2005 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 14 of 18

2005 Ford Focus Ghia 1.6 from Turkey

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired2500 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good car for everyday use

Faults:

Nothing wrong at all.

General Comments:

Steering response is very quick, however there is absolutely an oversteer problem with the high speed cornering (no ESP, Contisport Contact2 tyres).

ABS gets into action very quickly, brake pedal is harder than the previous Focus, and the brake pedal travel is longer when compared with VW and Opel.

Engine sound is excellent (1.6 115ps). Gear ratios are shorter than Focus 1, however there is no obvious performance difference, because of the increased vehicle weight.

Sound system is excellent with the Ghia, MP3 player and aux-in port in the glovebox.

A/C works very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2005

2005 Ford Focus S 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

Nothing seriously bad has happened to my focus as of yet. The only bad thing is I can't insert any Cd's, like the motor is dead. gonna take it in and have it fixed while they give me a loaner car, which I think is very nice. and oh yeah I hate how I don't have a rpm gauger thing... that really sucks... on a rare occasion my mind slips and I forget to change gear. that rpm thing would had made it a lot better.

General Comments:

For 8,000 thousand dollars I am very happy with my car. it has enough power to pass by traffic and overall good acceleration . it held up to five people on the way to a casino the other night. these people weren't petite by any means... they all said there was enough room and they could have gone for hours the way they were. the ac is ice cold, the seats are comfortable, it has 6 cup holders, and there is quite a bit of trunk space. everything just looks very spacious for such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2005

14th Aug 2005, 19:22

The rpm gauge is called a tachometer and you can have one installed (although not in the dash like the factory would) for relatively cheap. It is not a hard job to do. Good luck with your Foci.

25th Aug 2005, 01:23

Would you happen to know where I can get that tachometer? and where would it usually go do you know? Thanks.

2005 Ford Focus Ghia 1.6 Ti-VCT from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Ti-VCT Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Even better than the old one. If only it looked better..

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

Well after much deliberation, I finally traded in my old Focus 1.8 Zetec in preference for the new Mk. II model. All the magazine reviews have been raving over it, so that was a good start. So what's new?

The first thing that is immediately apparent is the build quality. The old one wasn't bad by any means, but was always let down by the hollow, hard plastic dashboard. Ford have markedly raised the game and brought the Focus right up there with the Mk.4 Golf - it's all there, squidgy feel plastics, chunky feeling switches, and the damped action on all the bits that move about. It's arguably better than the interior of the Mk.5 Golf. The Ghia and Titanium also have the VW style "flicknife" style ignition key.

Performance. I went for the 1.6 Ti-VCT petrol engine (variable camshaft timing), which at 115PS effectively replaces the 1.8 in the old Focus. Makes a much better noise than the old Zetec-E engine, and the mid range is noticeable better. So you get 1.8 performance with 1.6 fuel economy. only from a standing start do I feel that it isn't quite as quick off the mark.

Driving/Handling. No problems here. Close your eyes and you will think you are still in the old car with its now- legendary dynamics. Not surprising given that the chassis is carried over... and it's even more taut around corners, like the old car the chassis lets you away with blue murder. Gearshift has been slickened up, and the pedals are all light, and brakes responsive.

Niggles?? Pity you can't override the rain sensing wipers and just go onto normal intermittent - I find it irritating when it is drizzly and the rain sensor does nothing - I'd rather have manual control over the wipers when I wanted it. I still keep on putting the back window down by accident because the switches are too closely clumped together.

And why does Ford charge an extra grand for the Titanium model, and then take the cruise control off it which you can only get on the Ghia??

My main gripe is still the dealers. First of all I didn't get my first colour choice... which was Jeans, instead I got my third. Tonic Blue... which is of course the colour that every new-style Focus seems to be in. Then they "accidentally" fitted a 6-stack autochanger in the dash when the car was ordered and then tried to charge me for it before I told them to remove it and refit the standard one. And I am still trying to get the key to remove the alloy wheels, so I hope I don't have a flat tyre. (or is that why they give you RAC cover as part of the deal?)

Overall a great car. Pity they lost interest in it when they were doing the styling... it just doesn't have the sheer "I gotta have one!" factor that the old Focus had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2005

5th Aug 2005, 03:36

I have ordered the 3 door, Sport version of the same car. They told me they will deliver it in maximum 90 days! 70 left to go and I can hardly wait.

I've never owned a Ford before, but reading only good reviews, checking the competition's offers, going to drive tests made me choose the New Focus without hesitation. Oh, another reason for choosing it is the fact that I am a big fan of the old model...

The only thing that bugged me while driving it (the 2005 one) was the leg room for the driver. My right leg was pressing hard against the central console at all times. Is this a thing you get used to or is it just because my driving position is still adjusted to my current car, a very roomy one in terms of leg space?

11th Sep 2005, 15:52

I have the new Focus (Ghia 1.6TDCI) for about 4 months.

I agree with the above comment regarding the right leg pressing hard against the central console at all times...

I happens to me too... and I'm not that big.. (1,84m)

I was used to a much bigger car, where this wasn't an issue...

The driving position is OK, but, you start to develop some pain in the back after a long travel..

The car is OK, but... it's too expensive for it's attributes...

I wish I bought a Volvo S40 instead...

10th Oct 2005, 10:36

Well as the author of the original article, and having owned the thing for 4 months now I have to agree with the comment about the fat centre console - although I find it actually quite comfortable actually on a long journey!

After having really explored it now I can now sense that the low speed pick-up on the 1.6 Ti-VCT engine isn't on the same par as the old 1.8 - you really have to cane it to get any performance at low speed.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 52 reviews