1990 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 3 of 8

1990 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission AWD 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance147850 miles

Summary:

It may be hard to believe, but yes, it is a 4 cylinder

Faults:

Clutch costed almost 500 dollars to be installed.

Extreme turbo lag.

General Comments:

This car is so fast.

You have got to love AWD.

Handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Cheap, fast, fun

Faults:

I had to replace a cat converter and an alternator. The rest has just been maintenance.

General Comments:

The Eagle Talon is a turbocharged blast. It's a car that you should never find out how fast it goes.

These cars are a 5.0 Mustangs' worst nightmare.

Two things are bad about the Talon. One, the worst, is that the manual transmission on this car sucks. It is a rock crushing beast. You will not let your girl friend drive this car. You can shift it without grinding the gears, but you have to think about it.

This is a common complaint. But I mean, where can you get a 140mph sports car for cheap and it isn't like it fails, you just have to think to shift it.

The other is that the car is completely uncomfortable. I'm 6' and it's a tight fit, plus the seats are lousy. The suspension is so stiff you will feel like you are riding on a rock. It's great if you want to do 90 through 20 mph corners, but not so nifty for going for a long trip.

I think it's one of the easiest cars I've ever had to work on. You sure need the book though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance242000 miles
Previous carFiat Spyder

Summary:

Fast

Faults:

Timing belt tensioner went out and she jumped timing... bent all 8 exhaust valves. Re-worked the head, valve job.

Headliner started to sag... removed it, but haven't replaced it... it really isn't that noticeable.

General Comments:

I bought this car off the showroom floor and have not regretted one minute of it.

I blow the doors off most of the youngsters rides when they come around.

The FWD is definitely faster that the AWD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

19th Jul 2004, 09:05

I would like someone to comment on a problem I am having with my 1990 Talon TSI FWD. I have had it for 5 years now, I absolutely love it. I have put minimal repairs into it. It was purchased with 95,000 kms on it and now has 231,900. I have changed the timing belt before it went, preventive measure, and I have done regular maintenance. Recently it periodically cuts out when driving, seems to be in damp weather, electrical for sure, but the diagnostic machine is unable to pick up anything yet because it will automatically catch itself and keep going. I have changed the cap, wires, etc. Anyone else have this happen?

Thanks

Tammy, Ottawa On.

1990 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This car will make a great summer project and an awesome winter car

Faults:

Low compression in one of the pistons

Builds up pressure in bottom end of engine (probably has to do with the low compression piston)

Minor body rust

Rear tires need replacing

Needs stereo.

General Comments:

Just purchased the car

Idles perfect

Runs OK, but will get low compression piston checked out

Probably will bag the crap out of the engine and replace it.

Bought the car dirt cheap, but it still runs

All wheel drive runs like new

Interior is mint

Boost guage still works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2004

25th Jul 2005, 03:15

Want to sell the car?

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

The turbo leaked oil so I bought a new and bigger one to fix it with, and I had to replace the radiator hose because of leaking.

General Comments:

For a four cylinder engine this car is extremely fast and has good torque there is nothing on the car that is bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance186000 kilometres

Summary:

A high-maintenance adrenaline rush

Faults:

The day after I bought the car, the clutch failed.

The turbo blew at 155000km. Also replaced problematic ignition coil pack.

The clutch blew again at 170000km. 1-2 synchro hub worn out; replaced.

The balance belt broke at 175000km, taking out the timing belt, necessitating a complete engine rebuild.

Due to improper re-mounting of engine by dealer, clutch failed at 180,000km.

Rear brakes seized at 185,000 km, alternator replaced.

General Comments:

The car is very fast.

The "cockpit" is nice, but there's no room in the rear seats.

Something is always breaking, broken, or about to break on this car past 150,000 km or so.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

4th Apr 2006, 10:16

I think that the Eagle Talon is a very well built car. I have a 1990 TSI Turbo AWD and it has treated me very nice. The biggest upset I've had is the day I bought it, the clutch went out, but that was caused by the previous owner. I have almost 148,000 miles on it and besides an exhaust system, the car is still stock. It is still a very fast car. Good luck with your Talon.

23rd Jul 2006, 19:08

I purchased a 1990 Eagle talon Tsi FWD. I have had to redo the timing on it 5 or 6 times. My friend who was helping me with timing suggested that I get a new automatic tension adjuster. I got the tension adjuster and a new timing belt. Installed them and the belt still skipped and the timing was thrown out.

Any suggestions?

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 31 reviews