2000 Ford Focus LX from North America


A wonderful car at a wonderful price


The only problem that I have experienced was at the car wash, somehow my antenna's seal around the base failed and my car leaked water into the interior through my dome light.

Nothing else has gone wrong, and the dealer had no problem fixing it. I have yet to experience any other problems or difficulty with my car, and I doubt that they will happen.

The Focus' performance is wonderful!

I have just recently bought the vehicle and am enjoying it very much. I feel that it was a wonderful buy and investment.

General Comments:

The Focus is quick and sleek.

I enjoy the tight turning radius and feel in control when I drive the car.

This car can go fast when needed without any hesitation or stalling.

(I know other people with automatic transmissions and they tend to stall.)

The 2000 Ford Focus LX is a great buy for the money and I recommend one to anyone who is looking for a compact sedan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 DOHC Zetec from North America


The best car in it's class and an outstanding value


Brake return spring broke shortly after taking delivery. This did not affect brake performance, but the brake light was always on.

Jammed the shifter linkage during a drag race at just over 16,000 miles.

Left rear wheel bearing failed causing wheel lockup at 18,000 miles.

General Comments:

Not perfect, but a great car, performance is above average, handling isn't class leading it's class dominating.

Interior room, design as well as fit and finish are superb.

This car is without a doubt the best in in it's class, I would (and do) recommend the car to others.

I attribute the problems with the car to first year glitches, my next car will likely be another Focus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

2nd Mar 2005, 15:49

The problem with the Focus line is the same problem with the other two of the big three in North America: Great launches followed by excessive cost cutting. It doesn't help that the US economy tanked around 2000 and Ford and the others went after their supply base with a vengeance to control costs. This contributed to terrible quality problems.

24th Aug 2005, 10:38

The Ford Focus has been around since 1998 in Europe and form it's launch date, there were no problems with the car. There should be no 1st year glitches.

Ford Motor Company should be ashamed of themselves for not building the car to the same standard as the European Focus, but then again most US/Mexico made vehicles are nearly always sub-standard compared to European/Japanese made vehicles. Just look at the Early 2000's Volkswagen Jetta.

I am now considering suing Ford Motor Company through Small Claims to get my money back for a failed Ignition Switch/Cylinder which should have been recalled 5 years ago.

2000 Ford Focus from North America


I've had a recall on the windshield.

I've had to go back to the dealer numerous amounts of times for the brakes.

I've had a recall on the Axel.

I've had a defective seatbelt.

I've had to have a new ignition put in because the key wouldn't go in.

General Comments:

This car is a serious piece of junk.

However the radio is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

11th Feb 2003, 00:25

ZTS - It's french for zee total piece fo you know what.

After just one week of owning a focus, the accelerator cable came off. Then one power window had to be fixed. Then an oxygen sensor had to be replaced. Then the radio had to be fixed. The lumbar support broke, and a loose air vent. Now the transmission is leaking. When will it stop? This is my first American car I've purchased and probably the last.

2000 Ford Focus SE (Sport Package) 2.0 Zetec from North America


Nice Family car with sporty style and performance


22,000 Overheating Problem (Ford Claims to have fixed it, but it still overheats in traffic?)

64,000 Check Engine Light (Low Battery Voltage)

General Comments:

2000 Ford Focus SE with Sport Package.

16" Wheels

2.0 Zetec 130 Hp / 135 Torque.

The car is very roomy, nice style, great performance, although the low end torque could use a little boost.

The Performance is just as good if not better than the Honda Civic. More Toque!

Good Gas Mileage.

Many aftermarket parts to boost power and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002