2000 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2000 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This is good vehicle just needs a longer warranty

Faults:

I have owned this vehicle for 1 year now and have put 3 transmissions in it. Also I have had all the wheel bearings replaced.

General Comments:

The warranty for this vehicle is not enough they need to up the mileage on all warranties, 36,000 miles is not enough time to find out if there is something going to go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2002

9th Feb 2003, 09:54

I have a 2000 Eddie Bauer Explorer 4x2 and the transmission is gone at 72,000 miles. This is the first and last Ford product I will ever purchase. I am in the limousine business and as most people know the larger vehicles such and the Excursion are in demand for limo service. I will now, after this experience, go to the GMC Yukon Stretch.

I have called several dealerships and even went to the so called customer service line. The response I get from Ford is "the best we can offer you is 90-days same as cash for the repair". Yeah...right! Stick a fork in me...I'm done with Ford!!

15th Nov 2004, 15:43

I too have had my transmission replaced three times since I purchased my vehicle used. It had 32,000 miles when I purchased it and my first transmission was shortly after the warranty expired. It has been very frustrating for such an expensive vehicle to be so unreliable.

Now I am having problems with freeze plugs (one completely blown out and replaced at the bargain price of $250.00) and overheating. My check engine light comes on frequently with no explanation.

2000 Ford Explorer XLS 4.0 OHV V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 OHV V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance21500 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A good practical vehicle for everyday life

Faults:

The Rear Wiper motor quit.

General Comments:

I was impressed with its comfort and the ease of driving, not a truck-like ride like I expected.

The heater warms up extremely fast and the air conditioner will freeze you out.

The visibility for sight seeing and backing up is very good.

Being a mother of two young sons, the cup holders in the rear and front were a blessing.

Storage/hauling space was great. Hauled everything from Christmas trees to lumber.

However, passing another vehicle on a 2- lane highway took a lot more room than I expected. Which I suspect is probably normal with most SUV's.

Plus, the gas mileage was pretty poor, only around 20 mpg (at best) on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

20th May 2004, 14:41

Twenty miles per gallon is NOT poor fuel economy at all for a vehicle in the class of a four door Explorer. I've gotten as much as 22 MPG on a tankful with my '99 XLS, and I'm delighted when it does that well. Overall, my mileage is very comparable to the mileage I got with a 2001 Isuzu Rodeo, which was a considerably smaller vehicle.

I have noticed that the Explorer's mileage increases noticeably when burning 89 octane gas, as opposed to 87.

27th Oct 2007, 11:58

I own a 1999 Isuzu Rodeo L.S.E two wheel drive 3.2 D.O.H.C engine. It has 165,450 miles and has had the intake gaskets replaced, the air conditioning compressor replaced, and the faulty fuel sending unit. I used to have the oil consumption problem, but after using Castrol 10w-40 oil with Marvel Mystery oil, it has completely stopped. I also did a throttle body clean and changed the spark plugs, fuel filter and installed a K&N air filter plus a Surge Performance chip. Other than these few problems, this Rodeo runs extremely well. I can't believe how much torque and acceleration this Rodeo has now. The K&N filter and chip is AMAZING! Gas mileage is fantastic. 26-29 on the highway. and 16 in town!

28th Oct 2007, 10:40

My 2002 Explorer with the 4.0 L SOHC gets 19-20 mpg in city driving and 24-27 mpg on the highway. No complaints there.

2nd Nov 2008, 20:51

The one in this review is a OHV engine, not SOHC. OHV engines always consume more fuel with less power.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 50 reviews