1988 Ford Bronco II 2.9V-6 from North America


A gamble


Transmission rebuilt at 79,000

Cracked Heads, both sides junked at 86,000.

General Comments:

I like the bronco II, but they do have there problems. I spoke to a mechanic at my local Ford dealer and he told me the same thing I've heard from many different mechanics,"They'll either last you 200,000 miles or 20 miles. The 2.9L is a semi powerful engine, but it has a bad habit of cracked heads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

9th Apr 2008, 19:45

I agree; cracked heads and oil issues among other things.

1988 Ford Bronco II XL 2.9 liter V6 from North America


I'm going to keep this truck forever


The parking brake is stuck. The guy I bought it from said it was like that when he bought as well. The cable is probably rusted to something, because all of the parts are intact.

There was a small coolant leak due to a loose hose clamp. There is a small oil leak at the valve covers and the rear of the transfer case. But I expected there to be a leak somewhere on a seventeen year old truck.

The tailgate doesn't close all the way for some reason. But it locks and stays shut until it is unlocked.

There is a small leak at the top of the windshield due to a little rust on the roof. The clear coat on the roof is almost gone too.

Driver seat mounting bracket is cracked, so the seat wobbles a little.

Rear aftermarket speakers and dome light don't work.

Basically with the addition of a few other parts, all it needs is a small tune up.

General Comments:

This is my first vehicle and I love it! The owner wanted $900 for it, but I bought it for $700.

The engine is running great for a seventeen year old vehicle. The transmission/clutch are both in great condition. The 4wd works perfectly as well.

The interior is very comfortable. I am 5' 11", so I needed something with headroom. This truck has plenty. The seats are also very nice. There are a couple small tears in the vinyl on the doors, but there not very big. So you don't really see them. The dome light doesn't turn on, but I'll live. The truck had a blaupunkt (german made) CD player in it when I bought it. I go to Amsterdam and places where mild theft is abundant, so the detachable CD player face is a nice feature. Someone tried installing larger rear speakers, but they don't work. Probably a small wiring mistake. At first I thought the blower motor needed to be replaced, but after letting the truck warm up a little, the heat worked just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th March, 2005

19th Jul 2005, 14:20

I also have a ford bronco II XLT, I bought it for $500 and I had to put a new alternater in it, a used motor, and a battery, some small leaks, but it works great, starts up everytime, 4 wheel drive, tailgate works perfectly (i was rear ended so I'm getting another tailgate) I love it and plan on keeping it forever, hopefully ill make enough money to fix it, one of my dream cars, and a bronco I is also in my dreams, but I don't have the money for that.

4th Aug 2005, 20:50

Bronco II's are so versaitle too! They will drive through almost anything! A lot of the small problems I listed are either gone, or fixed with very little money.

1988 Ford Bronco II dontknow dontknow from North America


You want my Bronco? You'll have to pay me.. one million dollars! (Bwa HA HA HA!)


Soon, I'll be replacing:

*Rear drive shaft


*Leaking water pump.

Also will get brakes adjusted, and automatic transmission looked at.

The struts for the rear hatch are getting weak, but they will be fine enough for a while.

The seats are getting a bit worn and one back seat won't fold.

It needs a new paint job like you wouldn't believe, and needs some rust patching.

General Comments:

Even if I won a million dollars, I wouldn't replace this one. It would get a lot shinier inside and out, and brought up to 100% mechanically real quick, but it suits me to a 'T'.

I like that it can sit a crew of people, but can handle a lot of cargo, especially since I got roof-racks. I love going to garage sales, and it can accommodate a lot of large and oddly shaped stuff.

I've only owned it for about 8 months and I haven't really done much for it except regular checking of fluids and tire pressure.

It is a bit expensive on fuel, but I need a reliable 4wd, since I live at the end of a pretty gnarly unpaved road in Canada.

Parts won't be too hard to find since my whole family has been Ford-nuts since forever, and my dad's backyard has been described as 'the place where the old Fords go to die'.

I haven't experienced the roll-over thing, but in the prairies they're often referred to as 'Tumbleweeds' for their habit of rolling, especially when hitting a curb after sliding sideways off-angle, which is not unusual over there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

16th Sep 2004, 07:13

You just might be able to get a million for it.

That "dontknow" edition is pretty rare.

9th Nov 2011, 23:56

I am the original poster. It's now 8 years later, and the Bronco still runs, though it is now used only as a logging road, berry-picking transport, owned by my parents. It never seriously failed me, I just wasn't making enough money to afford fixing and maintaining it properly.

Now, I drive a 95 Pathfinder, and I am remembering why I loved my Bronco so much.