1989 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1989 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 4x4 4.9L inline 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.9L inline 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance149500 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Awesome truck, super reliable, good transportation

Faults:

Replaced alternator twice.

Did front ball joints.

Seat is torn.

Replaced water pump.

Freeze plug went out.

A/C stopped working a long time ago.

Replaced heater core.

Standard things for a 20 year old truck.

General Comments:

Hugely reliable, tons of torque, big and loud.

Gets decent MPG, pretty easy to drive, takes a ton of abuse and can tow a mountain; well maybe not a mountain, but certainly a small hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2009

1989 Ford F150 Lariat 5.0 302 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance198255 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

I will keep rebuilding it, since it's a part of the family

Faults:

Ball-joints have gone out on it once a year, eats tires in 15k, intake valve blown, cracked exhaust manifolds, paint started coming off in 4 years, and blown head gaskets at 198000.

Stock suspension parts too light for the hauling we do, so it was replaced with F250 parts.

General Comments:

It's been a great truck, but uses a lot of gas. I believe the best mileage I ever got was 13 with the granny 4-speed and 3.55 gears.

I got this truck in 2000 from my father after it blew up, and have since had the engine rebuilt and added fiber glass fenders to give it a more aggressive look and to improve its performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2009

1989 Ford F150 Custom 300 inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 300 inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance254000 kilometres

Summary:

Built Ford Tough

Faults:

Rust around rear wheel.

General Comments:

This truck is gotta be one of the best trucks you can possibly get. The engine just keeps on going and has enough torque to get any job done. The truck will go anywhere with no problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2008

1989 Ford F150 XLT 4.9L I6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.9L I6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108318 miles
Most recent distance108326 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Hooked up

Faults:

Nothing.

Everything is nice except the bumper is a little crooked, because it has been hit, but it isn't dented, and you can barely tell it is crooked until you look at it close up.

General Comments:

This truck is very strong. It has a 4.9L I6 manual and a 9inch lift kit, with big offroad tires and professional shocks.

Everything is great. It never got stuck, and everybody keeps looking at how big it is when I come up beside them.

It isn't fast, but it is very strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

1989 Ford F150 Custom 302 ci from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 302 ci Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

Not F. ound O.n R. oad D.ead yet

Faults:

Nothing that wasn't all ready wrong with it.

>You have to hold the switch for left signal light to work. (inexpensive plastic part in steering column I'm told)

>5 speed transmission sometimes doesn't want to go into first gear, I have to put it in another gear first then go back to first.I'm guessing it is worn bushings in the shifter. Has any one else had this problem? and how hard is it to fix?

General Comments:

This is my first Ford truck (2WD) It was to cheap ($1500) to pass up. The old thing runs like a top other than the shifter. The truck is candy apple red (I believe) with factory wagon wheels and chrome bumpers. The body is very straight just had some minor surface rust over the rear wheels. The bench seat is tad hard for my liking, but she goes down the road nice and straight. The transmission whines in all gears except fourth, which can be annoying if you don't have the radio on. Gas mileage is very good. Although I haven't checked it, I would bet it is 20+/Imp Gal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2007

13th Mar 2007, 10:13

Check the oil in the transmission now! My 84 was acting in the same way. The transmission was a quart low. This is about one third of the total oil in the unit. As make certain that the retaining collar on the shift lever is screwed down tight. The noise can mean there is bearing and gear damage from oil starvation. With the oil kept full it will keep going a long long time.

13th Mar 2007, 11:22

Conratulations on such a great truck at such a great price. It is so low mileage that it should be good for another 10 years of use. My family has put over 300,000 miles on Fords with no problems at all. They are by far the best built truck on the planet (and most automotive writers agree). You don't become the world's best selling truck for half a century unless you're doing it right.

13th Mar 2007, 17:39

First probably isn't synchronized, either come to a complete stop before shifting to first, or double clutch it, meaning push the clutch in twice quickly in and out and then shift to first. It helps to get the gears to mesh more smoothly.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 21 reviews