1993 Ford F150 XLT 5.0 from North America


A great buy


The oil pan gasket has a slight leak. I will replace it if it gets worse.

The alternator and starter have been replaced.

The fuel pump in the rear tank will only work for about 30 minutes. Then the truck will run, but will not receive sufficient fuel to move the truck (I have replaced the cap).

General Comments:

This truck has been very dependable and I hope it continues to be so. I plan to get at least another 100,000 miles from it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1993 Ford F150 XL Short Bed 409 300 ci inline six cylinder from North America


A great hauler with high torque


At approximately 87,000 miles I had to replace the rear axle. Dealer said it was not broken or anything, just there was "some" corrosion.

Other than that nothing went wrong.

General Comments:

Good reliable hauler.

Until a drunk man hit the truck, it was pretty with the tall hopcap.

Don't drink and drive, it's bad for you and for my truck.

More torque than you could ever think of needing in low gears, and cruises like a sedan in fifth gear, it goes along nicely on the freeways.

Handles great, minimal roll in turns.

Snow, ha!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2001

1993 Ford F150 XL 4.9L 300ci inline 6 from North America


Very reliable work horse, will last until it rusts out


Oil pan gasket replaced at 145,000 that was an expensive job ($330).

As preventive maintenance I replaced the manual transmission fluid at 145,000 also.

Other than that, simply routine servicing (air filter, oil changes, coolant flush, etc.)

General Comments:

Engine performance with the 4.9L 300ci in-line 6 is excellent. Engine is strong in low gears and great cruising in 5th gear. Very smooth and reliable performance.

5 speed manual transmission is still going strong at 147,000 with all original components.

The only thing I would do is buy bucket seats instead of the bench seat, and purchase the XLT model (for appearance),

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

1993 Ford F150 Pickup 4.9 300 inline 6 from North America


Got my moneys worth


At 43,000 a slave cylinder was leaking, so I replaced it myself.

General Comments:

The truck is very reliable, takes a beating and keeps on going. No problem carrying any loads of weight that I put it. I still drive it today and every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

17th Jan 2001, 20:06

Hear, hear.....

Bought this truck with 6000 miles and have not had a factory/service requirement obligation that I could not take care of myself.

Changed the fluids!

That's all.

Mike Maddux

Hawi. Hawaii

25th Mar 2001, 09:38

I agree whole heartily with you both. I also have a 1993 F-150 short bed. Best dependable truck I ever owned. 126,193 miles 7 1/2 years later and I'm still using the original battery (borrowed Time I know). I did go through a period of abusing the old girl during the construction of my house, but she never faltered.

6th Jun 2001, 22:21

I totally agree. I own an 1993 F150 with a 302 and it has 165000 miles on it. It's still running very strong. Have never lost to any Chevy truck in anything. And still no problems.

21st Mar 2003, 11:06

I Have a 93 F-150 with 210,000 miles, I drive it every day. I had a low oil pressure probelem & had to replace the oil pump, but I'm right back in business.

24th Nov 2004, 13:06

I am an 18 year old kid with a F-150 with the 5.0. This truck has taken all the abuse that I am able to give it and it still keeps running with 245,000 miles on it. I am the second owner, when I bought it she had 210,000 miles on her. Can't complain its been a great truck though its 2 wheel drive its been treated as if it were 4 wheel drive, even out pulled a Toyota 4x4 at Perry Mud Bogs last year he just could not make it through where the Ford did. Though lots have been replaced, trans,water pump, power steering pump, and other odds and ends this truck has never had anything done to the motor, not one thing has been done no rebuild nothing, and it doesn't even smoke.

23rd Sep 2012, 23:56

Hi Michael.

Your phone number was disconnected, and so I thought that I would try to reach this way. Give me a call or send an email to me if you are the Mike Maddux that used to live in Portland.

503-224-2152 jim@jrsportland.com.

Jim Johnson.