2000 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2000 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 V6 EFI from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired39100 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles

Summary:

For the most part, a very big disappointment

Faults:

I had to replace the transmission at only 40,000 miles, which I thought was absolutely ridiculous.

Seems to be a never ending money pit, with little, but frequent, services needed.

Even though I'd say most of the parts that needed to be replaced were routine, I didn't expect to have to replace this many this early (serpentine belt, belt tensioner, etc.)

Car has an insane amount of rattles when driving down the road, which is very irritating.

General Comments:

This car is, for the most part, a waste of money.

The car does not seem to be screwed together very well.

It is pretty good in the snow, and it is reasonably safe.

All things considered, I would not buy another Explorer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2005

31st Aug 2005, 12:30

I absolutely agree with you. I have had my 2000 explorer for 4 weeks and have had the serpentine belt, tensioner, pulley (twice) changed and still this vehicle makes crazy noises. Is it true this is why they call it the Ford Explosion? Lemon for sure.

2000 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 V6 EFI from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired39100 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Even though this car is okay, it is still a never ending money pit

Faults:

Due to slipping gears, I replaced the transmission at only 40,000 miles.

Car has a tremendous number of rattles while driving, does not seem to be screwed together very well.

General Comments:

This car seems to be a never-ending money pit. After having the vehicle for only a year and a half, I am growing extremely tired of putting money into this vehicle. Even though I purchased this vehicle used, I did not expect that it would be this unreliable. The Explorer drives reasonably well for the most par, all things considered. Nevertheless, I do not think that I will purchase another Explorer or another vehicle from Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

2000 Ford Explorer North Face 4.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33260 miles
Most recent distance35200 miles
Previous carFord Galaxy

Summary:

A great experience!!

Faults:

Bit of a squeal from handbrake, but went away. needs very hard pull to apply handbrake.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, but a bit bumpy at times. lovely smooth v6 engine, loads of torque, lovely sound, but very juicy!

Love the car. Great trim and equipment. fuel economy is the only drawback, but not much worse than my galaxy - last car - a 2.3 petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2005

2000 Ford Explorer XLS V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

I have found this vehicle to be somewhat disappointing

Faults:

The gas gage always reads 3/4 full, even when I have filled it to overflowing. Used car dealer I purchased it from says they replaced the fuel sensor, but it did not correct the problem. Also, vehicle is very hard to fill with fuel. It must be pumped in very slowly, and it continually trips the fuel nozzle.

The rear wiper never fully wipes the rear window, only a portion of it. I have replaced the blade several times and also had the wiper arm adjusted, it always goes back to not wiping the whole window.

There is a lot of unexplained noise coming from the front end, a kind of groaning rattle. But when I've brought this problem up, nothing is found wrong and the noises haven't been identified. I feel it may have something to do with the steering, as I can almost feel it coming from the steering column.

General Comments:

I do like this model, as far as the interior goes.

It handles very well, is easy to maneuver in parking lots, etc.

I am not sure I would buy this make or model again, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 09:03

I had that problem with a used caravan that I bought I finally looked underneath and found that the fuel filler tube was crushed, check that on your vehicle, may have been done during a transportation move or moves, good luck.

2000 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Should be an embarassment to Ford. Piece of junk

Faults:

This question should be what hasn't gone wrong with this car.

The Ball joints went right after my warranty was up. Ford still picked up a portion of the bill.

I have replaced inner and outer tired rods twice.

Exhaust manifold breaks every year. First two times was covered under the warranty but the last one Ford refused to pick up even though they had repaired it twice in two years. I paid $1k to repair that.

Light in dash saying "Door Adjar" is stuck on.

Radio stopped lighting up after about 40K miles. From what I hear that happens quite frequently in Fords.

Just replaced Wheel Bearings at 80K miles.

Now I've been told that the Timing belt is off and that I need a number of repairs relating to that.

Rear wiper sometimes works sometimes doesn't. When it does work it only cleans half the window. Have had this replaced as well.

General Comments:

I understand wear and tear on cars and occasional visits to the garage, but I have been faced with costly repairs since I purchased the truck. This wasn't so bad when It was underwaranty, but since the warranty has been up I have spent thousands and thousands of dollars on repairs in addition to the wear and tear ones that you have to make (i.e. tired, breaks, etc)

Believe me I do like the truck. It has nice pickup and nice looks. Unfortunately it is a piece of junk : (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

19th Mar 2006, 00:54

If you think you have problems, trade it for a Chevy blazer. You will pay double to get your explorer back after a month of blazer ownership.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 50 reviews