1988 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9L Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Another piece of crap Ford, the worst vehicle I've ever owned

Faults:

The engine blew-up.

The radio quit working.

The 4-wheel drive quit working.

The starter went out three times.

All the U-joints are shot.

The vehicle vibrates very badly on the highway.

The oil light comes on when hot.

The parking brake stays on when released.

The Clutch has gone out twice.

The clear coat has peeled off.

The vehicle is rusting on all four fenders.

General Comments:

The 2.9L engine is gutless.

The push button 4-wheel drive will never work when needed.

Ford made an ugly first sport utility.

Try finding the jack when you need it.

The transmission does not have a deep enough first gear, and it's not very fast on the highway either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

21st Jan 2002, 15:29

This is the worst review I have ever read!!!

I personally own a Bronco II, and I love it.

Obviously you drive the crap out of your vehicle by your review, so use some common sense...

Signed:

Bronco II lovers.

21st Jan 2002, 21:16

I feel that review I read was totally wrong. I own an 88' Bronco II XLT 4X4 Auto and it is the best little vehicle I have ever owned. The thing just keeps on trucking, it requires little to no maintenance at all. And the price I got it at was a steal.

I do agree with the comment about the clear coat, because I have noticed mine is starting to show signs of peeling too. But all in all, this is a very good SUV. And about the "Ford is crap comment".. I use a 2000 F-150 4.2l V-6 XL and it is the best pick up I have ever driven. Just look at Fords truck sales, that speaks for itself I think.

Satisfied Ford Customer.

1st May 2004, 21:01

We bought our 88' Bronco 2 recently for VERY cheap and we love it! Only one thing though, we can't use the 4-wheel drive on the road due to the front wheels squealing and we are getting a loud banging noise in the front.

3rd Oct 2008, 22:22

I bought a 1988 bronco II and I have already had a (minor) problem. At least I hope it's minor. Once it's warmed up and I then turn it off, then go back to start it, it will turn over but will not fire or start. What's the deal?

16th Aug 2009, 12:56

Your statement that "Ford made an ugly first sport-utility" is not only unfair to the Bronco II, it's just plain wrong. Ford's first sport-utility was the 1966 Bronco; the Bronco had been in continuous production for 22 years before your truck was built. Otherwise, it wouldn't have been called "Bronco II."

I can see replacing a clutch after 100,000 miles, but another clutch within 25,000 miles? That leads me to believe that it wasn't driven properly.

Overall, it sounds as if this vehicle was mistreated. It was a seven-year-old truck with 100,000 miles, after all. This is a mechanical device we're talking about, and mechanical devices require maintenance. Their parts will eventually wear out and require replacement, too.

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Good value for the money spent

Faults:

Replaced both power window motors in the first year.

Replaced the water pump twice.

The rear running lights are shorting out.

The car has a lot of body rust.

General Comments:

A good general utility vehicle.

Needs more room in the back to carry larger items.

Being a two door makes it hard for a baby seat in the rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carDodge Pickup

Summary:

This has been the most durable and best performing vehicle that I have ever owned

Faults:

Automatic shift lever came off and had to be replaced at about 60,000 miles.

Headlights shorted out under the steering column. Lights wouldn't come on around 100,000 miles.

O2 sensor went out at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this car new. It is the longest I have ever kept a car and it is still running very strong. Plus it still looks good.

I have never had any engine or drive train problems. Regular maintenance and only 2 tune ups in 110,000 miles.

I've had this car up in Montana in the snow several times. We ski a lot, both cross country and downhill. I have literally gone around several other types of 4w heel drives that were stranded.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews