2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 34 of 45

2000 Ford Focus ZTS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Big Mistake!!!

Faults:

The car has had multiple recalls

The molding has come off several times

The brakes needed replacing after 18000 including drums, shoes& pads costing me $600.

Now with just 21,000 miles my transmission is gone.

General Comments:

I would never recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2002

2000 Ford Focus ZTS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70099 miles

Summary:

It's a car with problems!!!

Faults:

In 10-16-01, after just having the Ford Focus for one year, the car started having problems. Red brake light comes on, brake line is leaking.

Then on 4-18-02 R&R speed sensor right rear, and exciter ring automatic brake system.

Also in 1-17-02, steering/suspension, remove bearing and press in new bearing, and bench job for right rear wheel.

And in 3-20-02, installed new clutch, new clutch disc, pressure plate, release bearing. Rebuild standard transmission-seals, bearings, synchros, 3RD & 4TH shift fork.

Finally in 8-12-02, installed new lever shaft.

General Comments:

I just want people to know it is not a good idea to buy a Ford Focus. Me and my family are low-income. We nearly can afford the high car note, let alone afford to pay the problems we have with the car. When we pay for those problems, we don't pay the car note, so you can just imagine how much trouble it gives us.

It's so bad I'm considering an attorney.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

7th May 2003, 10:42

I would have to agree with you on the Ford Focus being a bad decision. I am a single mom and I purchased a 2000 Focus. After just 4 months the anti theft device became anti owner and would not allow me to start my car. $486.00. Not bad because it was covered on the bumper to bomber warranty. But give a moment to tell you about the problems I have had since the warranty ran out. Every now and then the car will just shut off while I am on the freeway as if I am running out of gas. I have had the car to the dealer as well as other mechanics and no one has a clue what is wrong with the car. Keep in mind; it does not do this all the time, just when ever she feels like it. I had to replace the hub bearings in the front left tires. 4 months later, the hub bearings in the front right needed replacing. Now it sounds as though my struts are going bad, but that is the lease of my worries because my clutch is going out and they tell me I need to replace a timing belt that runs about $600.00 to replace. Again I am a single mother working 1 full time job to support my son and I, and this is above and beyond ridiculous. A car payment, which I am always late on due to all the repairs I have to make, plus the cost of repairs. I am fed up. If you are seriously considering a lawsuit, I would love to participate. Ford should be ashamed of them selves

tsmith@smithdda.com.

2000 Ford Focus zx3 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 505

Summary:

Great balance of comfort, performance and utility

Faults:

No failures.

General Comments:

This car offers performance, handling, comfort and features far in excess of it's price (under $14,000 new). The front seat is adjustable for hight as well as fore-aft travel and seat back angle. The steering is quick, exceptionally accurate with good feel and the turning radius is tight, giving an overall nimble perception. The car handles well with minimal torque steer and front wheel drive understeer is not excessive. Seats are good for the class, but not exceptional. With the rear seat folded, the cargo capacity is impressive.

My only complaints are too many recalls and a somewhat stiff rear suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

2000 Ford Focus ZTS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance16300 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

American manufacturers can't build cars

Faults:

You name it.

Endless, endless recalls.

Weather stripping loosened on passenger door and flooded the passenger foot well after a rainstorm. This was an undetectable fault until the dealer found out what went wrong.

Right rear door started "creaking" for no reason. Dealer said there was frame damage (!) even though the car had never been in an accident. Fixed under warranty. Still baffled by that one.

Dealer keeps breaking things. Scratched the A pillar and now the passenger seat belt doesn't retract properly after they fixed ANOTHER recall.

The right rear door/window sounds like it's open all the time. Very shoddily built.

General Comments:

After two years in Europe (prior to being sold in the US) I assumed they would have fixed all the bugs. Boy was I wrong. This thing is the most unreliable car I have owned in years. To add insult to injury the dealer network is awful, they continue to damage the car after fixing yet another problem, and EVERY repair seems to take at least two or three trips to the dealer to get sorted out.

This car has soured me on ever buying American, much less Ford, again. The cheapest parts are used. It's like Ford thinks their customers are idiots. I cannot believe this junk heap is the best selling car in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2002

10th Jul 2002, 13:53

Well, in Europe, they have -- it's a pretty good car, I just can't understand why perfectly good cars in Europe like the Focus, Mondeo (Contour/Mystique in the US), Golf, and Vento/Bora (Jetta in the US) aren't as dependable when assembled in America/Mexico. Granted their reliability is nowhere near the Japanese, almost all reviews for Focus, Golf and Jetta coming from America are all negative. Same with the Chrysler/Jeep products outside America -- not much bad news about them, but then again ours is built in Austria.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews