1990 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1990 Eagle Talon Tsi (FWD) DOHC 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission DOHC 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103027 miles
Most recent distance108523 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Turbo God

Faults:

I had to replace the alternator at the time of purchase. ($120.00 parts and labor)

Plugs and wires were bad at time of purchase, causing a horrible misfire.

Car was, over all, poorly maintained.

General Comments:

Since I bought the car it has been smooth sailing. After the replacement of the plugs and wires, an oil change/engine flush, and alternator replacement this car is nothing less than a front-wheel-drive rocket.

The cockpit is very driver oriented which makes me feel comfortable when I drive.

This car is, by far, the best car I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

20th Apr 2004, 18:09

I was wondering if your eagle talon is faster than your previous car the camaro?

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

I'd buy another one if we didn't have kids! :)

Faults:

BRAKE ROTORS! Numerous times.

Wheel balance (can't keep stock rims from getting bends or stay in balance)

Minor interior things are falling apart.

Right front turn signal wire rotted off.

Muffler finally rusted threw (after 6 years not bad)

General Comments:

This car is fast, I smoked my buddy's 86 Vette! He didn't brag afterward for sure.

It's been very reliable, other than the brakes. I get the rotors turned and two days later they warp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

4th Apr 2006, 13:53

You said it. I have a 90 Eagle Talon Turbo TSI AWD, and I will never regret buying this car. Sure, the turbo dies after a while, but when its running right its no problem to blow some muscle cars out of the water. Love the Talon...

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired255500 kilometres
Most recent distance258000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A very sharp package that will never fail to impress

Faults:

The second gear synchro is a little worn, but not bothersome yet.

General Comments:

This car was VERY well maintained and drives and looks like it has 150,000 kilometers on it.

Brand new timing belt (if you do not know when it was changed last, HAVE IT CHECKED)

Eibach springs (2" drop) and KYB struts, rides surprisingly well, and has absolutely amazing handling.

I have owned two 5.0L Mustangs and will never buy one again. This car is just as fast and gets almost twice the gas mileage! Plus it looks better. I still miss the V8 torque and sound though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

1990 Eagle Talon 2.2 non turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 non turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Premium value for the dollars invested

Faults:

Famous timing belt, fortunately no piston damage, just a head rebuild.

Plug wires caused poor running, replaced then OK.

Interior parts just fall off. Visor, rear view mirror, hatch cover supports, roof liner.

Door handle mechanism broke in cold Canuk weather.

Rides like a stone boat in winter.

Dealer tint peeling real bad, have to take it out.

Rear hatch gas struts need replacing.

Starting to consume oil at 280k.

General Comments:

Very quick, good looker for 12 year old machine. Tires glue to road, excellent handling and steering. Will likely hanger it and rebuilt engine over winter.

Would love it more if it had a turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

1990 Eagle Talon TSI AWD turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

Expensive, but sporty

Faults:

At about 90,000 my car started smoking out of the exhaust. It was horrible and nobody knows anything about foreign motors in KS. I found out my turbo was out replaced it at 96000. This cost about $600. Dealership wanted $1000 for new one. Got after market turbo.

General Comments:

I love my red turbo all wheel drive. My new turbo wants to go 50 when I'm trying to drive 35. Lots of people notice me when I'm out. No real problems besides the turbo so if your car starts smoking its not the heads..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

4th Apr 2006, 13:44

Yeah, I'm also a proud owner of a red TSI Turbo AWD Talon. Yeah, the stock turbo can be mighty expensive if you try to go stock. Aftermarket parts aren't only cheaper, they're better. Well, just thought I'd let you know, that if you haven't replaced your clutch lately, beware. If you have the AWD Turbo Talon, you will be paying a lot. Not mainly for the clutch itself, but if you have to pay someone to put it in, which may I add, you may not want to even try to do it yourself, it comes close to 450 dollars just for someone to put it in. But, I'd have to say that it was worth it. I love the Talon, and yeah, you do have to love the looks you get in it.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 31 reviews