1995 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1995 Ford Probe GT 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carBMW 1.8i

Summary:

Rare classic

Faults:

Plug leads, rocker cover gasket, manifold gasket - all needed replacing as the rocker cover gasket has leaked and oil was in the spark plug wells.

The power steering goes out sometimes and it seems to be the power steering pump.

Have replaced the front two tyres and brake pads all round.

General Comments:

The car performs, handles and looks great.

The power steering pump seems to be a common problem. There is a number of simple performance enhancing modifications that will further your enjoyment of the car.

Although not popular in the UK, there are quite a number of Probe owners in the USA. Due to the Internet, parts for and information about the Probe are quite accessible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

5th Mar 2001, 15:19

Ok, all you people that give this car a grave review, I abhor you.

I like my car.

From the one inch above the ground, to the rims dripping in 24 kt. gold. I have fun.

- Jesse "NWTSUP" Sweet

26th Aug 2001, 17:38

I have the exact same problem with my Probe's power steering. I haven't found anyone else until now who has had the identical problem. No one that I have talked to has even heard of the power steering going out. Ford would not recall my car to fix it under warranty. Other than that, I love my Probe too.

9th Dec 2005, 22:55

I have a '95 Probe GT with 166,000 miles on it. I commute 70 miles every day (5) in the Chicago Illinois (USA) area. Highway miles - 85-95 mph every day! I replaced many parts. This week it started making a whining sound as I get ready to shift. It sounds like a power steering pump.

I like driving it. I put Mustang Cobra (4) 17x8 wheels on it, (not the flat ones) with 235-45's. They look cool. $125.00/ea. at Jegs Auto Parts, Ohio (USA). They ARE EXPENSIVE to fix though.

10th Dec 2005, 14:04

If it occasionally fails it is more likely to be the belt slipping than the pump packing up.

Probably best to fit a new belt and make sure it is tightened correctly.

1995 Ford Probe GT 3.0 24v V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired384 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird SE

Summary:

Not bad, but not great

Faults:

THE WINDOWS!!!! Why the heck can they not fix them!

Dead battery, 3 times.

Paint bad from the factory, plus a few other cosmetic things.

General Comments:

I love the way she looks and handles. But the windows were built by a blind person! They constantly make a cracking noice when closing them.

The seat belt was broken, factory defect and they said it was my imagination... uh... hello.... it is stuck!!!!

The battery drained because of the alarm on it... 3 times to where I needed to buy a new battery and I only had it for about 4 years!

I loved the way it handled though and the leather interior was nice... not great, but nice.

I traded it in for a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. Best thing I have ever done, but I still miss my little PGT!

A good project car if you want to make it into what it could have been.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

8th Oct 2002, 23:54

The Ford Probe came with a 2.5 DOHC v-6 mazda engine in 1995, as did all the second generation probe GT's. Not a 3.0 as in the first generation.

1995 Ford Probe 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles

Summary:

Buyer beware!!!!

Faults:

I bought this car from a Ford dealership. I was told it was a good dependable car. I have had this car since June and have put a little over 4000 miles on it and now the transmission is dead. Upon calling around for estimates I have found that this a very common problem with these cars. I have also had problems with the sun roof and alternator already and the radio.

General Comments:

I feel like this car was a waste of my money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

9th Jan 2001, 18:36

I have a 1993 V-6 Ford Probe with auto transmission. The car has seen few miles, mostly in town driving (about 24,000). For the last year the transmission has gradually failed to the point where the car is not very useful. The cost of repair will be from $1400 to $1800. I am told that AT problems are common with this transmission.

The car is a real performance machine. Even when new (I bought it new) it was way too stiff for my wife who refused to drive it.

When it is repaired I want to sell it. In Cleveland, OH there have been no ads for Probes in the last 6 months.

Bill Brown

WFBrown@en.com

25th Feb 2003, 09:56

Automatic Probes are known for their unreliable transmissions. Pick up a manual and you won't have any complaints.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 44 reviews