2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 36 of 45

2000 Ford Focus SE 4 cylinder, 2.0L Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder, 2.0L Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles

Summary:

Despite the numerous problems, its a good car, but I would NEVER buy another!!

Faults:

I've replaced the battery at 22,000 miles.

I've replaced the Cassette deck 3 times.

I've replaced the brakes/rotors at least 2 or 3 times.

The weather stripping around the doors & windows is loose. Also, the weather stripping around the headlights is completely off.

I've had to replace the driver's seat cushioning.

The car would start slowing down, jerking, and then eventually shutting off. This has lead to the computer being re-programmed twice.

I've had the passenger head rest replaced the first week I bought the car.

General Comments:

Besides the numerous recalls, I have found my focus to be a good car. It has an unusual amount of room in it for both the driver & the passengers.

Although I've had many problems concerning the actual power & performance of the car, I've found that when running strong, the Focus has a great acceleration.

The tight suspension makes it easy to handle at high speeds exceeding 60 miles per hour.

When the radio works, the Focus has an excellent sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

7th Aug 2004, 19:32

The hesitation and stalling is most likely the result of the fuel pump, you most likely know this by now (it's been recalled). It will stall on right turns done under acceleration.

2000 Ford Focus Zetec 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

The finest a to b car in the real world

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car has been thrashed from new, it comes back for more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2002

2000 Ford Focus Ghia Hatchback ESP 1.6 petrol from Turkey

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance13500 kilometres
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Spectacular and outstanding

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I wish it was equipped with front fog lamps and board computer as standard.

The car's very generous in space - it can easily seat up to 5 people.

Engine performance, road grip and braking power is very well.

The gearbox operates smoothly.

The styling is attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2002

2000 Ford Focus LX from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

It is a lemon all the way around, it's not worth the price they charge

Faults:

The key would not go into the switch to start the car.

The breaks make the worst screeching noise I have ever heard (it has been in the shop 2 times for this and it's still not fixed).

The car shakes when you get it up to 55 mph, and the dealer told me it was because all 4 tires had flat spots on them, but when they changed all of them it still shakes.

The radio goes on and off by itself and the dealer says it is because someone poured something on it. Well it has been doing this from the day we bought it.

My car has already had 3 recalls on it in the last 6 to 8 weeks.

General Comments:

This car has had a lot of problem from the very start.

This car is roomy and sporty, but it really needs the bugs worked out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

20th Jan 2002, 11:36

Have you noticed how many bad Focus reviews come from the US? Maybe they should just import their Focus cars from Germany or the UK or Belgium.

12th Feb 2002, 02:49

All European Focus's are built in Cologne.

18th Sep 2002, 13:35

I had exactly the same experience with my 2000 Focus LX model. It's a lemon. Not worth the money. I will be glad to get out of my lease in Jan 03.

Interesting article:

http://consumeraffairs.com/news02/ford_focus.html

Mike.

19th Mar 2003, 21:56

I bought a Ford Focus LX 2002 and am just trading it in now for a 1999 Ford Windstar Lx. I LOVED my focus. The car was great on fuel (500 km per tank of gas) cheap to fill (25 dollars would fill her) sporty and comfortable. we bought the car at 30km and it is now at 22000Km. We had No problems with the car in the year that we have owned it. We found it quick to heat up in the cold winter months, which was great with young children.

I have two children and found the car just great, but now that we have gotten two dogs we just don't have enough room in the focus and we are sad to see it go.

We loved it very much and would buy another Focus in a heartbeat.

A Happy Canadian Ford Customer.

24th May 2003, 23:26

I have always been pretty happy with my focus except I too have had the problem with the radio going on and off. The dealer replaced it and not even a week after the put the new radio in it did the same thing. So I have decided to have an aftermarket stereo put in.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews