2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 44 of 45

2000 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

Nice one!

Faults:

Nothing really yet...

Worried about the dealer service though - took them 8 weeks to return my service history book to me after they forgot to stamp it.

Only other niggles are the cheapo fuel filler flap, and I had trouble getting comfortable on long journeys due to the lack of support under my right leg.

General Comments:

Very pleased with the car so far.

I gave it a 10 for performance because it corners like it's on rails and is great fun to drive. The 1.8 engine goes very well, but it's no hot hatch.

The looks have really grown on me, especially the 3-door version which I have.

Just need to save up for the RS version now...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

2000 Ford Focus Ghia 1.8 from Belgium

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Escort 1.6

Summary:

A good car made better by buying from Belgium

Faults:

Either damp is getting in or the ventilation system doesn't work properly. Has anyone experienced misting up even in slightly cold or wet conditions?

General Comments:

Nice car, probably its roadeholding is its best feature although I rather like its looks. Not all my friends agree.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

18th Jan 2001, 10:49

About the damp, yes I know the problem, experience it every time I don't use the air conditioning, has to do with the micro filter, encountered for the first time in an Opel Astra with a pollen filter. Don't buy new cars without air con, because many cars have this problem. Has anybody an explanation?

Roos

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Zetec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous carLincoln SLC

Summary:

Styling, performance, economy - a full meal deal at a McDonald's price

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A truly European type vehicle with the quality of a Honda at a great price - also great fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2000

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance900 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Dang good car

Faults:

Hmmm... nothing yet, just that the brakes are a little small for a car with this speed.

General Comments:

Great car. As a matter of fact I have bought two.

Those who have had problems... remember, there are always going to be lemons. Don't judge all the cars by your bad ones. You have to realize this. Take it back and trade it for a different one for no more cost, they will do it. Also, check to see if you have "lemon law" in your area.... then it is mandatory by law.

Great cars, but go with the Zetec... you'll be happier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2000

21st Dec 2000, 03:51

I absolutely agree with you...

26th Feb 2001, 15:07

Thank you for saying that about lemons. So many people at this page seem to forget that. I don't know who is worse, the one who says, "Mine is perfect; you must have trashed yours," or the one who says, "Mine is junk, ergo they're all junk."

Look at the overall trend, people!

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired350 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

The car is a blast to drive and very roomy for its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

2000 Ford Focus 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance4153 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Junkyard on wheels

Faults:

(1) Water leaks into this brand new car from the dash. The water filled the area where the front passenger would put his or her feet. The dealership would do nothing, offered to look at it in 8 days at the earliest, has heard of this problem before.

(2) Also the brakes shreek and I have been to have them fixed 4 times, each time they screech as I am driving out of the parking lot.

(3) Also today I decided to drive the vehicle and put the AC on the floor only function to dry out the right front passenger area. Not only does the AC not work at all, but the fan will not blow air if set on 1 2 or 3, it blows hot air only on 4! And I live in the south, I don't need any hot air!

General Comments:

I want the company to purchase this heap back from me. I advise anyone considering owning a Focus to think again, they will have a great number of problems, and the Ford customer service is some of the rudest around. They don't care about you, or anything for that matter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2000

16th Jan 2001, 13:44

We own a Focus Wagon SE 2000. We have been happy with it until the last 2 months.

Yes the brakes squeak and they say that it is normal. They said they were working on a better type of brakes for these cars but...

My main complaint was after 7850 miles our Focus starting not starting. They have had it in the shop since November 20th, all but 3 nights of being home and having it towed in the next morning for not starting again. We requested a new car or our money back. We checked into it and it fell under the Lemon Law. Total of 30 business days in the shop OR 4 trips to dealer for same problem within 18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first. Ours has been there 5 trips and a total of 46 or so working days and they still have it.

The Ford representative for this area says that it ALMOST falls under the Lemon. NOT that it did fall under it. They have offered to take the car back for a car equal or more value, with us losing what we have put into this one, downpayment and payments this far. We feel we are losing out on this car. They said if we get our money back that we have to pay them mileage on this car.

We feel that they have not treated us fairly. We have not and are not going to settle for this. We are not sure as to what will be done, but we don't feel like we should lose out because Ford made the mistake in building this car. The problem lies with them, not us. I hope if anyone has had this problem with their Focus they would write in. Maybe they can figure out what the problem is in the car not wanting to start. We like the car. It handles good. We just want justice in this situation.

Thank you,

An unhappy customer

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews