1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L V6 from North America


One of the best 4x4's out there


Transmission went a week after it was bought, but the dealer replaced it free of charge.

Radiator leaks, not a large problem though.

Had to replace the brakes.

Four wheel drive stopped working, was easily fixed at minimal cost.

General Comments:

I have owned this Bronco for 5 years now, and it has been great since I bought it. I have had no real major problems with it, and have spent a small amount on repairs and damages. There was some transmission trouble, but that has now been fixed. Also, it is not the best on gas mileage, but it's worth the little bit of extra money.

I take it four wheeling often and it handles beautifully on and off the trails. Many people criticize the Bronco's handling and stability, but I have not had a problem with it yet.

Canadian winters are always tough on cars, wind, snow, and ice are common driving conditions. The four wheel drive handled these conditions with ease as it made winter driving much less stressful.

The interior on the Bronco was very comfortable and is still in mint condition. Installing a CD player is very easy as it fits perfectly into the stock location.

All in all I really enjoy my Bronco II and don't plan on getting rid of it any time soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L (177 cid) from North America


This is an OK beater


A lot of things. The water pump blew out when I first bought it. Valve cover gaskets were next to go. Radiator went out, Brake line blew. Fuel tank replaced as well as the fuel sending unit.I'll tell ya this it was good truck and it served it's purpose.I'll miss it.

General Comments:

This truck is dependable if you put money into it. When I say money I mean lots of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2003

28th May 2008, 20:34

I hear you about lots of money required to sustain the B2. I got mine for $5K and just my repairs added up to over $10K,...engine, transmission for starters, lost count on the other problems. I retired it when the second engine could no longer run on bars leaks... it had a cracked head.

1988 Ford Bronco II XLT 2.9L V6 from North America


It is a nice little truck with some speed to it


The thermostat broke at 159750 miles.

The Seats were replaced before I got it.

A new clutch plate was installed before I got it.

The rear right and left quarter panel has rusted all the way through.

The spare tire rack rusted through and broke off.

The rear door does not open half the time.

General Comments:

I think that my Bronco II has the get up and go when I tell it to, but I am just wondering how much horse power and torque it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

18th Mar 2004, 11:18

Thanks for the power info. Do you know if that is at the flywheel or at the wheels. If it is at the flywheel, how much is at the wheels? If that is at the wheels, how much is at the flywheel?

1988 Ford Bronco II LX 2.9 from North America


I love it!


Headlamps and the battery have been replaced multiple times.

Leaking cylinder head gaskets (replaced twice and they still leak).

Radio has been replaced twice. It's now got a CD player.

Shocks, replaced once.

Water pump, replaced once.

Alternator, replaced once (although this was caused by someone jump-starting the car and then shorting the jumper cables).

High oil pressure caused excessive black exhaust, but this was fixed by a Ford dealer at little cost.

Tie rod ends and radial arm bushings required replacement to correct the non-adjustable camber and caster angles.

Exhaust system has some holes in it, but it's still original.

Ammeter doesn't work (never has).

Back up lights don't work.

General Comments:

This truck has been extremely reliable. The only times it has let me down have been when the battery failed. A working ammeter would presumably have alerted me to this before it became a problem.

I off-road in it, although not obsessively. It has seen me through fairly deep snow (with chains on all 4 wheels), sand and rocks. It's highly maneuverable and fun to drive, although the engine has noticeably less umph than when it was younger. That goes for all of us though, eh? I rarely ride in the back seat, but if you do you will see why it's called a Bronco.

Contrary to the bad press it received, I've always found it to handle admirably. There have been at least three occasions on which I could have died in this car. Two of these required abrupt, evasive swerves. On both occasions the truck handled with great aplomb. There was no indication whatsoever that it was going to flip over. On the third occasion I lost control on a dirt road that was covered in black ice. It span 360 degrees, but I managed to regain control and drive it to safety.

The body, both interior and exterior, is still in good shape. I live in San Diego and have kept it in a garage or car port for most of its life, which no doubt helps. I drive it mostly on weekends, rarely during the week.

The only regular maintenance I do on it is change the engine oil and wash it. Oh, and I change the spark plugs and air filter before the biannual smog tests.

I would be very reluctant to exchange it for one of Ford's newer SUV's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

20th Mar 2004, 08:42

Hi, I just wanted to say I have to agree with you about the little b2.Aside from mine being a little soggy in the engine area mine is doing fine at 180k, no major work as of yet and it's an 88 model, some rust, but hey, I live in Ohio that's inevitable. Keep rollin' :)

7th Feb 2009, 15:04

I just bought my 88 Bronco 2 and was wondering if there were any particulars I should look out for in the ownership and restoration. Any tips would be awesomely appreciated.

8th Feb 2009, 01:27

I have the 88' model, and HONESTLY right now it runs pretty crappy, it needs lifters, and an oil pump, (no ammeter), but other than those two things it runs pretty decent, it has approximately 200,000 on the engine, have replaced the head gaskets, they STILL leak, back-up still work, so it's pretty much a decent SUV... mine is on 33's with 6 inches of lift.