2001 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L V8 from North America


A great (E36) BMW M3 Killer!!!


Blew power steering pump (twice) But that was my fault. I drive car way too hard. other than that absolutley nothing!!!

General Comments:

0-60 in under 5.5 seconds. It handles corners and stops better than my old BMW. And it out accelerates my friends (E36) BMW M3 It is without a doubt the fastest and best handling car for the money (That I can afford anyway!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2006

7th Feb 2008, 18:02

Iam the original poster. I recently raced a new 2008 Mustang GT (Which by the way the auto mags say runs approx. 0-60 in about 4.9sec now my problem with this is... I beat it though bearly and it was a 5-speed. I am not bragging I am concerned because I would like to purchase a newer model, but not if it's not any faster or actually slower than the 99-04 GT's 0-60 in 5.4sec. Maybe Ford is fibbing. My only mods are flowmasters and a K&N cold air kit. It's a 5-speed manual so I am guessing horsepower is up from the original 260 to maybe 275. Any opinions would be great!!!

24th Jan 2009, 00:30

The stats from magazines do state the new GTs (stock) are a tad faster than the previous generation GTs (yours). Albeit not much faster. Probably 0.5 sec faster in the 0-60 and the 1/4 mile. However in real life, red light grand prix scenarios, it comes down to driver skill. So if you beat the newer GT, it does not mean your car is faster, it just means you are a better driver or more willing to take you car to the limit during the race.

26th Jan 2009, 12:35

To 18:02: The new GT, although putting out more power than the pre-2005 models is also carrying a bit more weight. The performance between the two is pretty close, but the new GT should have a slight edge.

I agree with 00:30 that it probably comes down to you being a better driver. I've blown away lots of V-6's with my Pontiac "quad-4" Grand AM, as well as tons of 4-cylinder cars. Good driving and reflexes beat out horsepower lots of times.

I'd opt for the new GT. They are great cars and the best value on the market in a performance car. The new Pontiac G8 and Dodge Hemi challenger are faster, but cost $12,000 more, which is why Mustang will continue to be number one.

I am a mechanic and own several cars at a time. I also own a 2007 Mustang and a Fusion. Nothing will ever replace Mustang. Ford tried it with the Probe and it was a huge flop.

2001 Ford Mustang Cobra SVT from North America


I definitely would not buy another car from Ford again


I been having problem with my car since I drove it out of the dealership. I just found this site and there are too many things to list: but the most current issue is the IAC (idol Air Control)..what is that? My car would not stay started, and had to get the car towed to the dealership (since I also bought the 100,000 mile extended warranty--THANK GOD) Unfortunately, it does not cover the IAC.

General Comments:

I definitely would not buy another car from Ford again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2006

17th Feb 2008, 07:46


An electrically-operated valve which allows air to bypass the throttle plate in a fuel injected engine to regulate engine idle speed.

Most all new cars have this and it goes bad on many so it's a common problem, but an easy fix.

2001 Ford Mustang Base Coupe 3.8 Litre V6 from North America


A RWD V6 Beast that not most College Students should have


Nothing at all has went wrong with this car at 65,400 miles. Minor note - the headlights had to be replaced because before I purchased this car it was in South Carolina by the beach where condensation got into the headlights. It's not Ford's fault though. -

General Comments:

The throaty sound of this engine on a cold morning is enough to make me want to keep the car, but with gas prices and insurance for an 18 year old, I am currently selling it. It's not very comfortable, but what do you expect from a RWD pony-car? It's quick, and it feels like your wheeling a Cadillac around turns. The steering is very stiff (as you would expect with a Mustang). It's terrible in snow, rain or anything other than dry road. Then again, as I said before, what do you expect from a MUSTANG? Overall, Gorgeous car on looks inside and out, and It would be very fun to build one of these cars up if I had the extra money. For a retired Old man wanting to spruce up a car I'd give it a 9/10, but for some like me who's about to attend college and attempt to save money, its about a 2/10. Although my first Stang, it will certainly not be my last. The Legend Lives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2006

14th Apr 2006, 18:32

If you think a RWD v6 mustang is a beast... well you're going to wet yourself when you test drive anything with a v8.

18th Apr 2006, 21:19

My uncle owns a new 05 GT Convertible. I've driven V8's and am aware of their power. I was just implying that for a V6 it has a lot of power...OK, maybe not Beast...small, aggressive mammal?

5th Apr 2007, 15:04

Being a collegiate owner of a 2000 v6/5spd convertible, I have to say that the car serves my purposes very well, transporting me and my stuff from to class on weekdays and impressing campus girls at the same time on weekends with enough space for 3 others people in a jam. Average performance, the only deterrent I can see as far as that comment is for dormers who need to transport large amounts of cargo at the beginning/end of a semester. In this situation (which I used to be in myself) the stang's large-haul capacity is laughable compared to my old 93 caprice.