1993 Ford F150 XLT 5.0L V8 from North America


Best truck on the road


When I got it it would occasionally run hot under a trailer load, and I'm not sure if it was just and inaccurate gauge or not, so I went ahead and completely rebuilt the motor so I would know the history on it. I put in a mechanical oil press. and water temp. gauge so I would know that I was getting a correct reading. But other than that and routine maintenance (i.e. oil, brakes, air filter, fluids, belt, etc.) it runs perfect.

General Comments:

This truck is pretty fast on a strait away (i.e. 110 mph+), and has great acceleration for a truck and great torque. It is very luxurious and the Lumbar Captain seats are really great. It's just a great all around truck, farm truck, work truck, or luxury truck. I would suggest getting one except for the gas mileage which is 14c/18h which ain't bad, but with today's gas prices...?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2005

10th Jul 2009, 00:01

How did you know that the truck was doing "110mph+"? Doesn't the speedo only register ~ 90mph?


10th Sep 2013, 05:57

Yes, it only goes to 85 on the speedometer. I have a 1993 F150 XLT, and the fastest I got it to was 80-85 if I was pushing it.

1993 Ford F150 XLT 5.8L V8 from North America


The best never rest!


Nothing at all. I've done maintenance only, oil changes and 1 set of front brakes.

General Comments:

This is a great truck. I was reluctant to get a 5.8L, but am very happy I have it after owning it. It gets me better fuel economy than my last truck with a 5.0L because I don't have to "have my foot in it" to get where I am going. It pushes snow like an animal. It tows with ease too! My truck is fully loaded and the lumbar seat is very comfortable. The only thing I would get different is electro shift 4X4. Although trouble free it scares me!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

1993 Ford F150 XLT 5.0 V8 from North America


A super all round pick-up truck


Had to replace U-joints and Ball joints at 120,000 miles.

Rusted quickly over the rear wheel wells.

Fuel efficiency is a little rough, with about 10 miles per gallon city and 14 miles per gallon highway.

General Comments:

This is a super reliable truck. It has never left me stranded anywhere!

The little 5 liter V8 is quick when it needs to be and will tackle any load given to it.

Truck hauls well and has plenty of low end for towing horse trailers, campers etc.

It handles very well for a truck of it's size. It has minimal lean on turns and rides like a Cadillac. It also has no give in braking. This truck stops in a straight line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2004

1993 Ford F150 XLT 4.9L Inline 6 from North America


Excellent and reliable work truck and daily driver


Needs new universal joints.

Needs new ball joints in front at $300 per side.

Needed new distributer.

Rusted through in many spots.

Needs new clutch or maybe just an adjustment.

Vents are cheap and broken except for the one on the left side of the steering wheel.

Leaked oil from the trans, needed new gasket.

General Comments:

Theres no crazy bumps in this truck, it rides better than a luxury car.

5 speed manual trans is bulletproof.

In-line 6 has a good deal of horsepower and very high torque.

At 110mph it handled very well.

Interior has held up extremely well for its mileage and age.

Extremely poor gas mileage which could be fixed.

Am mildly unhappy with the open differential when truck to go in the grass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

9th Jul 2004, 16:35

Keep it maintained and with that engine should give you 300,000+ miles.

31st Aug 2009, 19:38

If you stop driving at 110 mph, you'll get better mileage, and probably live longer too.

1993 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 from North America


An owners dream


The gas tanks have leaked the only problems I've have and had to replace.

General Comments:

This truck is the most dependable vehicle I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2004