2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 45 of 45

2000 Ford Focus Millennium 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2800 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Faults:

Dealer fitted sunroof leaked badly and took 3 visits to repair.

Fuel consumption is abysmal

-28MPG best

-24MPG worst

Still not resolved.

Annoying rattle around the off side seatbelt mounting. Still unresolved.

General Comments:

Ford dealer seems to want to convince me that I live in "hilly area" and that's the reason for the low MPG!!

If like me you have driven Japanese cars and are thinking of moving to Ford then be prepared to spend more time at your dealership having basic build faults fixed.

Beware "We have recalibrated your engine management system", it means they have spent 2 minutes on your car and it will be returned to you in exactly the same condition as you left it that morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2000

10th May 2001, 15:23

My Millenium does no better than 28mpg - great to drive but I have been very disappointed compared to my Honda Accord (which we still have).

Build quality is not a patch... lot's of squeaks and rattles.

2nd Aug 2001, 09:12

We too have had a problem with the fuel consumption. Otherwise we are extremely happy with the car. We have visited our local dealer at least 3 or 4 times and they will not admit there is a problem. They did "calibrate the engine management" but to no avail. They tested the car over 10 miles of mixed motoring - but they returned 29mph plus. Its nice to know its not just our driving that is giving the poor consumption rate.

16th Jan 2002, 10:33

I have a two Litre Ghia with all the Gizmo's and I get 35-38 to the gallon. Just be patient, the Zetec engines are not run in until 12-15000, then you'll see your mpg improve.

The Zetecs also have a very sensitive throttle valve - when cruising lift your foot very slightly, your speed will not drop, but your MPG will rocket. The MPG I quote above is mixed driving, on long open road motoring it's nearer 42-43 mpg and that's a 2.0 litre. I defy any Japanese car of same spec and engine size to better that.

2000 Ford Focus Ghia, traction control + ABS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good all rounder

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Slightly hard seats but a real dream to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2000

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles

Summary:

I can't believe they sell such junk!

Faults:

First thing the electric window jammed or should I say the window motor went out. Well they fixed that minor thing fast enough, but a week later when the engine was running hot, they questioned me about it, like I would really mess up my new car!

Engine light flashes all the time.

Brakes squeal constantly.

General Comments:

I really wish I could go back in time and buy something else. I mean when I bought the car, I was like this thing is so cool, now I look at it and I'm like ewwww, this thing looks like a revamped Ford Aspire, which by the way I heard holds up a lot better than this heap. Ford is SO RUDE it's not even funny, I can't believe they sell such junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

15th Aug 2004, 18:56

After I hit 42,000 miles my zx3 has had evaporation valve leak and vent valve replacement. The engine light came on again!! What is it with this car? I think I will drive it till it falls apart anyway. I would not buy it again.

2000 Ford Focus ZTS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles

Summary:

For the price? An awesome car!

Faults:

Nothing! The car has behaved great. The only problem that I find is that it doesn't speed fast enough, not a big deal but annoying when changing lanes.

General Comments:

I love the car! Beautiful forest green 4 door car! Leather seats and CD! What else could I ask! Wonderful commute! What else could I ask for only $16,000!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

2000 Ford Focus 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles

Summary:

Biggest piece of crap that has ever rolled outta Detroit!

Faults:

Electrical harness has burned out! Front brakes make scrubbing noise that can't be fixed, A/C blows hot air out of the blue for no reason.

General Comments:

They need to send these things back to where they got them cause they are the biggest piece of crap that has ever rolled outta Detroit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2000

6th Jul 2001, 14:02

I am the owner of a 2000 Ford Focus SE model. This car has been a headache ever since we drove it off the lot.

The most annoying and frustrating complaint I have is the constant brake noise. This car produces a loud screeching noise about 90% of the time we press on the brakes. Several times and several dealers have been sought to fix this problem, but none have been successful. The dealer where I purchased this car explained to me that the Environmental Protection Agency, beginning in the year 2000, requires ALL car manufacturers to use brake pads without asbestos in them and that this is normal in all new automobiles. Now, this to me is a most lame excuse. I do not hear any Volkswagens, Chryslers, Explorers, BMW's, Mercede's or any other makes or models out there producing brake noise!

Other complaints include the constant recalls (there have been about 5 already), the cab at times fills with engine odor. There are other complaints I have, but I will not list them all. I just cringe when I hear the Ford motto, "Quality is job 1", after owning such a mediocre vehicle.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews