2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 33 of 45

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 ZETEC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 ZETEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carSubaru DL

Summary:

Drives very nicely, but is a piece of junk.

Faults:

I had a wheel bearing recall twice.

I had a trim item recall.

I had a recall on the fuel pump sender unit.

The dealer had to replace the clutch and pressure plate at 22,000 miles.

They had to replace the ingnition switch, as it would not turn with the key inserted.

I have had to replace the tires twice, but I drive aggressively.

The steering wheel came loose at 24,000 miles and had to be tightened up.

I have two bent rims so now it vibrates at speeds over 60 mph.

The cigarette lighter power socket has never worked.

The rear center seatbelt only can pulled out when it wants to.

I hear a strange clunk when I turn the wheel full clock when I am not moving.

The lever to push down the passenger seat broke off.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of junk.

I will never, ever buy another American car again.

The car has been pretty good for the last 30,000 miles, but the first 20,000 were hell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2002

16th Nov 2002, 23:06

Did you ever figure out how to fix the seat back recliner handle? Mine snapped off too and I don't want to pay an arm and a leg to get it fixed.

- jholman56@hotmail.com.

24th Apr 2003, 20:39

My last two cars have been Mitsubishi products and have been wonderful cars. I was in the position of buying a new 93 Shadow instead of my first Mitsu, but thankfully I made the right decision! As for my second Mitsu product, I didn't even give the "big 3" a second thought. It was either the Mitsubishi or a Civic. I got the Mitsubishi for far less than the Honda. No Neons, Focus, or Crapaliers for me!! It's a shame that the US car makers still haven't gotten the message with their small cars... GM has been trying since Corvair... Ford since Pinto...

2000 Ford Focus SE 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126 kilometres
Most recent distance128456 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Should never have been built

Faults:

Have had to change tires at every 25,000 to 35,000km. Even after numerous wheel alignments.

Vehicle is on its fourth fuel pump. Only the first one was done under warranty. Have had to shell out $700.00 to $800.00 for every replacement after that.

Still has tendency to stall or lose power on warm days. Dealer tells me there is nothing wrong with engine, everything checks out fine.

Cruise control cable was changed under a recall. Cruise has never worked properly since recall. After setting speed, car will drop 10 - 15 km before cruise catches. Also with hard acceleration cruise cable will unhook from throttle. Again Dealer states everything checks out fine.

Trunk very often will not open from release on dash, have to use trunk opener on remote.

Paint on front air dam started peeling at 72,000 Km.

Anti theft radio panel pops out on its own. Started at 62,000 km.

Will not be covered under warranty, as per dealer. Is now held there with duct tape.

Plastic hub caps were totally broken or cracked after 30,000 Km.

Way too many recalls for a number 1 selling car.

General Comments:

I have had a Cougar and two Aerostars in the past and never had a stitch of problems. So I was never worried about buying a Ford product again. I'm sorry to say this Focus will be the last Ford product I will ever own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

9th Sep 2002, 17:12

Focus, the worst car on the road. My problems started with a oil burning smell. One year later I have now first had the transmission rebuilt under warranty. (cob job) Thirteen thousand miles later the transmission went again, now it had to be replaced. The engine fan wasn't working there for causing my car to stall and overheat. Head gasket had to be replaced, safety sway bar under the car had to be replaced not to mention the eight recalls the were poorly done. Three of them still aren't corrected. I am fed up and maybe us Fords Focus owners who have Ford Focuses that don't run can all get together and get Ford involved. Because as of now I don't know what to do. And believe me I didn't even begin to tell you about my service experiences.

9th Sep 2002, 19:44

My first car was a Ford Focus Se coupe. I loved it. It was a good car. I never had any problems with it. I had the car for two years. I would own another one if I could.

24th Mar 2003, 22:42

The focus was my first car. I bought the 2000 used in 2001. I've had so many problems which include transmission, and brakes. I never heard of a car that needed to go in for service so many times in one month because of the brakes. I also have a problem with the trunk opening using the dashboard button. on top of that my driver's seat has fallen back a couple inches from doing nothing... explain that one because I can't figure that out.

26th Apr 2003, 06:17

Tires do need changed very regularly on this car. Seems to burn rubber.

Did quite well on an advanced driving course that I did.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews