2005 Ford Focus ZXW 2.0 from North America


Not worth the headaches


Mysterious charging system problem...

This car has been through 3 batteries and alternators. Tested the wiring from the PCM to the alternator, and they are OK. Just slipped in a new alternator (old one got burned up from overcharging) and the damn thing is still overcharging. Battery is new.

Why is this stupid thing still overcharging? The IPC communicates with the PCM through the CAN network bus line. Should the system not know when the battery is sufficiently charged? I have seen this same problem on the Internet in several other instances. Someone out there knows the answer, and Ford is not telling.

And as well, the instrument panel has had intermittent operation, and the radio sometimes turns on by itself. Weird.

Anyone know what the issue is? Besides cliff it, it's a POS, etc? Cause I know that already! Any feedback would be appreciated.

General Comments:

Other than the charging system issue burning up batteries and alternators, the car runs and drives very good.

Ford needs to take responsibility for its piss poor electrical systems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2008

27th Mar 2009, 14:35

Hello, this is the OP here.

Surely someone has read this article by now, as I had written it 6 months ago. Does anyone know what the answer is with this hunk of junk? There must be millions of other '05 Focuses out there, there must be some people affected by this garbage.


23rd Nov 2009, 16:55

This is the OP, chiming in once again...

Thanks for all the helpful feedback.. really? It made the effort of posting a REAL car problem all the more worthwhile =/

4th Feb 2010, 17:21

Sorry, you feel that way, but most readers read this to find out about the cars before making a buying decision, not to offer advice on fixing problems.

Seek out specialized Ford or Focus Forums.

Good luck if your problem isn't yet cured. If it is, you might post the solution.

14th Apr 2010, 10:37

I don't have an answer for you, but I have a Focus that does the exact same thing. I hope one of us finds out what it is. You're right, it's a shame Ford won't tell us anything.

2005 Ford Focus Edge 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


Superb car to drive


Wing mirror paint has started to flake and peel.

Alloy wheel paint has lost its lacquer. I think it could be a case of a poor respray from where I bought it from, rather than a Ford issue.

General Comments:

The focus is really perky, especially as it is only a 1.8. You need to get it upto 3500rpm before the power band is hit, otherwise it fails to pull away effectively when overtaking.

The seats are still hard but really comfortable. The seats allow for the perfect ride position, and with the added feature of adjustable steering wheel height, it just makes you feel at home.

It can be a bit thirsty, especially when using the Air Con. However, when I have been used to a Saxo that will do almost 50mpg, anything will seem poor, although it does 260 miles to £32 of petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2008

2005 Ford Focus ses 2.0 from North America


05 and up focus great cars


Biggest problem with this car it wears out right rear tires like crazy. We have had different brands of tires put on, four wheel alignments, multiple tire balances, etc.

Nothing has helped. Our next set of tires I'm going to put new rear shocks on at the same time and see if this makes a difference. This model year was the Mazda engines first time in the focus and it has performed flawlessly. It has plenty of power (140hp) get close to 40mpg highway, the ac is still ice cold. Still have original brakes, belts, hoses, etc.The alternator went bad at about 55000 miles, which I replaced myself for under $130.Overall a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2008

7th Sep 2008, 16:59

Your problem HAS to be the rear wheel alignment. Nothing else will wear out your tires that way... NOTHING. You are obviously getting a run-around on this. I'm a mechanic and I'm very familiar with Ford service departments NOT doing what needs to be done. Unfortunately you are probably out of your warranty period now. Lots of other shops, such as tire chain stores will also do NOTHING, charge you for it and then claim "Oh, it must be something else." No, it isn't. It's an improper angle on the rear tire and a GOOD shop should be able to find and fix it.

Ask car enthusiasts in your area for a referral to a GOOD shop that will not just pretend to do something and give you a bill for it.

I encountered a very similar problem with a Japanese import I had several years ago and finally found a shop that solved the problem. Keep looking. You have a great little car. I had an '01 ZX-3 and it was flawless.