1988 Ford Bronco II Reviews - Page 7 of 14

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired147000 miles
Most recent distance166200 miles

Summary:

A very very nice little SUV

Faults:

I have had to replace my water pump and a blown brake line, radiator, gas tank, valve gasket seals.

General Comments:

The Bronco II has been a really good little SUV in my opinion. It may be smal and underpowered, but from what I've seen it will never leave you stranded, it never left me stranded.I'll tell you one thing bronco II's serve their purpose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2003

18th Mar 2004, 11:20

Don't worry. my water pump and clutch fan went bad so I had them both replaced. It is one of the weak points of the bronco 2's.

1988 Ford Bronco II XL Sport 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 miles
Most recent distance174000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Excellent multi-purpose vehicle

Faults:

I had to replace the valve cover gaskets.

General Comments:

This is the third Bronco II I have owned. The Bronco II is one of the best vehicles I have driven off-road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

1988 Ford Bronco II V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance223000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It's been like the energizer bunny

Faults:

Not a single major repair that was not from normal wearing out!! Have replaced clutch once (about 150,000 miles), done some front axle work, is starting to show some paint peeling on passenger rear quarter, roof paint is shot. Interior has held up incredibly. Engine still sounds like a new baby!!! The worst problem has been maintaining the 4wd the last 2 winters. Redid the whole thing for winter 2001/02 but lost it again last winter 02/03.

General Comments:

This car has been maintained, but not babied. It is the farm truck, dog training truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

8th Mar 2005, 16:36

The clearcoat on my roof is pretty much gone too. What kind of problems did you have with the 4wd?

1988 Ford Bronco II 2.9L V6 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9L V6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 miles
Most recent distance196200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

An expensive migraine

Faults:

Control module replaced.

Repaired E-break.

Patched gas tank.

Replaced fuel gauge.

Replaced rear fuel pump (the one in the tank, it's a two pump setup).

Replaced the fuel filter.

Ignition acting weird. The radio and my gauge cluster don't come on unless I fiddle or hit the ignition.

Grinding sound from the transmission every now and then when the clutch is ridden.

General Comments:

In the 3 months that I have owned the B2, it has been in the shop 4 times! I have used it for my daily commute to and from work. I haven't done much other running around other than a couple weekends to a camp about 60 miles. away.

The B2 keeps stalling or not starting on me! I have had to walk several times and once in the rain for 50 min. I was not a happy camper with the bronco right then. (I started cursing ford.) After reading ALL of the bronco reviews, I have decided that it might be worth the investment. So far, we haven't found the problem to it not starting or stalling out.

I think the reviews will help with the investigation. We know it's something to do with not getting fuel. The diagnostic machine told us it was the rear fuel pump that he then replaced. That didn't fix it.

Other than that, it seems like a good truck! It rides and handles well. I love the small size compared to my old Chevy van G20.

I can bring both my dogs and tow a trailer (which feels like it isn't there) and have room left over my me and my girlfriends gear for a weekend at camp. We will see if I will still have it come winter! (I kinda hope I do).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2003

16th Aug 2003, 13:02

Thanks to the reviews of this website, I have identified and located the problem! The next time it stalled on me, (on my way to work of course) I checked the fuel pump shut off switch that I located the day after I wrote my review. The pin or button (looks like a pin, manual says it's a button.) was popped up. I pushed it back down to reset it and now it runs fine! And, get this, I haven't had a problem since with it! I think my B2 has it's own personality and now that I know it's secret, it won't do it anymore! Ha, isn't that something. Thank you again and I hope that my review might be able to help someone in a position like mine.

24th Nov 2003, 20:57

My '87 Ranger kept stalling on me. It would start back up after 1- or 20 min. I found that the fuel pump relay was bad. I replaced it and now it's running great. Len.

22nd Jan 2005, 01:36

The shut off switch is under the carpet by your feet on the passenger side pull up on the little white pin.

4th Dec 2005, 20:19

That reset switch is in the passenger side kick panel.

19th Oct 2006, 21:00

The reset switch IS next to the center hump just beneath the passenger side carpet.

8th Sep 2007, 20:56

I finally replaced my 88 Bronco 2 xlt with a 2003 Ford Escape and boy am I sorry. My mechanic also told me years ago to get a new vehicle and I felt insulted. My bronco was the BEST vehicle I ever owned. No matter how much I neglected it, it never did me wrong. The New England winters did it in for the old Bronco. It ran like a champ and only had 72,000 miles on it, but the rust was everywhere especially under the carriage. It served its purpose for almost 20 years and my 2 golden retrievers loved riding in it. It handled well in the winter and other than general maintenence I never put any lg amts of money into the truck. I decided to part with it while the going was good and after a broken brake line, it seemed like a omen of things to come, but now I regret not keeping the old beast it was a beauty, 2 tone blue and blue interior and it was CLEAN. So if any one out there has their old bronco 2 still, I say KEEP IT. The Escape I bought is a poor excuse for what I had in the Bronco!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 50 reviews