2005 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 7 of 18

2005 Ford Focus zx5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32600 miles

Summary:

Very nice car

Faults:

From the time I brought the car I have mentioned about the lighter, that when it pops out the lighter pops right out of the lighter compartment and goes under the seat hot, I would say this is a very potential fire danger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2007

2005 Ford Focus ZX4 2.0L 4 cylinder inline from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder inline Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance21500 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Engine shuts off in motion, need I say more?

Faults:

Engine/Electrical Problems:

500 KM on the car, engine shuts off in motion.

Dealer could not duplicate, computer did not record therefore didn't happen.

1000 KM on the car, engine shut off in motion on highway, came inches from hitting a pole.

Dealer could not duplicate, computer did not record therefore didn't happen.

2200 KM on the car, engine shut off in motion going around a corner, nearly rear-ended someone.

Complained heavily to dealership, they reprogrammed CPU in car.

10,000 KM on the car, hey no problems so far, car shut off in motion on highway 7 times on way to dealership. Previous work done was repeated with the reprogramming.

20,000 KM on the car, dealership had my car for 4 weeks, tested, found problem while running car on dyno for nearly 12 hours. CPU randomly decides the car should be off, no technical or reasonable explanation offered by mechanic or Ford for the issue, CPU Replaced. No problems yet, but I'm sure they'll be back.

Other issues:

Trunk Leaks, cannot find where it leaks from yet though.

Suspension pretty much blew out at 20,000 KM.

Transmission clunks into gears.

Clutch pressure seems to randomly come and go.

General Comments:

It was a fun drive until the engine issues starts, so the first 450km or so where pretty good. After that its been downhill. Now you may think I beat the hell out of this car, but in actuallity we use my wifes car for most everything as we're afraid of driving this car long distances.

The farthest I have driven it is work and back+ around the city. Most driving is light as its not a sports car, but I have to say the interior is nice. The pick up and go isn't bad on the engine when its running, and overall I'd say the car is semi-OK, the quality of the product is horrible and the manufacturer is even worse in support.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2006

4th Nov 2006, 02:36

Probably want to check the IAC for the stalling problem. If the engine cuts out while your foot is on the accelerator that might be the problem.

6th Nov 2006, 10:41

IAC - Idle Air Control...

Although I see where your going with that, the car is in motion, and from what I understand of the IAC this only kicks in while the car is going from high to low speeds, in neutral, or at idle. My problem is at a constant velocity speed of 100km/h seems to be the sweet spot, and the engine cuts out at speed without any change in velocity.

Thank you for the suggestion however, I'll suggest that to the dealership on my next near death experience:) haha.

2005 Ford Focus ST 2.3 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22150 kilometres
Most recent distance24587 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

A great car for the price

Faults:

Needed front end alignment at 23250km. Dealership covered the cost.

General Comments:

I am very impressed with the car's handling. The traction control kicked on once while going around a corner, but I was going very fast.

The engine definitely has a lot more torque than the 2.0. It shows on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2006

2005 Ford Focus ZX5 2.0L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

It's a cool car

Faults:

The clutch pedal return spring broke after owning it for a week. It's a $2.50 spring, but Ford requires the dealers to buy the entire clutch pedal assembly because there is no Ford part number for the spring. It did not matter to me since the repair was under warranty. If it was not under warranty it would have cost $180. That's quite a bit for a spring. Also I had to wait 2 days for the assembly to be delivered to the dealership. I can't believe this part was not more available.

General Comments:

I first time I drove the ZX5 was on the Autobahn in Germany. Its was no race car, but, it handled like it had rails. I liked its small size and utility. The seats were very comfortable. When I got back to the states there were none on the road. The following year they became available in the states. In Europe they were everywhere I can't understand why there aren't more here in the U.S.

One day my wife said go out and buy the car you really want so I picked the ZX5. It brings back memories of driving in Europe. It's a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

3rd Aug 2006, 17:31

Soooooooooo, you took delivery of your ZX5 in Europe? And then brought it to the States? Am I missing something here?

1st Feb 2007, 01:55

I think what he meant was when the Ford Focus went on sale here in North America he went out and bought one for himself. I don't think he imported it from Germany...

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 52 reviews