1990 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

(Relatively) reliable snow toy

Faults:

Balance shaft belt.

Alternator.

Driver's door lock

Air conditioner condenser.

Front rotors (constantly warped!)

General Comments:

Great car for the Canadian snow! It literally cannot get stuck, no matter how stupid I get with it.

I've had the car for seven years and have had some problems with parts breaking, but compared to my experience with domestic cars, the Talon is far ahead.

The usual things have blown for a 10 year old car. I intend to drive it until it drops, even if I can afford a newer car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD Turbo 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80500 miles
Most recent distance101060 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Affordable speed racer

Faults:

Valve cover gasket - $42 (did it myself).

Parking lights shorted - $350.

Horn $12 (dual tone air horn because the factory one didn't work).

CV joints - $325 for both.

General Comments:

Great car, has never broken down on me.

Gets decent mpg for the power it has.

Only problems are ones you would expect on a 10 year old car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 kilometres
Most recent distance185600 kilometres

Summary:

Amzing Mustang killer

Faults:

Car was dying at 4500rpm, changed the plugs, runs like new now.

Needs a CV boot, front right drive shaft, belts and hoses.

I know it's a lot but I like this car too much.

General Comments:

Handling is amazing, I've never driven another car that can corner this good.

Acceleration is good. Most fun car I've driven so far.

I do a lot of city driving so the gas goes pretty fast, only 220 to 240 kms to the tank but on the highway it's good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2000

21st May 2001, 12:48

I have a 1990 eagle talon.. and I've observed some of the same things as everybody else... timing belts going out.. lil ruff in the tires (nothing some kick tail low profiles didn't fix) and some headlight probs.. but that car is the sweetest thing on wheels for the bucks.. cheap to buy, cheap to run... and sure as heck way to much fun.

J. Hawk.

1990 Eagle Talon TSI AWD 2.0L DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am SE

Summary:

Not just a car, it's a rocket ship!!

Faults:

Timing belt.

Battery.

Factory theft system tended to kick in whether or not you used a key so I removed the horns, but they didn't work anyway. No huge deal.

General Comments:

One heck of a good little car! Mostly reliable and certainly a performer. That's a combination I can live with.

Be warned - these cars have a short battery life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

21st Jul 2006, 11:23

Well, if the battery life is short. Why not get a new alternator?

1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD Turbo 2.0 DOHC turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance85905 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

It's fun, but as it gets older, things start to happen

Faults:

Headlights.

Headlight pop-up motor.

Engine control computer.

Alternator.

General Comments:

It was fun to drive until the day I traded it in and gave no problems up until 1997 (engine control computer went out 6 months after the extended warranty expired!).

The following year the pop-up motor for one of the headlight pop up assemblies failed and the alternator (voltage regulator) went out in Aug. I was told that model of alternator was not being made any more and ultimately, a remanufactured one had to be shipped over from Japan as there was not one to be had in Canada, the USA or Mexico!!!!!!

Performance was great, but time was taking it's toll. Traded it in for a 2000 Dodge Intrepid R/T.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2000

3rd May 2001, 10:39

Are these cars able to handle like when wet outside? How many miles does this car have? How many miles should I look for when buying a talon. What color should I get? Where is the best place when looking for a good talon?

10th Apr 2004, 19:29

I had problems with my headlight not going up or down. I took WD-40 and spray all the gears and joints while moving (forcing) the light up and down. After about 15 minutes of doing this I never had a problem again.

4th Apr 2006, 13:50

If you are looking for parts for an Eagle Talon, don't let em fool ya. The Eagle Talon, Mitsubishi Eclipse, and the Plymouth Laser are all pretty much the same set up. If you buy a part for one of these, they're all pretty much the same.

13th Nov 2007, 13:38

I just recently bought a '90 Talon and it had been setting up for a while. I had to replace the main computer, timing belt, water pump, and many other parts. My suggestion is to buy your parts from Napa... Auto Zone sold me a few bad parts, and this caused the repair time and cost to be even more.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 31 reviews