1990 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 intercooled turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 intercooled turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108600 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

It'll take out todays average sports car (Mustangs, Camaro's etc) without trying

Faults:

Well it is a used sports car, and if not taken care of bad things are going to happen. I need to replace the head gasket because it's blown between cylinder 2 and 3.

1st and 2nd gear synchros are shot, have to shift slowly or double clutch.

General Comments:

I have to say it's the fastest car I've ever driven.

It'll burn the tires without even trying to, and I only have 60% power out of the engine.

Speedo says it'll do 145 MPH and that's no lie, it will do 145 MPH+ (I sort of know this from testing it out).

It has extremely good handling, I can take a corner coming into my town that's limited to 30 MPH at 70 MPH without any tire noise or being scared it's not going to hold. Absolutely no body roll. Can also take 90 degree corners at 30 MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2001

1990 Eagle Talon AWD Turbo 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

4 cylinder turbo terror

Faults:

Well what do you expect from a 11 year old car that is driven every day. Have had nothing but typical things go wrong. This is the 2nd 1990 TSI AWD Talon that I have owned.

Burns tires up quick and they aren't cheap.

General Comments:

Couldn't ask for anything more out of an 4 cylinder sports car. What do you expect? Take this car out of the factory and it can smoke the Mustang.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

23rd Jul 2006, 12:54

Your tires burned up quick? You might wanna go get that checked out... my tires are fine and I race all the time... if you know how to work on these cars, they really are not all that expensive.. they are very quick.. right now I've got mine running 11.8s at a drag strip in FL.

1990 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A Honda's nightmare

Faults:

All of the belts had to be changed shortly after I bought it.

The hatch is broken.

My power windows are stiff.

The exhaust down-pipe is going.

General Comments:

I had never driven a turbocharged car before and was shocked at the difference.

It was the quickest import I have ever driven and after a short test drive, I had to have it.

The handling is extremely precise and it is nearly impossible to skid thanks to the all wheel drive.

I have easily beaten quite a few V-tec Hondas and Acura late models in this ten-year-old sleeper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

8th Feb 2002, 18:37

I agree the Talon is a Honda's nightmare, but not only that, it's any 5.0's nightmare too and it's a great car.

11th Aug 2002, 19:22

Not sure about a 5.0's nightmare as I have beaten both a GSX and a GST Mitisbishi Eclipse which this car really is.

Not really a huge huge threat. Fast and nice cars though. I do own a mitsibishi and am about ready to do the 2.0L turbo swap into the cordia I own. But I also own 2 mustangs both 89's. But I do like these cars. They do come with their own problems, but any car this age will.

1990 Eagle Talon 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

This little beast will run with the big dogs

Faults:

Axle joints needed replacing badly when I got it.

The roof interior was falling off.

The factory tint was peeling off.

The left pop-up light wouldn't pop up.

The Hatch-back leaked water into the trunk.

I tore the second gear out of it while burning the tires through the gears.

General Comments:

The car handles great and has tremendous pick up.

It looks great and you will get tons of compliments on it.

Don't be afraid to race someone at a stop light because chances are that you will win.

My advice is, don't try to burn the tires through all the gears because now I don't have a second gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

1990 Eagle Talon 2.0L non-turbo FWD from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L non-turbo FWD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Salon

Summary:

Awesome little pocket rocket

Faults:

Replaced timing belt when I got it (scheduled maintenance), cost $650 CDN.

Replaced right side rear brake caliper ($200 CDN).

General Comments:

Fun to drive, great gas mileage no matter how you drive.

My next car will be a newer twin turbo AWD or a 3000GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 31 reviews