2005 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 10 of 18

2005 Ford Focus 2.3L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance12800 miles

Summary:

Sporty, Fun, But Reliable?

Faults:

- From the dealership, the driver window was built to allow window to go down lower then normal. When window is down, door makes rattling sound. Extremely loud and noticeable. Dealer says it's in the design.

-About 10K, noticed the doors don't automatically lock anymore. And sunroof one touch button would close, then suddenly and automatically re-open the sunroof. Got it re-programmed.

- Small black plastic underneath door handle which accents the handles came loose, then fell off.

- Paint chipped at corner, fairly noticeable, by the rear side, where the added body kit is installed. (factory). Paint peels when pulled back.

General Comments:

The ST focus is a really nice sport car. It's unfortunate, that great quality isn't put into every part of the car like the Japanese automakers do. If you don't mind random buzzing, rattles and clicks here and there, and some parts that just don't seem right, then the overall package is fantastic.

Just about every drive-through I pull into I get compliments and people don't even know it's a focus.

The good things about the ST focus is the performance. at only a 151hp it is miles ahead of cars like the RSX, Scion tC and even the new eclipse. Base models of course. The looks don't leave much to be desired as everything is very well designed and put together.

My main complaint about the car, is the fit and finish and the quality of the materials used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

28th Dec 2005, 22:00

I totally agree. I have on 05 ST and could not have written this review better. The car handles well, shifts great (manual) and cruises 80 effortlessly. The gearing in this car is wonderful, I never downshift on the freeway. It is always in the power band. The 2.3 is a good size motor for this lite little car. The fit/finish is another story. I keep my car detailed and mirror like and notice every imperfection. The paint does have chips where the body kit rubs the body and the interior is nice overall, but a few pieces look like they were glued on by a drunken, careless monkey. My brother bought a new Mazda3 (which Europe got as a new Focus this year) and it has the same motor and I cannot believe the difference in build. That car would give a BMW cold sweats in the quality dept... if not the performance dept. I just didn't want to spend an extra $4k for a Mazda. I think the this Focus will last just as long (the engine was designed by Mazda) it will just have a few more squeaks and rattles.

17th Sep 2006, 18:25

The Mazda 3 is an awesome car BECAUSE it's a Ford. We owned a pre-Ford Mazda and it was absolute garbage. Actually, the Focus is an altogether different car than the Mazda 3, but both are great cars. We owned a 2001 Focus ZX-3 and loved it. It was a great little car with nary a problem.

21st Nov 2006, 20:03

Mazda is part of Ford, but there are still many differences in the two lines, some good, some bad. The bullet-proof 3.0 V-6 in the Mazda trucks are cheapened and their reliability compromised by the use of aluminum heads instead of the cast-iron heads used in the Ford trucks. On the other hand, while Ford has dropped the absolutely awesome SVT Focus, leaving Ford buyers with no real performance option in their small car, Mazda has come out with the incredible 150mph+ Mazda 3 turbo.

2005 Ford Focus Base 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Hasn't left me stranded... yet

Faults:

Teansmission rebuilt with less than 50K.

Brakes in the rear squeal all the time no matter how many times they get fixed.

Axle replaced twice in the front

Left front hub assembly replaced 3 times in less than a year.

General Comments:

The list goes on and on with this car. I drive this car an average of 150 miles per night. The seats are very uncomfortable, poor traction in wet weather, and the drivers side headlight seems to turn itself off mysteriously. But if you tap it, then it comes back on. Bottom line... there is only one major problem with this car. F O R D.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

6th Dec 2005, 04:31

I have one question. Why did you buy it then?

2nd Jan 2006, 14:35

Your mysterious headlights problem happened on my Escort. All you need is a new light bulb (s). So don't blame that on the car, it's regular maintenance. Poor traction is likely associated with the tires.

14th Jan 2006, 23:44

Gee, you should expect some problems if you drive your car that much!

16th Jan 2006, 13:52

I did not have a choice on which vehicles my company bought, otherwise I wouldn't be in it. An update: The same vehicle has had its 5th front axle. I found that out last week after it went into the shop. If anyone is thinking about using one of these as a patrol vehicle, don't do it. Big mistake.

23rd May 2007, 15:14

May I suggest not to call it "my car" if it is "my employer's car". The actual drivers of company cars don't have a vested interest in taking care of the vehicles. I believe an owner would have found the reason why the axles need to be replaced that often. Maybe just taking it to a different mechanic would have done the trick.

None-the-less, I feel this review is valid, showing what went wrong with the unloved vehicle.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 52 reviews