2001 Ford Mustang Coupe 3.8 V6 from North America


The American Dream


The only problem I've had with this car is with the plastic seat belt covers. Those constantly pop off and it drives me nuts!

The factory CD player is also a little touchy, but nothing that a laser cleaner won't fix up.

General Comments:

I'm absolutely in love with this car. I grew up with my mom always having Corvettes, so I've always been a fan of the American Muscle cars. Of course I wanted a GT, but didn't want to pay the high insurance rates since I'm under 25. So I had to settle for a V6. I couldn't settle for the power a V6 puts out so it now has a custom dual-exhaust, forced air intake, a shift kit, a performance chip, and 17" low-profile tires.

It runs like a dream. It has the power of an 8, AWESOME handling due to the tires, and unbelievable acceleration. I couldn't ask for more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

2001 Ford Mustang Standard Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America


With this ford, quality is not job 1


Radio shorted one week after purchase.

Seats very thinly padded, and poor fit and finish through out interior.

Dash started to chirp after 3 months.

Drivers window track broke and could not be repaired even after 3 trips to ford dealer.

General Comments:

V6 engine was very lethargic and my new 2003 Toyota Corolla replacement is faster.

My '98 mustang convertible never had any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

2001 Ford Mustang GT 3.6 liter from North America


A very fun ride


Passenger window would not seal when rolled up.

A chirping noise in the dash that developed about 5 months after I got the car.

The seat belt covers will not stay on.

The idler has been replaced 3 times due to the car not starting when it is cranked, and the fact that it will not idle without going dead. I still have this problem although it has been fixed many times.

I replaced all 4 tires after 11 months of ownership- I am a woman & this was not due to driving it hard.

The hood was not bolted down on the passenger side- which caused it to jump up and down when I would drive over bumps.

General Comments:

Generally, I love the way this car looks and the attention it gets.

It has great power and handles really well.

However, it seems to be un-fixable when it comes to why it will not crank sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

29th Sep 2003, 23:51

You don't specify what tires you had, but if they were the performance tires, that's not uncommon. They are very soft and concrete will eat them up. I drive on asphalt most of the time, so I got a bit more out of mine. If you buy a new set of the same tire, they will have NO, mileage warranty. If you don't drive hard (male or female), you can get a tire with a lower speed rating that will hold you in good stead.

14th May 2005, 15:03

The car could have been out of alignment. No manufacturer aligns cars at the factory.

2001 Ford Mustang Base Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America


Great mid-life crisis car!


Various loud rattles in dashboard interior that were impossible to identify or prevent.

Driver window did not always seal properly when rolled up.

General Comments:

This car was extremely fun to drive, with outstanding acceleration after 4,000 rpm.

Sounds great, even with V-6 and stock exhaust.

Insurance was incredibly high.

Fantastic 400+ watt audio system.

The base model seats were cheap and unsupportive; passenger complained at length of how seat angle put her feet to sleep.

Useless backseat and trunk.

I owned two Ford cars prior to the Mustang, and I know they are capable of more in terms of fit and finish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

2001 Ford Mustang Bullit GT 4.6 from North America


Great cost for performance


Has random stalling upon braking. If you keep it in gear it will keep the engine alive, but with clutch depressed or not in gear it will just die. Sometimes will happen 1-2 a day, sometimes once in a week.

Has random starting problems. Will take 2-3 tries to get it started and then will run fine.

Has howling coming from behind glove box. First ford said they couldn't hear it. Then it was the windshield cowl being replaced. Now they think some body seals may not be done properly.

General Comments:

It's a great car. I love driving it.

But I'm at 26500 miles and its my second set of rear tires, will soon be 3rd set of front pad. And I'll be getting new slotted and drilled rotors all around. Maybe its the racing. But I go through this stuff fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

11th Sep 2003, 00:35

Dear Sirs, or, to whom it may concern,

26,500 miles and 3rd set of tires and now soon to be 3rd set of brake pads...hummmmm.Don't race so much, you're fixing to blow an engine and it won't be the manufactures fault.However, no doubt it's a car great to drive, I can understand the temptation of racing a Camero. If you do race, allow yourself enough stopping distance to save on brakes to slow down. Burning rubber can be expensive as well, not to mention road conditions that will totally shake the car apart, and I mean any car, including that nice Bullit. Be safe.I hope to get mine soon. A.V.W.

4th Mar 2008, 11:38

I believe the answer to the question about original tires for the "01 Bullitt" would be 245/40 Goodyear Gatorbacks. My #2642 had these on when I bought it in Dec. 07 at 29650 miles. They didn't wear well. I put BFG g force super sport A/F 245/40zr17 on it; handles water and light snow well. I know it should have been in the heated garage, but I couldn't resist. I hope this helps somewhat. Farmer Mike.