1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 turbo diesel from North America


A good truck!


The gas gage stuck on full (fixed under warranty)

The cup holder fell (broke).

General Comments:

The towing ability is great!

It is a comfortable ride for a truck.

I would recommend one to a friend, but be careful where you buy it from. Not all Five Star Dealers are the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT V8 from North America


Not a very wise investment.


When we first drove off the lot with the Dodge Ram, the dealership did not fill the truck with gas.

The driver seat was promised to be repaired from a rip in it. That took a month for the dealership to fix.

The front bummer started to fall off the truck, shortly after the purchase.

Three months after the purchase, the transmission broke.

The catalytic converter clogged up.

The engine seized up.

General Comments:

I will not buy another Dodge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

11th Dec 2007, 08:38

Some of the problems you listed, I can see having problems with too. I have a Dodge truck, but a lot of the things you said you had problems with, I just can't believe. I think you should look for another garage.

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 2500 Quad Cab 5.9 diesel Turbo from North America


It's OK, but I believe Dodge could do better


Driver's side mirror shakes at highways speeds.

Passenger's side speaker quit working.

Dash light reostat gets extremely hot.

Front brake calipers stick and eat thru brakes.

Braking power is poor.

Center console sticks sometimes and won't fold forward.

When adjusting brightness of dash lights, the stereo clocks flashes extremely bad.

Driver's side door hinge is weak and needs repaired.

Paint chips easily.

Front bumper plastic has broken off.

Tailgate is weak and flattened due to hauling wood. Now I need a new tailgate.

General Comments:

Good four wheel drive system.

Front tie downs in bed are in a poor location.

Service from dealerships is very poor. I have and extended warranty which I purchased and the dealer never fixes anything I point out to them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th October, 2002

16th Mar 2005, 12:05

I had the left speaker go out within the first six months. They did not have a fixit until after the warranty was up. I had a little trouble putting new shocks on the front, they seem to rattle abit. Other than that the truck has been worth its money.

1999 Dodge Ram Pickup 5.2v from North America


No Dodge truck in my future. Ford has my business!


Just 1 month after warranty expired, check engine light turned on. Had to take car to dealer 3 times for them to figure out it was vacuum seal that broke.

One month later, when car reached 38,000 miles, transmission started slipping. Turns out that torque converter went bad. I've never heard of this happening at 2k miles over warranty expiration. Dealer is overhauling transmission for $1600. They said it would take 2 days and I'm just getting truck back after 5 days. They also wanted to charge $1800 even though they didn't call me to say it would cost $200 more than estimate. I don't 4x4, tow or drive in snow. Since I only drive 12k miles a year (mostly freeway miles), this is definitely a Dodge defect. After doing some research, my problem is consistent with what a lot of other Dodge Ram drivers have encountered. I wish I would have known this before buying the truck.

Paint on sides of tailgate has started rusting and chipping away. I don't live near the coast and truck is garaged every day. No reason for this to happen except faulty paint job from factory.

General Comments:

Although comfortable to drive, this truck is poorly designed. Either that, or Dodge has a shady way of doing business. Funny that the transmission giving out is a common problem on the 1997-1999 trucks, but Dodge hasn't offered any restitution for their truck owners. Dealer won't even discount price!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

12th Sep 2002, 19:46

Chrysler has a toll free number to register a complaint. They would cover a transmission problem being that close out of warranty.Don't trust a dealer because they don't get as much money under warranty. Always call a factory rep if you want results.

21st Mar 2008, 13:21

I've got a 99 ram 1500 5.9L and I've never had any problems with the transmission or anything else for that matter. Bought it brand new and now its got 206,700 miles on it with the original engine and transmission. Paint hasn't peeled at all other than a few scratches that I've put there on accident. The only thing I've ever had replaced in the engine compartment is the water pump. I don't know why some people have so many problems with their trucks. I tow a horse trailer with 2 1200 pound horses 90% of the time. Maybe some people just get lucky with the ones they bought at the time, who know.