2000 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 10 of 13

2000 Ford Explorer Sport 4.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance32500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Summary:

My worst nightmare!!!

Faults:

I have had the ball joint in the upper control arm on the passenger side replaced at 27,000 miles. That same night I had to bring it back for a grunting noise when turning left. The grease filled boot at the end of the steering column was dry and needed to be greased up. I had the valve springs replaced at 32,200 miles. Ford had the truck for a week to fix that and then I get it back and they put 59 miles on it. They claim it is all part of Quality Check. I didn't even have the car back a week and had to bring it back in. It was running really rough and there was a metal twangy noise coming from the front driver's side.

General Comments:

Very disapointed in it.

I have not had it for 2 years yet and am having all of these problems.

Will never buy another Ford product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2003

18th Dec 2008, 19:49

Well, to be fair, when you buy an 8-year old vehicle with 86,000 miles on it, you don't know what you're getting. The previous owner probably never changed the transmission fluid, never took care of the vehicle, and if you asked them they'd say "This car was great! I never had to do a thing to it!" Plus, you found out it really had been in an accident. You can't blame the vehicle when it had been trashed before you got it. Somebody palmed a wreck off on you, and now you're paying for it.

18th Jan 2009, 08:50

I bought the Explorer 2009 model in Nov 2008. Has been a dream so far. Rides the sand dunes (with reduced air pressure) like a pro!

23rd Jan 2011, 10:59

My Explorer Sport (2000) has 148k on it, and it starts everyday in the winter and summer. I paid 800$ for it 6 months ago, and if it lasts another 2 years, I will be happy. Wish I'd had it years ago. My next new truck will definitely be a Ford, they make the best running American trucks, and the sturdiest work vehicles as well.

2000 Ford Explorer EB 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65500 miles
Most recent distance66094 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

A black Ford nightmare

Faults:

First thing to go wrong was the display on the radio went blank. Then three days later the check engine light came on it turned out to be manifold pressure sensor. Every since I had it the valves have been rattling even after using octane booster and buy 92 octane gas. To top it all of the ABS light came on last night. All this has accrued in lees than three weeks. Should have kept my other vehicle. This is my first and last explorer.

General Comments:

This vehicle has problems and you need deep pockets to keep it running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2003

29th Jul 2004, 01:08

At about 60K miles my stereo display went out. That's the only problem I've had. But does anybody Know a fix?

8th Aug 2004, 05:34

Truly, it seems there have been many troubles with the stereo "light", I own a mustang and have had similar troubles, however, I installed an aftermarket Sony CD for about $175 and it's just great.

2000 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Poor suspension, very noisy vehicle and expensive.

Faults:

I purchased the car from Ford dealer as previous demo. Had full warranty, but had problems from the start. Speedometer has been repaired three times at dealer and still makes grinding noise starting at 35 MPH. All front end ball joints have been replaced and was never driven off road. Chassis has been very noisy since going over 25000 miles. Have had tires, transmission, and bearings checked. Ford unable to resolve. Seems to be constant problem with the Explorer as I have had three of them.

General Comments:

This is the last Ford Explorer I will purchase. I will consider Jeep or other American manufacturer. Ford dealership service was not satisfactory.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 50 reviews