2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 14 of 37

2001 Ford Focus SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Found On Road Dead stands for FORD Focus!

Faults:

The brakes make noises all the time.

The blower fan was replaced at 46k.

The water pump went bad at 57k miles.

The power windows work and then stop.

Have had four sets of tires on car due to front problems.

The ignition just went bad so the key does not turn to start the car at 87k.

General Comments:

The gas mileage is fair, but look to overseas cars to be better. Overall maintenance standards are below par for the Focus SE. All the gauges are in good positions and easy to work. The engine is underpowered, but will do around town. The arm rest is in a poor position in the front seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2006

14th Mar 2006, 19:47

The engine and interior complaints should have been noticed in the test drive.

I also think a garage is screwing you over by not doing their job properly for some repairs. Brakes making noise can be the result of non OEM parts or worn calipers.

14th Mar 2006, 20:08

I owned one of these cars for 2 months, was the biggest lemon ever made. Wake up ford!

2001 Ford Focus SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

A good car for the money

Faults:

The only problem I've had with this car is that it has a sporatic hick-up. every now and then while driving, the engine will momentarily quit, the gages will flash and the engine will rev. but then as quickly as it happens it will go away. sometimes not happening again for days or weeks. does anyone out there have the same problem? and if so... what can I do. the used car dealer has done much testing, but with no success.

General Comments:

Over all it is a great car, good on gas, and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

2001 Ford Focus LX 4 cylinder 2.0L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43895 miles
Most recent distance79369 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Hunk of Junk

Faults:

I purchased a used 2001 Ford Focus in March of 2002. It had 43,895 miles when I purchased it. I've had odd ball problems and recalls, but this problem has never been recalled and is becoming expensive. At 68,055 miles on October 15, 2004 I had the ignition switch replaced at the dealership along with the steering column because my key was getting stuck in the ignition and I could not start the car. The bill with taxes totaled 363.68. Today, January 21, 2006 at 79,369 miles my key to my Ford Focus is stuck in the ignition and will not come out of the ignition. Yes, I am a women driver. Yes, I do not know the mechanics of a car. No, I am not stupid. 11,314 miles, 1 year and 3 months later I have to go back to the dealership to replace the ignition. I have found various similar reports on-line and will continue to investigate.

General Comments:

FORD MOTOR COMPANY needs to recognize the HUGE ignition problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

15th May 2006, 07:35

I too have had the problem with the ignition on my 2000 Focus LX. My brother has the same type of car and has also had the same problem with the key getting stuck in the ignition switch. This, however, is the only problem I've had with my car thus far.

2001 Ford Focus Ghia Estate 1.8 TdDi from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 TdDi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good package let down by poor finish.

Faults:

The car has started to rust in three places, the most serious being on the boot lid, where it is bubbling around the trim. The other two patches of rust are behind the door mirrors. I have approached my usual dealer about this, they referred the claim to Ford UK, who told me the car was to old for them to consider repairing. Beware of the anti-perforation warranty, this does not mean an anti-rust/corrosion cover. I have had several communications with Ford customer services, non have resulted in a satisfactory outcome.

General Comments:

Comfortable, reliable and economical car with fine handling that can upset much more prestige manufacturers cars. Shame it cannot match the finish, not hard for todays technologies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

12th Nov 2005, 10:19

Can I assume you have a Ghia model with the chrome strip on bootlid? If so, it's a VERY well known problem specific to ghias, where the chrome strip reacts with paint. A service bulletin was released, so mention this to your dealer/Ford UK!

Good luck.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 129 reviews