2005 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 11 of 18

2005 Ford Focus ZX4 1.9L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance5640 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

I hope I haven't paid extreme prices for a lemon flavoured Ford!

Faults:

Rubber Seals, such as around windows, as well as side mirrors, "bleed": streaks reappear almost immediately after washing.

Developing problem with "Squeaky Wheels"; obvious brake grinding: and this with such low mileage!!! Very disappointing!!!

General Comments:

What appeared at first to be a solid-running performer is starting to have serious problems with the brakes and / or wheels. The engine and transmission are superb, but the rest of the car is showing signs of shoddy workmanship!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

30th Nov 2005, 18:18

I agree, i just got one and I say if it runs and had a working heater,its the bomb.

30th Nov 2005, 19:09

Sometimes brakes can make a squeaking noise from dust buildup, and it isn't necessarily a sign that anything is wrong. My car does this sometimes, especially with light brake pressure like rolling up to a stop sign. Even though the disc brakes squeak a little, I can check the pad wear and they look brand new with no hint of grooving of the rotor. I have seen spray cans of a product called 'Brake Quiet' that you can spray on your rotors to suppress this dust and stop the squeaking.

2005 Ford Focus LX 1.6 TDCI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 TDCI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carFord Audi A4 Tdi

Summary:

Very uncomfortable seats, but otherwise not bad

General Comments:

At first the new 2005 Focus seemed like a good car. But on a longer drive over 1 hour the seats kill you slowly.

I have never driven a car with such uncomfortable back breaking seats.

The 1.6TDCi engine is very quiet at all speeds up to 100MPH, but not gone over that speed, so cannot comment.

The handling is not as good as the original Focus and does not feel very safe on sharp corners at speed.

The seats are the main problem with this car. I have never felt so much pain in my back ever before since driving this car. I will have to get rid of this otherwise good car because it is so uncomfortable to drive.

I think I will swap for the new Vauxhall Astra which has very good sports suspension and much better seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th November, 2005

6th Jan 2006, 18:50

A friend recently bough a 54 Mondeo Zetec and said the same about the seat in that at first, he had a car with hard sports seats before that. But after about 1000 miles he now says they are really comfortable. So just a case of getting used to them maybe?

9th Apr 2006, 14:56

The seats in the mk1 Focus were dreadful, and it sounds like the mk2 is no better.

I had a 1.8 TDCi LX on a 52 plate which I did 20,000 miles in, and nice car as it was in almost all respects, I never managed to get comfortable in it. I'm 30, reasonably fit, have no back problems, yet I used to get out of it after anything more than 100 miles and be in quite considerable pain.

Ford penny pinching - you have to love it!

6th Feb 2007, 20:33

I've driven a '00 Focus wagon for years now; I agree completely about the horrible seats. As far as I know, the SVT Focus was the only Focus that had decent front seats.

2005 Ford Focus Zetec Climate 2.0 TDCi (136ps) from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCi (136ps) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance1295 miles

Summary:

Comfortable, Economical, Reasonably Powerful. Its great!

Faults:

The heaters (a wire became unconnected) -should have been picked up on PDI, but hey ho!!

General Comments:

Really impressed with this car. Came from a Ford Puma and the handling has impressed me. Never had a diesel before so I'm still really getting used to it, but it flies!

Has 'transient over boost' function which means when you floor it, the ECU orders up an additional 20nm of torque, which in 2nd and 3rd gears actually throws you back in your seat!

Really comfortable seats, with good support (for going round corners swiftly), arm rest is a nice touch and makes you feel a bit like you're a poser in a Land Rover or something!

As far as MPG is concerned, from new (007 miles) it was averaging about low 40's - now done around 1300 miles and have taken it on a few motorway trips and it is getting better and better. Average cruise speed of 90mph (private road!) yields 47.3 mpg... not bad. In slower 'normal' traffic at a constant sort of 45 to 60 mph in 5th and 6th gives back high 40's / low 50's. (at 45mph in 6th, which is just about possible) it runs to 55mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 52 reviews