2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 16 of 37

2001 Ford Focus ZTS 2.0 4 cylinder ZETEC 16-valve from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder ZETEC 16-valve Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36553 kilometres
Most recent distance52119 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Not bad, but could be better

Faults:

I had a accident with included spinning the car, and hopping a curb ending up on the lawn of an office building. This was due to the left drive axle and left cv boot snapping out of place while turning a corner. Once I hit the curb, major body damage, as well as mechanical damage was done. This ended up costing me $3000.00.

Also likes to oversteer(rear wheels lose grip and push the back end of the car out) at the limit.

Brakes are strong, but do not last long. Also they create a lot of dust on the front wheels. Plus, after putting about 1000kms on them, they squeak like no tomorrow!

General Comments:

Before the accident I loved the car.

It has amazing grip with the 205/55R16 tires.

The suspension is very tight and sporty, yet still floats when cruising.

It's overall styling inside and outside are very eye catching.

Good value for the money.

Needs a touch more low-end torque.

Front suspension is great for carving into hard turns

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th July, 2005

2001 Ford Focus sedan 1.6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.7 / 10

Summary:

The 2001 Ford Focus is a lemon

Faults:

Replaced brakes and rotors after 20,000 miles.

Replaced alternator after 40,000 miles.

Replaced ignition key cylinder after 60,000 miles.

Rear hubcap fell off and was replaced 5 times first 5,000 miles. Dealership refused to replaced the wheel, so I have no hubcap on this wheel.

General Comments:

Car has always made a squeaking noise.

Windshield wipers need replacement after only a month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

2nd Jun 2008, 18:48

I have always found the Americans to criticise Ford cars all the time, whether they are good or bad.

I have the 2002 Focus Saloon 1.6LX 16v (Sedan) in America, and I could not ask for a better car, perfect in every way. I think a car that was voted the best car worldwide can hardly be a lemon, you must have just got a bad one.

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great car at a cheap price

Faults:

The paint on engine hood is fading at 50000 miles. Other body panels are holding color better. The car is driven in Las Vegas and is parked outside in the sun. For some reason, likely engine heat, is causing the hood to slowly discolor / fade.

The radio has a loose connection at the security device which causes it to crap out when I hit a pre program button.

The hatch release button inside the car does not work at 50000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought this car used and put almost 10000 miles on it in five months. So far, so good.

The vehicle handles very well.

Low insurance premium. My insurance dropped by about 25 percent when I bought this car.

The manual trans is very smooth shifting and easy to drive.

The car truly feels the road. Not a good car if you want a smooth ride. This car responds to every little bump in the road.

The manual trans gets great gas mileage, however my old honda (automatic) got better.

The interior is nice for such a cheap car. It was thoughtfully put together.

The disc brakes make a lot of noise. I have been told this is normal.

The hatchback fits into any parking space and stores loads of weird shaped boxes and items. Great for cargo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2005

2001 Ford Focus SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

100,000 miles and still running strong!!!

Faults:

Stock "performence" tires were way to loud for our taste, we changes them out and have had no problems since.

General Comments:

Just turned 100,000 miles with absolutely NO major problems what so ever. I have changed oil every 3000 miles religiously and that's it.

My wife's car, she loves it...it's a bit small for me at 6'1" but I manage. Have taken this car on many cross country trips with no problems.

I'd buy another one in a heart beat without hesitation.

I'll also tell to that my father in law has a 2000 focus as well, no reported problems, basic maintenance and he is running over 150,000 miles right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2005

2nd Nov 2005, 08:51

I agree to all your comments. I have a 2001 Ford Focus SE and it has 105000 miles and things are going great and getting good gas mileage on top of everything. Change the oil on time too and keep up with with everything on it. Love this car and plan on keeping this car till I need something new. Possibly looking at an Escape Hybrid.

26th May 2006, 21:38

We had a 2001 Focus ZX-3 and found it to be a very well- built, fun and economical car. It had ample power, handled well and had all the import competition beat hands down in quality and looks.

6th Jul 2006, 20:12

As your review proves, American cars don't take a back seat to any car made anywhere in the world. If you take care of them, as you do, and don't abuse them they will outlast anything Japan or Germany has to offer. We've owned a lot of Fords in my family and never had a second's trouble with any of them. That included a beautiful 2001 ZX-3 that never saw the inside of a service department, and one trusty old 1975 Ford Granada that was driven a whopping 325,000 miles before finally being retired in 1992. In a moment of insanity we did buy a Japanese import in 1999. It was total junk, and we traded it for another Ford in 2000. Never again will we stray from American built cars or trucks...EVER.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 129 reviews