1988 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 13 of 14

1988 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A very tough little rig that has always been there for me

Faults:

Drive shaft had to be re-built.

Valve covers leak.

Transmission makes noise in most gears, especially overdrive (5th gear).

General Comments:

I rolled this truck 7 years ago and it just got back on its wheels, and it hasn't stopped running since (except when it needed a clutch).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Fun rig, like a Jeep that runs

Faults:

Headlight plug in the steering column shorted (no lights).

Tip-over fuel pump shut off plug shorted (won't run when that happens).

A4LD transmission quit shifting to over-drive (cleaning the valve body will fix it).

Oil leaks at the valve covers.

Seat back frame broken.

General Comments:

If I could get a new one just like it, I would.

It gets great mileage, easy to drive, comfortable on long trips, goes great in snow and mud.

A4LD automatic transmission is the major weakness of the vehicle.

Everything else on it can take a beating and keep going.

Tips over everytime I drive it! (just kidding)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

Great truck for having FUN!!!

Faults:

Valve covers leaking when I bought it.

Front U-joints froze up, but easily replaced.

General Comments:

I bought it at 133000 miles and other than normal repairs that come with age, runs great with the factory engine and drive-train.

Can take a beating and keep on ticking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance239000 miles

Summary:

It has been one of the best all-around vehicles I've ever owned

Faults:

Leaky valve cover gaskets.

Several air conditioning repairs.

General Comments:

My '88 Bronco II is approaching 240,000 miles and it still has the original drive train, including the clutch. I change the oil and filter every 3,000 miles and, at most, I have to add a half-quart of oil between changes. It has always started for me and has never left me stranded. Sure it is under-powered, but it gets great fuel economy and turns on a dime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II 2.9 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired108500 miles
Most recent distance110500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A great car for the modest driver

Faults:

Valves leaked oil.

Headlights went out.

That's all so far.

General Comments:

So far I've been impressed with my baby Bronco, it always starts fine. Although the engine isn't much, it handles great and the small turning radius is great. The interior is comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II Eddie Bauer 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

An awesome introductory 4x4 vehicle

Faults:

Rear main seal has been leaking since I got it. One piece seal so a little more difficult to fix.

Other engine gasket leaks, but nothing unexpected of a vehicle with 200k+ on it.

Numerous electrical shorts, but mainly due to the dirty engine compartment and wheeling mishaps.

General Comments:

Be prepared to put a little money and work into a BII, but it'll go forever.

Acts just like any other Ford, does nothing spectacular but everything well. Pulls my boat, can 4wheel very well for a pretty much stock vehicle, did a 130 mile commute daily for a semester of school with no problems but the alternator.

Not big enough for me though. Seats aren't very comfortable and there's not enough headroom. Other than that she's great. 100% original after 206k.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

14th Jun 2002, 08:16

One piece rear main seals are easier to fix than two pice seals. Just drop the transmission and lightly tap the new seal in with a hammer. A two piece will require you to lift the motor up and drop the oil pan, then you have to mess with the oil pan seals.

4th Dec 2002, 12:10

I have a 1988 Bronco II as well as some friends of mine.

We have all found that the transmission does slip. I thought I was going to have to buy a new tranny, but if you keep the transmission fluid full to the brim, the slipping stops.

1988 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 Liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

The best thing my money has ever bought

Faults:

The normal clutch at 100,000 miles.

Tires.

Brakes.

Paint.

General Comments:

This was the first vehicle I ever bought. It's been so fun and reliable I could not possibly think of ever parting from it. I think any person who wants to enjoy a rugged little sport utility vehicle that's reliable needs one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

1988 Ford Bronco II V6 4WD from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 4WD Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

Where do you wanna go today?

Faults:

Electrical shorts.

Flat tire.

Cracking fiberglass on the back tire support.

2 drive shafts broke.

When I got it I had to rebuild the transmission.

Broken windshield.

Stolen radio.

Interior damage cause by a small bomb.

When you're going fast on the interstate it tends to rock in the wind.

General Comments:

Well, I've heard they roll easy... but I've been fine so far.

If you're looking for something that can make it through just about anything... it's been driven through the middle of the Wabash river. It can climb a 75 degree incline, go down an 80... drive through 16" of water.

4WD goes through with anything. Wheelbase is pretty narrow, you can go driving through the woods, just make sure to get out and bend over small trees...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2000

31st Jul 2006, 16:25

Why would you put a bomb inside your bronco?

17th Sep 2006, 00:23

Small bombs are exciting. living on the edge!

31st May 2007, 07:36

Your personalized tag should read "DA BOMB"

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 49 reviews