2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 40 of 45

2000 Ford Focus ZTS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Good car for the price

Faults:

Multiple recalls, but they are expected from a new model car.

Brakes needed to be totally re-done @ 15,000 miles. Not covered by warranty as a "wear" item. Not pleased.

General Comments:

All around a good car, but the brakes issue really bothers me. I would like to know if others have had the same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

4th Oct 2001, 11:29

My brakes also went bad @ 20,000. Every brake shop suspected that maybe there's something else wrong because they thought that was too soon for brake work.

8th Oct 2002, 17:44

I had to bring my Focus in for wheel bearings and it has 33,000 miles on it. They told me that I need new brakes and rotors. Everyone I have talked to says that that doesn't make sense.

2000 Ford Focus Zetec Collection 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11900 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

The drive of your life

Faults:

Faulty fuel gauge, was replaced by Ford, it's a known design fault.

Side support broke on the driver's seat, took the Ford dealer 6 weeks to get a replacement part. Then they scratched paint work and trim when the seat part was replaced.

Side support broke on the passenger seat, dealer got a replacement part in 1 week this time.

General Comments:

The car drives and handles like it's on rails.

However I do think it lacks a bit of power in the engine department, it's down tuned too much.

RS here I come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

2000 Ford Focus SE 2.0 Split from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Split Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A hot car, definitely worth it!

Faults:

The radio is a piece of garbage.

The tape deck is terrible. It doesn't play at the right speed anymore.

The buttons are popping off of the radio.

General Comments:

The handling on the car is great!

I love the way it moves.

There is a lot of room in the cabin, but the seats are a bit uncomfortable at times.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

2000 Ford Focus SE 2.01 SPI from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.01 SPI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHonda Honda Civic

Summary:

A serviceable commuter car

Faults:

The adhesive which binds the rubber gaskets to the Focus' doors and windows has loosened.

The weather-stripping on right front door has loosened.

General Comments:

The car is fine for commuting about town, but doesn't handle well on the highway, not gripping the road strongly at speeds more than 65 miles per hour.

The handling and suspension are overrated. I miss the tightness and control I achieved with my 86 Honda Civic.

The car is lighter than I would wish, making Ford's highly touted A-frame small consolation.

The tires that came with the car were shoddy and narrow.

Visibility in the three-seater I tested was better than that of the SE sedan

The radio, however, is just fine. (Figures, huh?)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

2000 Ford Focus CL 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

Should have bought 2nd hand banger

Faults:

The engine revs up and down.

Engine stalls.

When clutch is depressed, revs are erratic.

All in all since last December (2000) it has spent 9-10 weeks in the local dealer.

Fault still not discovered.

General Comments:

Wish I had never seen my Ford Focus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2001

2000 Ford Focus LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

The car is cheap. I suppose that you get what you pay for

Faults:

Several things have gone wrong with the car.

- I have had 3 recalls on the car.

- The car makes a noise in the transmission at low rpm's; sort of a grinding noise.

-If I go over a puddle a bit too fast water gets in the car and wets the carpet.

- The gas mileage could be better. For a small engine with not too much pep, I seem to waste a lot of gas.

- The air conditioning smells bad.

- The interior dash shakes at high speeds.

- The clutch slips and burns if I try to take off fast.

-T he most agravating issue of all is this one. After only having the car for a year and 27,000 miles on it, my CV-joints are going bad. I noticed the noise the other day in a parking garage. I had never noticed it before, but the echo of the parking garage's concrete walls allowed me to hear the very disturbing noise. I just can't wait to go back to the dealer and have to hassle with them and wait a week to get it fixed. To top it all off, will also have to ride around in a rental until my car gets fixed. I should have gone with something better.

General Comments:

The car in general is bad. Bad quality, bad company and bad reliability. I try to find the good qualities of the car; and there are some, but all the good qualities seem to be overwhelmed by and overshadowed by all the faults and disappointments.

The car responds nicely considering the low output of the engine. It is comfortable and spacious. The engine seems to be reliable; about the only thing in the car than can be considered so.

I really thought that this would be a change for Ford and their long line of unreliable cars. I seem to be wrong. Just like its ancestors' history, very unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

3rd Jul 2001, 12:32

The review seems a little harsh. My heart goes out to you for having such bad luck with your car. I, too, have a 2000 Ford Focus LX and it runs great. I've brought my car in for the minor recalls, too, but the people at the dealership were quick and really nice about it all. I don't know where you drive mostly (freeways, side roads - during rush hour or when there is no traffic and such), but I'm in SoCal where traffic is horrible and I get some pretty good mileage with mine. Sorry you had such bad luck with your car, but I am very happy with mine and I hope your review doesn't discourage anyone out there from considering buying one.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews