1994 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 10 of 12

1994 Ford Fiesta Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance62500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova SR 1.4

Summary:

XR2i performance without the insurance

Faults:

Braking system (that's everything from the pads to the handbrake cable) needed replacing after owning the car for 4 months.

Front and rear suspension dampers needed replacing to pass the MOT in June.

Exhaust is pants. Cannot wait till my insurance company allows me to get a Stainless Steel one without charging me the earth.

Slight oil leak but cannot determine where from.

General Comments:

Because of the limits to the wheel arch I could only have 195/45/15 tyres on my new 15 inch alloys, these tyres are incredibly expensive (nearly 3 times as much as 195/50/15) and also make the ride very hard.

Also a stupid parcel shelf that you cannot fit speakers onto.

On the upside the car is a little pocket rocket. It is not noted as a Boy-Racer car, and the insurance reflects this. It can hold its own with similar engined XR2i's but you don't need a morgage to pay the premiums.

It is cheaper to buy than a Saxo VTR, (which has same BHP and insurance etc) but you look more individual in the Si. The VTR has become as common as a road cone.

The seats are immense. The only thing I want to do to them is re-trim them in leather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2000

13th Feb 2001, 05:22

Alright mate, have you got any tips on getting the engine moving faster for a cheap price?

24th Oct 2002, 09:59

"The V T R has become as common as a road cone."

*ahem* and that's coming from someone who drives a Fiesta.

L O L.

1st Mar 2004, 10:33

VTRs are as common as muck. They're around every corner, a bit like the Nova. Get yourself an Si; it's a Bentley compared to those things.

17th Mar 2005, 14:16

There is no way XR2's/Si are common place, they hold more respect and have so much history. Saxo's are the 'mummys boy' cars. People that own XR2 etc love to work and build on them were as most saxo mods are done at garages!

1994 Ford Fiesta Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Nice little run around!!

Faults:

Roll bar bushes needed changing.

Off side front suspention leg leaking oil.

Front crank shaft oil seal leak.

Bonnet catch snapped.

Air flow meter missing!!!! Still investigating?

General Comments:

I was the proud lady owner of an old 1600i Ford Orion and had no trouble with it at all, but unfortunately the body gave in and it was time to treat myself to my little dream car.

After correcting most of the faults listed above I am still not convinced that the new car is as fast as the Orion, which I would have thought it should be, but perhaps if the air flow meter wasn't missing it would be!!!!

Something to get checked I think !!!!

Would anyone know why the air meter would have been bypassed or taken out?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

6th Jun 2002, 19:21

Boy Racer must have had it before, and had standard airbox removed then refitted to sell, he must have had a cheap performance filter, and the standard fitting was different, so he maybe just took the pliers out... sorry babes. These boy racers will do anything to save a few bob.

8th Apr 2005, 15:47

Hi there, possibly what the other guys have said, but more than like air flow meter was faulty and was removed to prevent flat spot acceleration or running problems like mine was having, I unplugged the air flow meter and all was fine, but stripping down the meter and spraying with wd40 fixed my flow meter problem, there you go... regards jody, Leominster, Herefordshire.

1994 Ford Fiesta Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

As standard, a good womans car. As modified, awesome

Faults:

Not much really. Clutch cable snapped at around 50,000 miles and my arches were bubbling too, but due to the 6 year corrosion warranty that Ford supply, I had them repaired for free. Also the window wiper stalk went around the same time. Had a new one fitted for £60 which isn't so bad.

General Comments:

Attractive car with naff wheels and interior design is sound. After purchasing a top quality Pioneer CD disc changer, a brand new set of 16 inch TSW Evo R's, a Pipercross performance air filter, and a Superchip totalling £1800, the car is pretty much perfect with a hint of power resembling that dodgy film "Beauty and the Beast! Si rules!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2000

12th Feb 2001, 07:25

What's your 0-60 and top end after spending the money?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 42 reviews