closed my hood.

General Comments:

My 1999 Dodge Ram is fully loaded, with leather, trip computer, and power everything. I like this truck because of the body style and the ride height. I think it is funny when my friends say I got a lift on my Chevy, then I say well pull up beside my truck (it is stock height, except for 285 BFG All Terrains) When they pull beside me, I still sit a little higher than they do. The Engine is great, except for a little knocking every now and then. The 360 is a powerhouse in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 Quad Cab 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good for leasing (low mileage), not the type of truck to purchase

Faults:

Excessive brake wear during the first year.

Radio replaced during the first month.

Paint on the body easily chips.

Rough turning when in 4WD (since purchased).

Front Pump Seal leaking at 87,000.

Had to refill Brake fluid 3X in the past 2 months. Dealer cannot find the problem nor a leak in brake system. (Found leaks everywhere else)

Intake Plenum Gasket Leak at 87,000 miles.

'T St at' Housing also leaking at 87,000 miles.

General Comments:

Fairly comfortable, enjoy sitting up 'higher'.

Learned to 'deal' with 4WD rough turning problem.

Leaks like a sieve after 87K miles.

Take a class in do-it-yourself repair because the dealer cannot be trusted.

Take advantage of extended service contracts/warranty coverage. (You'll need it!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

2nd Apr 2008, 17:11

FYI - the four wheel drive on dodge trucks is four wheel drive, it's not all wheel drive. You're not supposed to be driving on pavement with the four wheel drive engaged. Go buy a jeep with a full-time four wheel drive transfer case if you want to drive around in four wheel drive all the time.

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 Quadcab 4x4 5.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired155 miles
Most recent distance38300 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

This full-size truck does the work of a semi

Faults:

The steering center link and right hub needed changed at 7000 miles.

It needed a new cruise servo at 1000 miles.

I had the front brake calipers switched side to side at 17000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a real truck.

Dependability is guaranteed. I have gone on several cross county drives, towing a trailer and heavy loads, with wife and kids, and this truck has performed flawlessly.

I am a former GM service manager, and know how both sides of the service issue goes. You cannot please everyone, but this truck pleases me and my family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 318 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 318 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

An expensive piece of crap!

Faults:

New brakes at 3000.

New shocks at 5000.

New tires at 6000, front end fixed.

New motor at 34000.

New transmission at 34500.

New transfer case at 34600.

Another set of new heads at 34700.

New tires, front stabilizer bar and shocks at 34750.

New coil and computer at 35000.

General Comments:

Dodge sucks and the warranty is very hard to hold up to, they took forever fixing the truck and I would rather take the farm truck on trips because it does not have as many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

25th Mar 2001, 16:22

I absolutly agree with you, I have 6000 miles on my 2001 Ram 1500 Sport 4 x 4 and have had the entire vehicle replaced once! They new one has had new front shocks, new center console, and I'm pressuring them to do something about the paint. A $35K 5 months old barely 6000 miles and the plant is flaking off already. Who does the quality control at Dodge? Anyone?

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 42 reviews