2001 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 36 of 37

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Zetec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance2700 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Reminds me of the heyday of the BMW 2002

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this car for my wife, but I find I want to drive it whenever I can. It's a ball to drive! I drive a 5 series BMW, but we take the Focus on family outings.

I opted for the 16 inch wheels with 205/50/16's and the handling is nothing short of magnificent. On our first road trip, (wife two kids, luggage) I found it to be sluggish in the passing lane, until I figured out that one must downshift from 5th to 3rd, not 5th to 4th. Now I simply downshift into 4th when I prepare to pass, and drop it into third when I make my move.

The steering is wonderfully responsive and the car behaves wonderfully in a slide. Entrance ramps are a joy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Zetec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance173 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Excellent value and very comfortable

Faults:

Nothing yet, I will admit this car is very new. I'm going to comment more on my impression thus far, and maybe some things that would be considered somewhat subjective.

General Comments:

Surprisingly spacious inside. I'm over 6' and have had no problem whatsoever finding a comfortable seating position.

The car feels much bigger than it really is, and is very comfortable. I especially like the arm rest that came as part of the Premium group. It's positioned perfectly for me (I have a manual), and it can be swung out of the way if you don't want to use it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

7th Jun 2001, 02:18

That little bubble car is cool. I test drove one, the dealer was ready to kill me when I made it peel out.

Cool little car and surprisingly roomy inside. Even the back seat has a lot of leg room.

I was testing it for the hell of it, but if I ever get tired of my Mustang, I might get the ZX3.

2001 Ford Focus EX 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance180 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Pretty good for Ford

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet. I've only had the car a few days. I like it so far, except that I'm learning to drive a stick shift for the first time on my Focus. I stall out a lot.

General Comments:

The car is pretty quick, handles good, but jerks when shifting, and engine is a little loud. I also own a Ford Aspire, and it's similar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

2001 Ford Focus Zetec 1.6 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

Nothing at all. Excellent car.

General Comments:

The car turns heads, handles well and there is loads of room for the size. A good buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2001

2001 Ford Focus ZX3 2.0 16v Zetec from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Zetec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger XLT

Summary:

Excellent sporty car for the price

Faults:

Nothing wrong at all. Only one small thing: The middle console is kind of awkward for a person with big arms like me, I'm 6"2'.

General Comments:

The car is quick and it handles great. I already blew away a couple of imports (i.e. a couple of Civics and one Integra). I'm impressed with the engine's performance in high RPMs. The gears are smooth but sporty.

The inside is well designed and every instrument is very easy to reach and read. I got 16" wheels and it looks awesome. I gave mine the name of "import killer". No for VW, Honda, Toyota, and all the overpriced imports that look alike. FOCUS IS THE WAY TO GO!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

8th Apr 2001, 20:02

I totally agree with you on all counts. I own a 2001 black ZX3, and it is the a complete blast to drive. I too am so tired of the little teen boys in their Civics, Integras and Eclipses. They all look the same (and sound like a John Deer mower!) Keep up the good comments for the Focus-its the best deal on the road.

6th Aug 2001, 16:10

You guys are both on the right track! I just purchased a 2001 Silver Focus ZX3 5 speed premium package.

The 16" 50 series tires grip like their lives depended on it (and the way I corner, it does). I'm not big into racing, I just like to drive on roads with nice twisties. I traded in a 1995 Honda Shadow VLX cruiser motorcycle on this car and haven't been too disappointed in the acceleration area. The car's AC and CD player make commuting to work a lot better than on the bike. I can't wait for the 2002 SVT version of the Focus ZX3 to come out!

2nd Jul 2003, 13:33

Yes I would also have to agree with the other comments on how well the Focus handles and performs. I have first hand knowledge of how quick a Focus can be. I purchased a 2001 ZX3 with the automatic trans. I have done a few mods to it including a 16g turbo system. I can assure you that there are only a few Honda's that can catch me. I love my car and will never get rid of it.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 128 reviews