2005 Ford Focus Reviews

2005 Ford Focus ZX5 SES 2.0L Duratech from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0L Duratech Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance166000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

It's a good car

Faults:

I changed the O2 sensor at 110 000km.

I changed the brake at 150 000km.

I repaired the exhaust at 160 000km.

General Comments:

I purchased this car 3 years ago, and for the price it's a really good deal. The ride is really good with a ZX5, and the seats are better than a cheap version of the Focus.

The viability after 3 years is great. I've only got 2 reproaches. A car of this size could be more economic in fuel - approximately 8.0L by 100km highway (60%) city (40%) combined. Also the car could be better soundproofed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2013

2005 Ford Focus ZXW SES 1.8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Best station wagon for the money, choose the SES model and manual transmission

Faults:

One bulb and the plastic armrest, but it was an easy and inexpensive fix.

General Comments:

I got this station wagon second hand, and with high mileage at 185,000 km, for next to nothing. It runs awesome a year after I got it; no oil leaks or burning oil, still covered with the dealer's extended warranty, and very happy.

I had automatic similar Focus Station, only it was 2003 and automatic, and could never get to like Ford's automatic transmission. This one is a different story - Ford's manual transmissions are a but rough, but flawless. I have more power (2005 vs. 2003), better fuel efficiency and more extras with this newer station wagon - heated seats, MP3 after market stereo, higher clearance, sportier suspension, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2010

14th Oct 2010, 09:17

I've got an '09 SEL and it is an automatic. I routinely get into the mid 30's for mileage with mostly around town use. What did you not like about the AT? Did it fail?

2005 Ford Focus 4DR SEDAN from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Taunus

Summary:

Excellent, very efficient means of transport

Faults:

In the summer when it's over 80* if I let the gas tank get below half the car will stall, and act like it's not getting any gas. Evidently the fuel pump needs to be kept cooled by the amount of gas in the tank, and if there isn't at least half a tank the fuel pump will not work. It's frustrating, as I spent over $200 replacing a fuel pump because I thought it was defective, but come to find out this is just a funky way this car is. I also have had to replace a number of fuses lately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2010

7th Jul 2010, 14:48

"Evidently the fuel pump needs to be kept cooled by the amount of gas in the tank, and if there isn't at least half a tank the fuel pump will not work."

Who told you that? I used to own a Ford Focus (a 2004) and it didn't matter what temperature it was or how much gas it had, the fuel pump never had an issue. Something else is wrong with your car. If it was a repair shop that told you that one, I recommend you find a new one.

7th Jul 2010, 20:48

I have recently experienced the same problem with my 2005 Ford Focus. And yes, the fuel pump is the culprit. If the gas tank is kept above half, the car functions normally. When it gets to below half, and especially when it gets down to a quarter of a tank, it acts like there is water in the fuel line, and it will lose power and the engine will shut down completely, until the fuel pump cools off. So, either trade the car in on one that doesn't have this problem, or keep the gas tank above the half mark.

2005 Ford Focus ZX5 1.7L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.7L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Scirrocco

Summary:

Fun car to drive!

Faults:

Great car to drive! Fully equipped, heated mirrors and seats, sunroof and A/C for summer, mags and loving the color!

Has cruise control, and so far on an eighth of a full tank I did 100 kilometers! $45 to fill my tank (price at 1$/per litre) will easily last me two weeks on a full tank!

General Comments:

Fun car to drive, dealer sucked though, said they would "clean" it and "prepare" it for me; spent a day cleaning the interior and another afternoon washing it...

Seats are comfy. So far nothing bad to say about the car, basically I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2010

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 52 reviews